We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Merchant House

Show Prices
#3 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Was there with a grp of 10. Some were delighted. Some complained about the small rooms, the narrow corridors, the steep stairs... Personal helpful - but not going out of their way I wld recommend it for individual travellers who enjoy a traditional atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank UrsulaHans
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear UrsulaHans, Thank you for your comments and I’m pleased to see that some of your group were delighted with their stay at Merchant House. Our team worked hard to make your group stay a comfortable and enjoyable one, as we do with all of our guests, we always make sure we go over and above and I know that... More 

Freckleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Unfortunately had to attend a funeral in Truro so stayed here for two nights together with our dog. We were all made very welcome with treats for the dog and delicious afternoon cakes. The room was perfect with large TV and fairly fast Wi-Fi connection. Already planning our next visit

Helpful?
Thank Sundbynitten
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear sundbynitten, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm sorry to read that is wasn't a trip for leisure, my condolences for your loss. However, I am pleased to see that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our complimentary homemade cake and free WiFi. I hope your dog enjoyed his visit too, we love... More 

London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Having been in Truro on business for a few nights this was a great little find. Very reasonably priced with great staff and a welcoming atmosphere. The room was very clean, with modern decor and the breakfast is very good value. A full selection of fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast. The only thing the hotel doesn't do is food but... More 

Helpful?
Thank LincolnC
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear LincolnC, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and friendly team, with comfort and value as our ultimate priority for our customers. We have a fantastic reputation for our breakfasts, they are hearty and delicious, cooked fresh to order... More 

Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed at Merchant House Apr 20-24, 2016, our second visit. Room was all that could be expected and the staff were great. Breakfast was excellent. Good atmosphere and comfortable surroundings. The walk to town is short, but down and back up a very steep hill; recommend taking a taxi (about three pounds). Also their offer of a free taxi... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rbrucehankins
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House following your second visit with us. I'm pleased to see your comments on our friendly staff and excellent breakfasts as well as our comfy surroundings and warm atmosphere, these are the things we pride ourselves on. The taxi recommendation is a good one (although we like to walk... More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
686 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We decided to stay in Truro as a base for our explorations and chose Merchant House. Truro isn't a tourist town in its own right and Merchant House isn't near the restaurants etc, but this was the only drawback. The room was a reasonable size, good parking on site, full bar, good wifi, very comfortable bed, hot shower (but a... More 

Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear croftonMelbourne, Thank you for your review of Merchant House. You are right, Truro isn't really a place for tourists but that's what makes it so great! Guests get to visit and enjoy all that Cornwall offers without all the traffic queues they will reach heading to Falmouth, Newquay or St Ives and with easy reaching distance to all of... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We got a warm welcome at Merchants house - the complementary tea and cake on arrival is a nice touch. It is located on a hill which may not suit all but is a convenient walk into the centre of the town. Rooms are clean and tidy if small (#10) as was the bed. Bathroom looked recently refurbished with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for your review of Merchant House, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always say we're on a hill so you can burn off all of the calories from our homemade cake! However, we understand not all guests want to walk it, we are more than happy to arrange a taxi as it's only a 5... More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

A lovely warm family run small hotel near the centre of Truro. When you arrive you are offered complementary tea and cake in the nice communal sitting/breakfast room/bar. The rooms are pleasant and clean. The breakfast is generous and very nice, and charmingly served. It's not posh, but a perfect place if you want a warm, friendly reception in clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyNathan38
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear TimothyNathan38, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House and your kind comments. We pride ourselves on our friendliness so I'm glad you agree! Complimentary tea and homemade cake is always a nice welcome, we think it makes guests feel at home! I do hope you will visit us again soon! Best wishes, Nicky Whittaker - Owner More 

Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Really lovely service, comfy and clean rooms and tasty breakfast. Lovely lounge and bar area and cake and tea provided free between 1-6pm always a bonus. Staff very kind and considerate, lovely restaurants nearby. Parking available in front and behind.

Helpful?
1 Thank nosbigarual
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear nosbigarual, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind comments about our comfy rooms, tasty breakfast and great service. Complimentary tea and homemade cake always goes down well! I do hope you'll visit us again soon! Best wishes, Nicky Whittaker - Owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely relaxed hotel within easy stroll of the beautiful city of Truro. Everything you need for a short stay is to be found here. Love the fact that you can order a takeaway to eat in the Hotel dining room - they'll even provide plates and cutlery. Quiet setting, free parking, bar, newspapers. TIP - book direct for breakfast included... More 

Helpful?
Thank CityBreaker50
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear CityBreaker, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House. Guests are always happy to order takeaway and enjoy it in the lounge and, as you mention, we'll happily provide the plates and cutlery! Definitely book direct as breakfast is always included free of charge! I hope to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, Nicky Whittaker -... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

I was lucky to have my boyfriend visit me from London this past weekend so I booked a room at the merchant house for 2 nights. It was so easy to book. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady at reception who told us all about the room and the hotel. The room was very nice and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank CamHinton
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear CamHinton, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be nice and great value! I'm also pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant at our sister hotel. Mannings is a great restaurant, very popular with our guests and it's just... More 

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
719 reviews
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
633 reviews
0.7 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 6 in Truro
406 reviews
17.7 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
10.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 25 in Falmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: $106 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merchant House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some Rooms at the back overlooking the large car park. They have single rooms and They also have dog friendly and larger family rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Emilyssister, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a cosy room which did not feel small perfect for a short stay”
 of 5 bubbles sally670, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a cosy room at the rear of the hotel which was a good size and comfortable and with a great view”
 of 5 bubbles marktX1876TQ, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the back with a high window so didnt have a view but that didnt bother us as we were out all day”
 of 5 bubbles 606sylviah, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for large window rather than skylight”
 of 5 bubbles nem50, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay