We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merchant House

Show Prices
#4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Judging by the photo on this profile I must have stayed in an old room and indeed my wing looked decidedly dated. Old doors, 90s carpets, well worn pine furniture and a bathroom with a very small shower cubicle. I have to say that everything was spotless so full marks definitely for that, and the bed was comfy. Breakfast, unlike...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank impavidus
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear impavidus, Thank you for your review of Merchant House and your comments about our cleanliness and comfy beds, although I’m sorry to see you thought we were a little dated. We’ve had an ongoing programme of refurbishment for the past 4 years which has seen us update and modernise the hotel in stages. We are an old Merchant’s house...

Poole
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Two nights here with our Dog. Had asked for ground floor with easy access and that's exactly what we got. Room at rear which is usually made available for those in wheelchair. Huge 'wet room' which was ideal as far as I was concerned although my wife would have preferred to have known in advance. Obviously geared up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerPoole
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear sunseekerpoole, Thank you for your review of Merchant House, I’m pleased you enjoyed your dog friendly break with us. I apologise that your wife wasn’t aware of the wet room, when booking direct we describe the room to our customers. If it had been a problem we would have been happy to move you to another room. I’m glad...

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A clean, well presented hotel with a friendly abd very helpful staff. As a quick stopover, it did not disappoint. The bar was clean and tidy. The rooms are On-suite and are very comfortable. We Would use this venue again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank disgruntledman54
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear disgruntledman54, Thank you for your review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us and found us to be clean, tidy and comfortable. Thank you also for your comments about our friendly team, it is much appreciated. I do hope you will return to us again soon. Best wishes, Nicky Whittaker - Owner

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We wanted to stay near two of our favourite National Trust gardens: Trelissick and Glendurgan and "found" Merchant House at the last minute. What a find! A warm and friendly welcome with tea and cake, a lovely room (with a Kingsize bed) and the breakfast (buffet and cooked) didn't disappoint either. This is not a modern hotel, but is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Gareth, Thank you for giving us a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you were welcomed by our warm and friendly staff and enjoyed our amazing complimentary tea and homemade cake. As you mentioned our beds are huge if you book a King room and it comes with a Kingsize bed with lots of fluffy pillows....

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

2 night stay whilst I was in the area for interviews. 1st night in the cosy double - lovely room with tea and coffee facilities. Ironing board available if needed. Lovely young lady on reception helped me with some last minute printing needs. Short 5-10 minute walk down hill to some nice restaurants for dinner (though I understand you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma H
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Jemma, Thank you for taking the time to write us such an amazing review. We were so pleased to hear that our beds were super comfy, the showers had great pressure, the WiFi was fast and reliable and that our breakfasts were lovely. It's always nice to be appreciated and we are happy to hear it was helpful to...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hotel good value for money. Staff pleasant & helpful. Hotels own description is accurate. Plenty of car parking space. Easy walk into Truro, there is a bus to get you back up the hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbarker16
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi johnbarker16, Thank you for giving us a lovely review. We are really pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be good value for money and that our staff were pleasant and helpful. As you mentioned the hotel has plenty of free parking and you are always welcome to leave your car all day whilst you have meetings...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Free tea and home-made cake supplied from 1pm until 6pm. No restaurant for an evening meal but guests are welcome to order in a takeaway and the staff will supply plates and cutlery etc. Dog friendly; there is a dog wash station down the side of the hotel and the reception will supply towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thank you for your 5 * review of Merchant house. We were delighted to hear that you found our bedrooms to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our complimentary tea and homemade cake. As you mentioned we are dog friendly and have an outdoor heated shower to shampoo Fido when he's all muddy from a Cornish...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay at the Merchant, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were a reasonable size for two adults and come with towels and a hairdryer. The bathroom was again a reasonable size, the shower was amazing, very hot and powerful water pressure. The bathroom smelt a little musty, probably due to not having any window and only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannie_jayne
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Dannie, Thank you for your review and lovely comments about our staff and comfy beds with lots of pillows. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed playing our board games and sampled our complimentary tea with homemade cake whilst keeping out of the rain. It's always great to have an excuse to eat cake! We are very happy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Merchant House is basically a large B&B establishment - with around 30 rooms and an equivalent number of parking spaces. We could see it was quite popular with people visiting Truro on business. We found our 1st floor ensuite twin a bit small but clean and well decorated, storage adequate and the beds comfortable. The shower-room/toilet was probably smallest it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayceeLondres
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Jaycee, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Merchant House.I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts and found our staff to be cheerful.I will pass on your comments to the team as they will be delighted! As you mention we provide complimentary tea and homemade cake daily in our lounge bar from1-6pm....

East Bridgford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. What a pleasure to stay in a hotel where for once there was absolutely nothing to complain about, after all, we Brits are great at moaning but not so good at praising. Perfect location, just up the hill from Truro centre and just a couple of minutes from the A30 - couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigeldawes
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for giving us a 5* review. I am so pleased you found Merchant House to be a perfect location with plenty of parking and that you couldn't find anything negative. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments as they will be delighted. We look forward to seeing you...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
790 reviews
0.7 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
561 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
416 reviews
10.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
1,027 reviews
12.4 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: $105 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merchant House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the back are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles roderickg337, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, and the stairs are steep so try not to be put on the second floor if, like us, your legs are elderly!”
 of 5 bubbles Gemmadog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Has everything you need including a shower for the dog!”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineS753, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need plenty of space go for the suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 763jezh, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 20 was ideal for us.”
 of 5 bubbles mullionpeach, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5