We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

540 on Great South Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
540 on Great South Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of 540 on Great South Motel
 Click to rate
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked for the concert at Mt Smart Stadium a couple of months in advance. On arrival everything was ready for us. The rooms were clean and tidy with a small amount of maintenance needed. Even so, they were perfect for our need. The rooms we had were to the rear of the property so were quiet. The hosts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we had the great pleasure of staying here for the Adele concert these people went above and beyond for there clients with a coach to and from the venue and waited for the slow ones like myself and to top it of there was a hot pizza waiting for every one upon return what more can you ask for they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macodim
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

What a great place to stay for a concert! Fantastic hospitality by John on the front desk/bus driver! Room was lovely,clean & had everything you needed. We were given a comp beer, water on the bus & pizza once we were home😀 Recommend staying here! 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessH508
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great rooms and location. Comfortable and exceptionally clean and tidy, it's easy to find and carparking is right outside motel office. There is food available from the hotel, with a few restaurants around and a service station right across the road. The rooms have a toaster and microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandraleelovering
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bruce Springsteen weekend in Auckland was a blast! The Motel put on a Bus to and from the concert and on returning to the Motel all guests were given Free Pizza which was Awesome! The room was immaculate and had great air con! Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdwardT2155
Revesby, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Motel manager charged us $450 on wetting the carpet due to water that overflowed from the blocked bathroom sink. We arrived late at night and wasn’t aware of the bathroom sink drain being clogged. Unfortunately, when I used the toilet in the middle of the night and accidentally didn’t fully close the tap (ie it was running slowly as the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank apodera
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your email. As advised by you, you left the tap on in the bathroom for several hours which flooded half of your unit and part of the passageway that drained out from your room through to the Fire Exit. You admitted this and now I see you have changed the sequence of events which is disappointing. As you...

Plimmerton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We drove in without a reservation and asked if they had a room for the night. We were told the price which surprised us slightly but needed a place to stay so said yes. We were then told that if we had booked on line it would have cost us double!!!. NO WAY!!! Totally overprices if that was the case....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reedwolken
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately I need to address t6he following with you; 1. We have sky TV channels and you were advised to use the "arrow down" button. 2. The Guest Information Folder is on the lounge table. We know that you had been looking around Auckland for hours for a Motel and looked very worn out and tired,...

Provo, Utah
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here, arranged and paid for by airline, when flight to Wellington was rerouted to Auckland due to weather. Put me in a room with a queen bed and two twins—relatively large room. Seems well kept, but the age of the hotel is evident. Room is keyed with metal keys. No chain on door. Main road just outside the window,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The Compuetr in the Lobby is $3 for 15 minuets or Unlimited Data on WIFI is $8.00

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We loved staying at this Motel. Staff were friendly and helpful, and was nice to be greeted by somebody who appeared to be a long term NZ'er. No communication issues. Our room was clean and well appointed. No problems with noise from neighbouring units. Will certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again.

Callala Bay, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I have just arrived back in Australia, having been on a cruise around New Zealand when my mother became ill and needed to be hospitalised in Tauranga. As we were unable to continue with the cruise as planned, we needed to arrange flights back to Australia, which also involved arranging accommodation in Auckland. Below is an email I sent to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kelliesprowles
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We cancel bookings when the Travel Agents request this. Please be advised that some of the booking have a cancellation policy which was explained to you.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otahuhu
6.2 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.7 km away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
206 reviews
8.3 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
4.8 km away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
6.9 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Telstra Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options. Free Airport Transfers; see Airport Transfer Service for conditions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 540 on Great South Motel

Address: 540 Great South Road, Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Otahuhu
Price Range: $161 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 540 on Great South Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 540 on Great South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
540 On Great South Hotel Otahuhu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 540 on Great South Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from 540 on Great South Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 20 is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles EdwardT2155, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check everything in the room to make sure it is working as you might get charged later on when you check out.”
 of 5 bubbles apodera, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to go for a room on the back side. Less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles MatthewandBritt, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back, away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Argy14, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“"Terrible Attitude, Smelly dark rooms, too far from the city"”
 of 5 bubbles Mmary81, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5