We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Black Bull Balsham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Black Bull Balsham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in for lunch just after Christmas. Following Christmas Day and 2 Bank Holidays we didn't expect a great choice but were pleasantly surprised. Attentive friendly staff and sufficient available menu to give a reasonable selection. The food was good, as was the beer and wine. We will be back when in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ne-wanderingfree
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last night and enjoyed a well organised tasty three course dinner. Service was tip top, friendly and helpful. Our room was as we expected from the photos - not huge but very clean and comfortable. Had a lovely breakfast this morning. Would recommend both the restaurant and the general feel of the pub for a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debpatrick11
Cambridge
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Been going here since early 60s so cant say Im not prejudiced Forever optimistic I hoped for improvement under relatively new management The opening attraction on a mild Saturday near Christmas was tne open fake fire sadly the end of the couch adjacent to fire heralded threat to Elf and Safety and lack of management Even failing businesses constantly adjust...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alimac69
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We left the M11 specifically to get lunch here (looking for a good meal on way to O2 for tennis). We were a bit aghast at the dreary outside and thought it had closed down. The sign in the car park is dirty and covered in algae? However we checked and it was open. Having come we stayed and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMF500
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We called in here for lunch while passing through the village. The weather was cold and raining, so really appreciated sitting by the sofa with the open fire. The two staff members who served us were friendly and helpful. We ordered a couple of sandwiches from the menu, and were warned there may be a bit of a wait as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesK1975
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Lovely setting, great greeting and made very welcome inside. Shown to our room, which was large, modern, simple, clean and comfortable. We had a very good meal and enjoyed the local beer. Breakfast was very freshly cooked, nicely presented, and plenty of extra coffee. We would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJSpG
Reviewed 27 October 2016

After spending several nights in this quaint little village pub I am extremely disappointed with the service I have received the last couple of times I have visited! The food has still been of a very high standard and I would like to compliment the chef! As for the service the new manager has made me, and others, feel very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misspointed
Alex C, Owner at The Black Bull Balsham, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us a number of times and for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you have found the food here a consistently high standard and that you appreciated our last manager, but obviously very concerned about your experiences with our new manager. I do not know what went wrong on Sunday night...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We chose to stay here due to the convince of closeness to Chillford Hall and thought that it would be a perfect countryside retreat from the hustle & bustle of city life. When we arrived, the pub seemed to be cosy, warm and perfect for a cold Autumn's day. Sadly, when we arrived in our room, we couldn't say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariapittaway21
Alex C, Owner at The Black Bull Balsham, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found the pub cosy, warm and welcoming but sorry that you did not find the rooms the same. I am afraid you caught us in that period between balmy weather and crisp days and we had not brought the heating forward, particularly...

solihull
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stopped here for an overnight stay after visiting Chilford Hall vineyard. A bit pricey at £140 but as it was a special occasion decided to splash out... I wish we hadn't! The room was freezing upon arrival and the heating wasn't turned on until the evening. The room was average, with a broken shower screen and very noisy as it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AUnited1
Alex C, Owner at The Black Bull Balsham, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you did not find the rooms warm on arrival. I am afraid you caught us in that period between balmy weather and crisp days and we had not yet brought the heating forward. This has now been corrected, so thank you for...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Upon checking in we found our room chilly. No welcoming warmth as you walk in onto wooden floors. Asked for the heating to be put on twice before is was. Then the bathroom radiator/ towel heater never came on. By the time we realised it was broken it was very late so we did not notify management until check out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
Alex C, Owner at The Black Bull Balsham, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found the pub lovely but sorry that you did not find the rooms warm on arrival. I am afraid you caught us in that period between balmy weather and crisp days and we had not yet brought the heating forward. Checking in...

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsham
7.6 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
14.9 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,556 reviews
11.2 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,116 reviews
10.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
10.6 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Hinxton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Multi-award winning (Front of House Manager of the Year 2013, National Pub Food Award 2013 & National Pub Business Innovation Award 2013 at The Publican's Morning Advertiser Awards) Classic 16th Century Grade II listed thatched Freehouse in the pretty Cambridgeshire conservation village of Balsham, sitting well back from the High St, overlooked by the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, full range menu from sandwiches to fine dining, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub & Good Beer Guides, newly restored barn restaurant - oak raftered and panelled, traditional dry peg construction. Five new-build double ensuites, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub to The Red Lion Hinxton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Bull Balsham

Address: 27 High Street, Balsham CB21 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Balsham
Price Range: $180 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Bull Balsham 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Bull Balsham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Bull Balsham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are quiet but not in the pub itself.”
 of 5 bubbles 745lyndav, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are just about all the same, premier inn style.”
 of 5 bubbles Steve_Mandy_Georgia, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for room 5, its larger and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go and enjoy .....”
 of 5 bubbles 344richardi, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 was perfect for us”
 of 5 bubbles 73junew, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay