We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bear Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Bear Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After being refused food at both the Thai Barn and the Maharaja we settled on eating at the Bear!! What a friendly place!! You must try the steak pies. They are delicious!! Go and try them you won't be disappointed!! Food staff drinks and ambience amazing!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phantombagpiper
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

would have been a 5 mark just for a few extra minutes of attentions to detail shower curtain needs to be changed very dirty covered in mould a little off putting had 2 delicious pies on the Friday night. it is right on the street which is very noisy but they do provide ear plugs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We were tempted in by the pies which sounded amazing. When we went with our children aged 9 to 13 however it was a different story. Didn't feel at all welcome... left before we ordered. Heard someone else ask if children were allowed and they were told until 6.30 pm.. It was 5.30pm Shame they missed out on £100 takings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Was in Bradford-on-Avon shooting a wedding so traveled up the day before. Looking for something to eat we stumbled across The Bear Inn. Wasn't too sure if pie is what we wanted but thought we would give it a go as it stated that their pies had won a multitude of awards. Bar is well and truly stocked to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markdubya
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Great pub, great food, great service Pies were packed full of meat and very well constructed, with tasty pastry. Special thanks to the cheerful friendly barmaid and the chef for taking our late order (apologies didn't notice the time after a few ciders) Will certainly visit again soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
PubPies, Manager at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed your visit and thanks for your kind support,

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Can't speak highly enough of the room. For the price I was expecting a budget room but was very pleasantly surprised at the quality! Spacious and clean. Also generously supplied complimentary breakfast items despite this being a room only price! Friendly, helpful staff and delicious pies!! We will be back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacksg123
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The Bear boasts about its pies - writ large above the door. We have eaten here before and the boast was sound. So we returned for more of the same and sadly all agreed the quality of the pies has dipped. With reportedly no seats available for a weds - we prebooked our seats AND pies and dined the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary n
PubPies, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to read your disappointment, our Pies are the same as always as many on this site agree, I can only think that if your previous visit was awhile ago then maybe on that occasion you had our larger Pies (which we no longer serve), but the pies you had on this visit have won awards and we sell hundreds...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

read about this Pub on trip advisor so thought we would give it a try, there was 6 of us in total with 2 teenage kids in the party. The pies are what this little gem of a pub are know for and believe me you won't be disputed, there so some of the best Ive tried. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
PubPies, Manager at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, often people only turn to tripadviser to complain, so delighted you took time out to post yours, Many thanks,

Saintfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Great room at the Bear Inn, value for money, spacious, nice decor and finishes decent tv, nice little self service breakfast. As others and owners have warned there is limited time period to check in, no parking outside to unload but as long as you are quick it's ok to move luggage in and out. Worried it would be noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgtips451
St. Helens, Lancs
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in BOA. On arrival at 2 we were shocked to discover the check in was only at 5 which was on the booking to be fair but it is quite poor. When we eventually got our room we were delighted with it. Very tastefully decorated with a great bathroom too incorporating a lovely bath & shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobSt_Helens_Lancs

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.1 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
221 reviews
3.3 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
361 reviews
1.9 km away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
487 reviews
0.3 km away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 25 in Bradford-on-Avon
467 reviews
0.3 km away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#4 of 25 in Bradford-on-Avon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern English Pub/Bar serving great selection of Ales and Ciders, Pub is famous for it's Homemade Pies with a selection of over 20 different, accommodation is available in the form of modern, clean rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bear Inn

Address: 26 Silver Street | Wiltshire, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $105 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bear Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pies the pies !!!”
 of 5 bubbles Cargillcrew, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is huge! Our friend had Room 3 which was a reasonable sized twin.”
 of 5 bubbles valj894, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were over the courtyard. Become a temporary local. Stay up late and sleep's no problem!”
 of 5 bubbles 788nikkia, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Might check to see if there's a room that doesn't face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles PattyPortland, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't have the room facing the road if you're worried about traffic noise.”
  • Double Room at The Bear Inn
  • Double Room at The Bear Inn
  • Double Room at The Bear Inn
  • Double Room at The Bear Inn
 of 5 bubbles SalsaChickNik, 4 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay