540 on Great South Motel

540 on Great South Motel

540 Great South Road (Cnr of Alexander Street), Otahuhu, Auckland 1062 New Zealand
Traveller (10)
A Studio Suite
Room & Suite (26)
Dining Area
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Otahuhu
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Vodafone Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star plus boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Golf course
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English

Location

540 Great South Road (Cnr of Alexander Street), Otahuhu, Auckland 1062 New Zealand
108Reviews1Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 29
  • 15
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ash_84nz wrote a review Apr 2017
Hamilton, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
$350 a night definitely not worth it but city had severe shortage of accommodation. 15 minute drive to airport which what we needed before our flight out.

Clean rooms but very small.

Check in lady was wearing Track Suit. Motel or Hotel a certain level of professionalism should be presented. Especially if you going to charge a $100 room at $350 to take advantage of city gigs.

Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen M wrote a review Apr 2015
Greater Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
my husband and I enjoyed our 5 day stay. we were in room 28 with a huge spa which was to kill for. room was clean and cleaner came in every day.
the management and staff were all polite and very helpful.
I would recommend this motel to my friends.
1 problem we had was the fridge.....it kept freezing up our milk etc etc. but it was no big issue.
thanks guys for a wonderful time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel
Responded Aug 29, 2015
Thank you for your feedback - we look forward to seeing you again soon. John
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiraiwaka wrote a review May 2015
Rotorua, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed a night here after a long drive up from Te Kuiti because it was cheap and easy to get to from the Motorway. We were pleasantly surprised by the room which (even though it had two big columns running through it) was comfortable and well laid out with the bed partitioned off. The sofa was worn but comfortable and the shower room/toilet was spacious and modern. We went out for takeaways about 200 meters down the road but the kitchen was actually well appointed. Not sure if I'd stay in that particular room for 2 or more nights but for one night it was fine. The staff were very helpful and friendly even though we had a late check in.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We chose based on price and you get what you pay for so suggest you spend a bit more to get a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel
Responded Aug 29, 2015
Thanks for your feedback. We are excited to share that we have new Sofa's in house and would love to see you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suzanne wrote a review Feb 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really disappointed that a refund was declined. Severe weather in Auckland shutting airport and forcing events to be cancelled, yet this hotel put greed and profit before empathy and people. Despite many attempts from travel agent and ourselves they would not offer any compensation at all. $346.00 out of pocket. It is not as though under these weather conditions this room would have been be rebooked.
Hope your trip or event runs to schedule and you don’t have circumstances out of your control and need to request a refund……
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
craigv01 wrote a review Oct 2012
Canberra
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the hotel based on reviews and being within easy distance to the airport and Auckland. This was one of the only two good points about this place. It is the sort of hotel that if I had of driven passed would have said I would never stay there.

Upon arrival (we had booked through Agoda), our booking was not in the system. Needing a room for five we were lucky to still get one even though we had already paid. The room itself had a separate bedroom and a small kitchenette. The lounge was faded and stained. This set off the tone for the room. The bed spreads were dirty. The bathroom had been updated but felt like a trailer home bathroom. The walls were grubby and I had never seen a bin so small.

Surprisingly enough there was a pillow menu. Our children thought this was great and made a selection. However upon making the request we were asked how many pillows we already had and why we wanted more. The different pillows eventually arrived but were dropped off in an unfriendly manner.

At night there was constant noise from the floor above with persons running up and down. It also sounded like there was a party up stairs. This competed with the road noise.

The other positive about this place was the male staff member who was more than happy to help with travel advice. This would not however lead to staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
apodera wrote a review Jan 2017
Revesby, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Motel manager charged us $450 on wetting the carpet due to water that overflowed from the blocked bathroom sink. We arrived late at night and wasn’t aware of the bathroom sink drain being clogged. Unfortunately, when I used the toilet in the middle of the night and accidentally didn’t fully close the tap (ie it was running slowly as the tap noise wasn’t noticeable, otherwise running the water fully would be noisy), the water overflowed and wet half of the carpet lounge room and partly outside the room. I called the cleaner (Ahu) who checked and confirmed the drain was clogged. She got a plunger to unclog the drain and then put a chemical on the sink. Then later on tested the sink with the tap running fully for a few minutes and showed us the water would never overflow even if the water is running fully and also the water would never rise too high in the sink because the sink has an overflow hole for protection from overflowing. However, because the drain was badly clogged, overflowing of the water cannot be avoided. When I told the motel manager/owner about the incident; instead of him apologising to us on the inconvenience caused by the faulty/poor drainage in the bathroom, he blamed us on the damage and insisted it was our fault for leaving the tap running. He charged us $450 for the damage, which really should have not had happened if the sink drainage is working properly. By law, it is his duty of care to make sure everything is working properly in the room. The manager was very rude and insisted it was all our fault and what we’ve done is serious and must be paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check everything in the room to make sure it is working as you might get charged later on when...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel
Responded Jan 17, 2017
Thanks for your email. As advised by you, you left the tap on in the bathroom for several hours which flooded half of your unit and part of the passageway that drained out from your room through to the Fire Exit. You admitted this and now I see you have changed the sequence of events which is disappointing. As you witnessed we had to hire an external cleaning company with heavy machinery to come in and dry out and clean the room. It took us THREE days to have the room dried out completely and we were unable to sell this room. You were relocated to another SPA unit immediately due to the severity of the flood. You were charged a fee as we had to pay the Cleaning company, however we did not charge you loss of revenue for the room you flooded. This was all explained to you and your response was "that's fair and sorry". Lastly - a sink will always overflow if the sink plug is slightly closed. This was not a laughing matter as it appeared entertaining to you until you were advised of the costs involved.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lillypilly72 wrote a review Apr 2011
Melbourne, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is the most dirtiest establishment, i have ever stayed in. I can say the photos of the internet are very deceiving, it would be good if the public could zoom up to actually see how filthy the rooms are, dirty stains on the couches, i would not let my wife and son sit on the couch, as i was scared there was something growing in them. We were on the bed and breakfast package, if that's what you would like to call it, the owner delivered the breakfast to our room, we ordered 2 mueslis and weet-bix, well the weet-bix came, but only one muesli, i had to share 2 bites of mine with my wife. My son needed more milk for his cereal, and it was such a drama that they could actually provide 100mls of milk instead of 30 mls which was provided for his 3 weet-bix. We had the most unpleasant sleep ever in a motel, as it was next to a major road, soundproof windows, i don't think so. The area is quite dodgy around the motel, and as stated on their website, lovely eateries close to the motel, i did not find any of these, and i preferred not to go out incase i got mugged. Overall to sum it up it was a major disappointment as we were only there for 1 night as we were leaving Auckland to go overseas the next day. I would never recomend this motel, even to my worst enemy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't ever stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel
Responded May 1, 2011
Thank you for the review. The events you have described are disturbing to me as yourself. This is completely out of sorts with this motel. I am at a loss with the comments regarding breakfast and the 30 mils of milk etc. Fresh milk is in a 300 ml jug and is delivered with each breakfast order. It is never a problem to provide additional items when requested. My wife and I who run the property pride ourselves in the services we offer. I cannot comment on your thoughts of the local area, it is your opinion and completely justified as such. As for many local eateries, there are aprox 27 establishments within a 5 minute walk, including Nando's, KFC, McDonalds, Subway, Secret Thai Garden, and the International Food Hall which has another 18 various cuisines on offer. If you would like to email us here, I would like to discuss the issues with you as this is the first time we were aware of your concerns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kelliesprowles wrote a review Apr 2016
Callala Bay, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just arrived back in Australia, having been on a cruise around New Zealand when my mother became ill and needed to be hospitalised in Tauranga. As we were unable to continue with the cruise as planned, we needed to arrange flights back to Australia, which also involved arranging accommodation in Auckland.

Below is an email I sent to 540 on Great South Motel, to which I still haven't received a reply.

Hi John and Sam,
Thank you for your email. That is disappointing, considering that the cancellation wasn't a change of mind, but a change of circumstance.

My mum and I were on the explorer of the seas cruise ship when she fell ill. We were taken to Tauranga hospital by ambulance and she has been here two nights. We were told that she would be discharged today.

This morning we have been frantically trying to book flights home to Australia and then of course some accommodation close to the airport to make it as easy as possible as we have no car, the bookings were only made a couple of hours ago.

Unfortunately, she had one more test this morning that has seen the need to change our plans as she has to stay in the hospital for at least another night.

At some point we will need the accommodation close by the airport and were hoping that we could keep a credit with you until that time.

I have my sister back in Australia trying to sort out the cancellation with Wotif and also for our flights home.

Under the circumstances, we would be grateful if you would reconsider changing our booking dates, so that once we have clearance from the hospital we can start to make our way back to Australia.

Kindest Regards
Kellie Sprowles

I phoned the motel directly as soon as I knew that I had to cancel the booking, which was around 2 hours from when it was booked. The lady I spoke with told me that she couldn't cancel it, that I would need to do that through the company that I booked with, which is understandable. However, around an hour after the call I received an email saying that the booking was cancelled. Which is a contradiction to what I was told on the phone.

My disappoint lies in the fact that even if they were unable to offer and alternate date, a response to my email would have been a professional approach.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel
Responded Jan 17, 2017
Thanks for your feedback. We cancel bookings when the Travel Agents request this. Please be advised that some of the booking have a cancellation policy which was explained to you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie R wrote a review Feb 2016
Christchurch, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing this review while I lay awake on the 4th night of my stay. Each of the 4 nights had been fairly sleepless. My room is hot and has no air con. I cant open the windows because of the noise from the road. The bed is hard and uncomfortable. Each time someone walks past my room it sounds like a herd of elephants and then their door slams and my light shade rattles. OMG some people are so inconsiderate.

Each night after returning from a physically hard day at work I said good evening to the lady on the desk. I barely got a hello out of her.

I would have moved to somewhere else after the first night but I had trouble getting accommodation as most of Auckland was booked out.

Not an enjoyable stay at all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mmary81 wrote a review Oct 2015
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a room for 4 night in Motel 540. We had a early check in as we arrived at 6 AM so we had to book for the night before. The room was so smelly , we had to open the windows so we could breathe! Bathroom was dirty as we couldn't even take a quick shower. you couldn't guess when was the last time the toilet got cleaned! So we went to the reception to maybe change the room, but surprisingly they didn't even offer us another room, the lady in reception said Fine, you can leave but there is no refund based on our policy and when we said we will share our experience here she said " and I will fight you back".. So we spent $600 for a 4-hour stay in a smelly dirty room!
My suggestion is not to even get close to this place! There are plenty of hotels and motels with the same price range that are clean and tidy and respectful in Auckland that you can stay.
We booked the room By the Expedia website.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: "Terrible Attitude, Smelly dark rooms, too far from the city"
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
337charlotte1012 asked a question Nov 2014
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
how old is the comapny?
Susan B wrote a tip Mar 2018
Cheshire, UK63 contributions28 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t even try to stay here unless you wish to be insulted."
Read full review
Wayne P wrote a tip Jan 2018
Reims, France5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere !"
Read full review
H00fer50 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back are reasonably quite."
Read full review
wisetraveller2012 wrote a tip Nov 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"dont stay here"
Read full review
Oolonz wrote a tip Nov 2017
Auckland, New Zealand16 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to inspect the room before you check in. We had pre-paid, otherwise I'd have gone elsewhere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Otahuhu area.
PRICE RANGE
C$85 - C$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
540 on great south hotel otahuhu
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandOtahuhu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

540 on Great South Motel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about 540 on Great South Motel
What are some of the property amenities at 540 on Great South Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at 540 on Great South Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at 540 on Great South Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at 540 on Great South Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does 540 on Great South Motel have airport transportation?
Yes, 540 on Great South Motel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at 540 on Great South Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Is 540 on Great South Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars