We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Plough Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 752: English reviews
Start your review of The Plough Inn
 Click to rate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've eaten here 2 or 3 of times for friends' events and always been disappointed. Our last visit was typical. A noisy, over crowded environment. Over worked therefore inattentive waiters. Food very poor quality and expensive. The vegetarian en croute was the size of a starter for £12.95 and tasted like something from Morrison's freezer section, only received extra vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovelygirltwo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow, we have had the most delicious Sunday Roast Dinner here today. We both opted for the three courses and each course was divine. The portions were surprisingly large and to be honest the three courses were not needed but the quality of the food meant it was just unavoidable. Will definitely be visiting again the upbeat and friendly service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rprosse2
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rprosse2, Thank you for a wonderful review, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch dining experience with us. The team work very hard to maintain the high quality and award wining service for every guest. Our brigade of chefs also work very hard to uphold this, which is also helped by the fact that...

Neath
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this restaurant by chance and we were very pleased with the meals and the service. Lovely views from the conservatory and we were able to capitalise on a 20% discount. Only complaint was we had a dirty spoon and the two seater tables were places too close together. Small complaints overall more something for the Plough to take on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angharadNeath
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear AnagharadNeath, Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent five-star review from your recent visit, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the service you received was of the high quality we aim to maintain. We source our produce as locally as possible from within our area and our talented brigade of...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel. Warm and friendly staff. Treated us as if they'd known us forever. Lovely spacey room with massive bed and a lush bath. 3 course meal in the restaurant was excellent with nice home made meals and attentive service. Next time we'll stay for a couple of days and enjoy the beautiful countryside surrounding the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julia G, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Plough. I am delighted that your visit was excellent. We aim to give every guest that “family from home” feel, and we are pleased to hear that you received this, despite it being a short stay. We source our produce from the suppliers in the local area, and we...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife bought me a wowcher for my birthday that included breakfast and dinner, would have been amazing value without the deal. Upgraded to an executive room! Bathroom with Jacuzzi bath was amazing, food and service was great! friendly, helpful staff from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. Would definitely visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePotCafe
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear ThePotCafe, Thank you for an amazing review, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your birthday present of the Wowcher Dinner, bed and breakfast deal, with an upgrade to one of our executive rooms. The Whole team from housekeepers, receptionist, waiting staff and chef’s all work great together where they try to maintain the excellent service and...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were passing so had not booked but they were very friendly and accommodating,even though they were obviously very busy. .Our meal was first class with attentive and courteous staff. Lovely choice of menu and very pleasant surroundings. Obviously a very busy popular place and no wonder!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vintagetractor
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Vintagetractor, Thank you for your wonderful review regarding Sunday lunch you have had with us recently. The front of house team work very hard to maintain the high standard you received during your visit, and we source our products as locally as possible. I will pass on your thanks to the team as they will be delighted to read...

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped at The Plough for lunch today, and had a delicious meal. The beef stroganoff was superb. The service was excellent, and staff efficient and friendly. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. If you are out that way, would highly recommend that you give it a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bibliophile8
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bibliophile8, Tahnk you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear thaty your dining experience at the Plough was excellent. As you are probably aware we endeavour to source all of our ingredients locally wherever possible and we truly believe this shines through in the quality of our dishes, alongside the...

Weldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the plough inn on a voucher Xmas present and what a lovely way to spend a Saturday afternoon, we were met at the front desk by a lovely manager who took us to our table in the conservatory and offered us drinks straight away and gave us the menus for afternoon tea, what a lovely helpful man, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril R
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Avril R, Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review, I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Our chef's work extremely hard to maintain the high standards and source our ingredients as locally as possible. I will pass on your kind words to the team, as they will be pleased to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the plough inn for a 2 day break, and couldn't have been more happier, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home the staff are so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, the hotel itself is spotless and the food is without any doubt the best I've ever had at any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sandra and Tony, Thank you for a wonderful review, we are so glad to hear that your 2 day break was very pleasant. Our housekeeping team endeavour to maintain the high standards we set, and will be delighted to read your review. All of our ingredients are sourced locally wherever possible and we truly believe this shines through in...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely welcoming hotel that passed our expectations, checked in a little early but no problems room was ready and again was even better than expected, with very large bed and lovely walk in shower Evening meal was excellent and large choice Breakfast also very good staff very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful and friendly Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kevin P, Thank you for your delightful review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our team works very hard and always gives 100% to all your needs as you have discovered durign your stay. I will pass on your kind words to the team as they will be pleased to hear this....

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (278)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (57)
Viewed
Classic Room (44)
Viewed
Executive Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.8 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
401 reviews
1.9 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
83 reviews
22.8 km away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
853 reviews
37.1 km away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
532 reviews
26.2 km away
Stradey Park Hotel
Stradey Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Price Range: $142 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plough Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cardiff

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At rear of hotel overlooking valleys”
 of 5 bubbles 313kevinp, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“206 lovely room overlooking fields and hills”
 of 5 bubbles G5526JWamyp, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to one of the WiFi routers or no free internet...”
 of 5 bubbles ScooterAu, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The guests with dogs stayed on the lower ground rooms where the patio doors lead out onto a car park with fields beyond to walk dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles bella3777, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 203 which looked over the back parking lot to the fields and hills. Good wifi signal in the room too.”
 of 5 bubbles calsand, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5