We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Talbot Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
The Talbot Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Talbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

went here for mother's day, was a little concerned as I managed to get a table only a couple of days beforehand and am used to top places being booked up weeks in advance for mothering Sunday, however was very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious, a traditional Sunday lunch - lots of good quality meat cooked just right and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and cannot fault the food, accommodation and positively loved the friendly and very welcoming staff, all of whom made great efforts to ensure we had more than everything we needed. The setting is beautifully rural and the village small so it serves as a base for further exploration with all attractions of Dorset in easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank zilllens
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Very pleased with our choice after googling many accommodations. The Talbot is set in a beautiful location. Good sized room, comfy bed with a lovely bright and clean en-suite. Loved the balcony. Enjoyed our evening meal and the breakfast set us up for day. Staff very pleasent and friendly. Wished we were staying longer than one night and would definitely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank caroltb2015
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We recently stayed for a couple of nights in the Talbot. Both rooms for our party were excellent, clean and well appointed. The breakfasts were delicious and met the individual needs of our group. We also ate there in the evenings and found the food to be of a high standard and really good value. The staff and the owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
Southbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I try not to write bad reviews but I am very sorry this Hotel, words fail me. The room looked very nice when I walked in but on closer inspection......must have been a very quick turn round but that is no excuse. Hairs in the shower, stains on the sheets. So sad. I did try and complain but no one... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Maggie W
erikyboo, Front Office Manager at The Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie W from southborne. We would like to say thankyou for your review on trip advisor. I do feel the need to reply to this after having done research into who made the review. Firstly you have never been here and you have proved that by the type of things you have said about us. Secondly you say in... More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2015

we recently stayed here on our way to monkey world. After I messed up the reservation by booking the wrong date, erika was amazing and put it right immediately, not only did she make sure we had a room for the correct date, she upgraded us when some-one else cancelled. Our room was fabulous!! It was really big with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelly J
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Arrived early so had quick lunch £7,50 for a sandwich??ok it was a very nice sandwich.Shown to our room ,lovely ,clean bright lovely bed and bathroom ,hospitality tray all as one would like to see.Went to the bar in the evening (friday) friendly crowd feeling really good about this place .Then ............we had booked evening meal four of us .to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Brian D
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2015

My husband and I were greeted by name on arrival by the effervescent Erika (an excellent start to what proved to be a wonderful weekend away). We were shown to a delightful, quirkily designed bedroom complete with modern draped four poster bed. The room was very clean and well equipped with purest white, fat fluffy towelling robes, (ditto masssive bath... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 999Phoebes
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Found this as a blind search on the internet as we do not live in the area. What an excellent find. Friendly welcome. Very spacious and looked after room with extra touches to make us welcome and beyond what you would find in hotels that charge more and deliver less. The evening meal was good value for money, bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark d
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2015

An overnight stay to visit my daughter who's at Bryanston School. Erica and her team were absolutely delightful nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was perfect and the Sunday lunch is recommended. We will be back soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette G

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iwerne Minster
8.3 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
347 reviews
9.9 km away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
250 reviews
9.4 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
0.0 km away
The Fontmell
The Fontmell
#1 of 3 in Fontmell Magna
107 reviews
5.1 km away
The Willows
The Willows
#1 of 2 in Shillingstone
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old coaching Inn with five en suite bedrooms all with flat screen tv and tea/coffee facilities. The pub downstairs offers good home cooked food. A warm welcome awaits you. Parking available ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Address: Blandford Road, Iwerne Minster, Blandford Forum DT11 8QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Blandford Forum > Iwerne Minster
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Iwerne Minster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Talbot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front rooms aren't double glazed, so get the heating on, but the road isn't busy and frankly this a just shows it's a proper old inn.”
 of 5 bubbles 958robk, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles KBB86, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in the 4 poster bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles MdPP62, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“Balcony on the back room”
 of 5 bubbles 359am, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“All rooms would be reasonably quiet”
 of 5 bubbles hugomidwales, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay