We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merchant House

Expedia.comUS$63*
View Deal
#3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$63*
US$64*
US$65*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We wanted to stay near two of our favourite National Trust gardens: Trelissick and Glendurgan and "found" Merchant House at the last minute. What a find! A warm and friendly welcome with tea and cake, a lovely room (with a Kingsize bed) and the breakfast (buffet and cooked) didn't disappoint either. This is not a modern hotel, but is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Gareth, Thank you for giving us a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you were welcomed by our warm and friendly staff and enjoyed our amazing complimentary tea and homemade cake. As you mentioned our beds are huge if you book a King room and it comes with a Kingsize bed with lots of fluffy pillows....

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

2 night stay whilst I was in the area for interviews. 1st night in the cosy double - lovely room with tea and coffee facilities. Ironing board available if needed. Lovely young lady on reception helped me with some last minute printing needs. Short 5-10 minute walk down hill to some nice restaurants for dinner (though I understand you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma H
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Jemma, Thank you for taking the time to write us such an amazing review. We were so pleased to hear that our beds were super comfy, the showers had great pressure, the WiFi was fast and reliable and that our breakfasts were lovely. It's always nice to be appreciated and we are happy to hear it was helpful to...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hotel good value for money. Staff pleasant & helpful. Hotels own description is accurate. Plenty of car parking space. Easy walk into Truro, there is a bus to get you back up the hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbarker16
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi johnbarker16, Thank you for giving us a lovely review. We are really pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be good value for money and that our staff were pleasant and helpful. As you mentioned the hotel has plenty of free parking and you are always welcome to leave your car all day whilst you have meetings...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Free tea and home-made cake supplied from 1pm until 6pm. No restaurant for an evening meal but guests are welcome to order in a takeaway and the staff will supply plates and cutlery etc. Dog friendly; there is a dog wash station down the side of the hotel and the reception will supply towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thank you for your 5 * review of Merchant house. We were delighted to hear that you found our bedrooms to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our complimentary tea and homemade cake. As you mentioned we are dog friendly and have an outdoor heated shower to shampoo Fido when he's all muddy from a Cornish...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay at the Merchant, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were a reasonable size for two adults and come with towels and a hairdryer. The bathroom was again a reasonable size, the shower was amazing, very hot and powerful water pressure. The bathroom smelt a little musty, probably due to not having any window and only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannie_jayne
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Dannie, Thank you for your review and lovely comments about our staff and comfy beds with lots of pillows. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed playing our board games and sampled our complimentary tea with homemade cake whilst keeping out of the rain. It's always great to have an excuse to eat cake! We are very happy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Merchant House is basically a large B&B establishment - with around 30 rooms and an equivalent number of parking spaces. We could see it was quite popular with people visiting Truro on business. We found our 1st floor ensuite twin a bit small but clean and well decorated, storage adequate and the beds comfortable. The shower-room/toilet was probably smallest it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayceeLondres
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi Jaycee, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Merchant House.I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts and found our staff to be cheerful.I will pass on your comments to the team as they will be delighted! As you mention we provide complimentary tea and homemade cake daily in our lounge bar from1-6pm....

East Bridgford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. What a pleasure to stay in a hotel where for once there was absolutely nothing to complain about, after all, we Brits are great at moaning but not so good at praising. Perfect location, just up the hill from Truro centre and just a couple of minutes from the A30 - couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigeldawes
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for giving us a 5* review. I am so pleased you found Merchant House to be a perfect location with plenty of parking and that you couldn't find anything negative. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments as they will be delighted. We look forward to seeing you...

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were part of a large group that took over a good bit of the property in July when the UK was having an historic heat wave. The staff was not equipped to handle the requests for fans. Our room, on the top floor and facing west, was closed up tight with the draperies wide open. Needless to say, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PALB108
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear PALB108, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Merchant House and I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay on this occasion. All of our rooms do have windows that open but we don't like to leave them open before guests arrive, for security purposes and the curtains are left open so the...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

So, to find a decent place to stay during University sign in weekend was a nightmare! We stumbled across The Merchant House on line. 'Do you have a family room? Our 'child' is a 6 foot 2 Fresher so we need a long single in the room! Help?' Yes, come in and the bed is plenty big enough, came the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelleychap C
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about our warm welcome, complimentary Homemade Cake in our lounge/bar, King size beds and our cracking full English breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back along with Fido and we'll get the...

Collins, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Not a big selection at breakfast. If you want eggs they will only make fried eggs! When we arrived it was a warm day. All the windows were closed and the room was like an oven! Long walk to town. Otherwise it was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Larry, Thank you for your review of Merchant House and I’m sorry to see you didn’t enjoy your stay on this occasion. All of our rooms do have windows that open but we don’t like to leave them open before guests arrive, for security purposes. We also ensure we have fans available for guests on request. I am perplexed...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
803 reviews
0.7 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 4 in Truro
565 reviews
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
420 reviews
10.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,048 reviews
2.8 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 20 in Truro
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Price Range: $99 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merchant House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5, where I stayed, is great, but all rooms seem nice and quiet.”
Z1737OKsamp, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“cosy double means a double bed plus bathroom but not too small”
karenwV5151MR, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the back are quiet.”
roderickg337, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, and the stairs are steep so try not to be put on the second floor if, like us, your legs are elderly!”
Gemmadog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Has everything you need including a shower for the dog!”
CatherineS753, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$64
TripAdvisorUS$63
Agoda.comUS$65
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates