We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Y Giler Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhydlydan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Y Giler Arms
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Fairbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived Friday with touring caravan, greeted by host on arrival and was shown where everything was.....pitched up, lovely, clean, well kept site, amazing views, lovely setting. Went into the Y Giler arms for a drink friday evening, made to feel very welcome by hosts and locals, lovely log fire, very enjoyable evening. Saturday evening had a couple of drinks again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigtbone52
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Hi Tony & Shirley. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You are a great couple and it was a pleasure to meet you both. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend break and hope to see you again soon when you are next in the area. Regards Tracey & Harry

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a nights in our tourer, our maiden voyage!! Lovely and quiet, love the sound of the sheep and Cockerell! Small field but huge pitches. They could of had more pitches but have chosen their visitors comfort and not sandwiched everyone in which is great. Didn't use the pub at all as it was our maiden voyage with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you LisaB for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you chose our site for your maiden trip in your new tourer and were not disappointed with us or our site. It was great you had good weather which made the views towards Snowdon and the surrounding area even more stunning. We are dog friendly on...

sham el sheik
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We arrived mid afternoon the hotel was shut,after five or so mints,the owner appeared.Looking a bit annoyed maybe we had woke him up,he showed us to our room room was so dated dusty and damp.we asked could we have a drink at the bar to be told sorry i dont open till six oclock. i wanted to pay cash and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalesShamElSheik
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry your stay with us was not as you expected. As we are a small pub & B&B with camping and caravan site we, unfortunately, cannot please everyone all of the time.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We came over the weekend to camp for one night, we pretty much had the field to ourselves which was nice. The facilities are lovely and clean, and well equipped. We came into the pub for our evening meal and a few drinks, then returning Sunday morning for breakfast before we left - all really good quality food. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to you returning when you visit this beautiful part of North Wales in the future.

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff, tasty food, Purple Moose beer excellent! Small mistake made with baked potato and cooking length on steak. However cannot complain as value for money spot on! Would definitely go back as service was quick and friendly. Beef curry really nice and my son was very impressed with the chilli. Didn't do kids portions off the main menu and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baldcactus72
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are constantly reviewing our menu, especially for children and we thank you for your comments. We hope you visit us again if you are visiting this area of North Wales in the future.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and the landlord and landlady were the perfect hosts! Done everything asked for and then some ! Great location and ideal as we had family of 4 and our dog , which was also made to feel welcomed:-) Food was fantastic. Would definately return on next visit to Wales! Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellyandduncan
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you and Hartley and glad you had a good time. We hope you visit us again on your next trip to this beautiful part of North Wales.

Reviewed 14 August 2016

The Y Giler Arms have amazing staff that give top notch service! Delicious food and fantastic drink prices. I would without a doubt visit this establishment again. My best friend and I spent 4 days there for a girls trip and although remote it was perfect. The beautiful welsh rolling hills and the quaint dog friendly bar area really made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your first trip to this area of North Wales very relaxing and fun at the same time. I'm glad that 'Dobby' enjoyed his little holiday. We hope to see you again if you visit this area of North Wales...

Debenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Our party of four adults, three children and our dog met here for a meal having booked earlier in the day. Because of the dog we were confined to the bar area which is in need of some redecorating but is perfectly comfortable. Warm welcome and great service from friendly staff. The food was very good - I had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnFeeney-Howells
Tracey H, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you and your family had an enjoyable meal with us and hope you visit us again if you are in this area of beautiful North Wales again.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over this weekend we had 3 pitches together. When we arrived we had a warm welcome We pitched up loads of room to camp such a beautiful peaceful setting. We loved the sheep and lake Because of how windy it was we used the pub for dinner as we didn't want to cook ourself. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
Tracey H, Manager at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our campsite and pub. We are pleased you had a fun and relaxed time at Y Giler and hope to see you again some time in the future when hopefully we will have the washing up station in place.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Great pub excellent service !! all the team are friendly and well trained . We used the caravan and camping facilities , toilets and shower good and clean . Tracey and Mark are charming and great hosts . travellers should remember this a traditional welsh pub and not a clinical wetherspoons designed to extract the maximum money from customers in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norman g
Gilerarms, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this review

Thank you NormanG for your kind review. We are glad you stopped by on the off chance of us having availabilty for your campervan and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the knee is a little better now... If you are visiting this area of North Wales again, we will be happy to see you and Mrs G and...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhydlydan
0.0 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
665 reviews
0.0 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,145 reviews
0.0 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.0 km away
Llwyn Onn Guest House
Llwyn Onn Guest House
#1 of 2 in Rhydlydan
168 reviews
0.0 km away
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
#27 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This friendly country pub is situated in Hiraethog - the hidden heart of North Wales, just 8 miles east of Betws-y-Coed. It is an ideal touring centre from which to visit Snowdonia and the castles of Conwy, Beaumaris and Caernarfon, slate and copper mines, Portmeirion village and Bodnant Gardens. Y Giler also offers a small campsite with shower and toilet facilities and lakeside gardens beside the river Merddwr. The site is relatively level, well drained and is Camping and Caravan Club listed. There is a restaurant on site offering reasonably priced fare. Local Welsh ales are served in the friendly bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Y Giler Arms

Address: Rhydlydan LL24 0LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Rhydlydan
Price Range: $15 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Y Giler Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
shaw
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Y Giler Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no rooms, but the camping fields have amasing views.”
 of 5 bubbles lash1965, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try and avoid the room above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles Dizzle65, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Pick Room 3 as this is a small B&B and room 3 is the only ensuite available, but all the rooms are good value.”
 of 5 bubbles StuT422, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Did not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles LynStaffordshire, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
4 of 4