We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockwood House

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$94
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$93
View Deal
Priceline
US$94
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$94
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf Course
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
43Reviews
17Photos
0Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 15
  • 4
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This bed-and-breakfast is essentially adequate but unfortunately we had a couple of complaints that were not addressed well and ultimately resulted in a series of stand-up bells with the owners. The basis of the two complaints was the bright light coming through the translucent
Read more
Response from RStead, Owner at Rockwood House
Responded Nov. 2, 2014
We operate, like most establishments in the area, a minimum 2 night stay at weekends and these guests had booked and paid, via a booking agent, for 2 nights accommodation, Saturday and Sunday. On the Sunday morning we were surprised to hear complaints that the room was not dark enough and as a result our guests stated they had had difficulty sleeping. To add to this they complained that the shower was not powerful enough. The guests stated that they wished to leave that morning and receive a full refund for the second night. This is outside of our normal policy and we felt that their issues could easily be resolved. First we do not claim to have power showers but all guest rooms are adequately equipped with a shower very similar to the one we personally use. A demonstration on how to set up the shower was offered and it was agreed that the shower had not been set up correctly. Second in relation to the light in the room, the large window has a silk lined blind and also net curtains but it does not have any black out facility. The room has been recently decorated and any problem with the light has never been reported by other guests. We did however fit traditional heavier curtains for the second night to rectify the situation. Finally we take pride in being surrounded by the countryside and many guests comment on the quaint village location and the peace and serenity that the rooms we have offer them. We welcome feedback, however, with such a persistent and contemptible attack on facilities and to our home the comments may have been taken personally.
Read more
We stayed two nights at Rockwood house b & b. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was clean and we had a lovely view of the hills. En suite was a tad compact and shower took a few mins to heat up, Breakfast was good and the homemade marmalade was delicious. Lots
Read more
Stayed at Rockwood B&B which is located in the lovely village of Embsay just out of Skipton. Our room was comfortable and clean. Free parking was available in the public carpark opposite. Breakfast was hearty, however as I didn't drink tea or coffee it would have been nice to
Read more
Embsay is a quiet village close to Skipton. We stayed at Rockwood House for 2 nights as we wanted a base from which to tour the Yorkshire Dales. Having previously stayed at central hotels, and not considered B&Bs we opted for Rockwood House based on the Tripadvisor reviews.
Read more
The overnight stay for two people was £72.00 for B and B . We arrived about 18.15 and the owner was a little slow in answering the door and we received a retort about us being impatient bearing in mind our arms were full of luggage. Our bedroom was at the front of the house
Read more
Response from Robert S, Owner at Rockwood House
Responded May 23, 2014
We regret this couple's negative experience at our B and B which is at odds with the vast majority of very positive reviews we receive via our Visitor's Book. The house is rural and the room referred to has open views of the hills not a street. We provide daily fresh instant coffee in air sealed containers. Bath mats are available on request. At breakfast as is usual they were asked for their requirements. Our costs are commensurate and competitive with other establishments in the area. At no time did this couple register their dissatisfaction for which we would have been only too please to respond.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Tea making facility
Very comfy bed
Photo provided by managementRockwood House
Photo provided by managementRockwood House
PreviousNext
12
"The room on the first floor had a superb view from the front of the house."
"Rooms at the front of the house have lovely views."
"Our room on the front was excellent"
"you will not be disappointed with any"
"Rooms at the front have good views of hillside opposite."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSkipton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing