We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Portland Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$49*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$49*
US$49*
US$49*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Portland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Start your review of The Portland Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed in a twin room for one night whilst visiting Chesterfield to watch the wonderful Kate Rusby. First time staying in a Wetherspoon's hotel and it won't be the last! The welcome on arrival was warm, friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious and clean and had windows we could open! - fresh air in a hotel! Hooray!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ideal location, warm and welcoming staff, lovely clean room with all the facilities you could need. I'm not sure what I had expected; certainly a bit of noise from the pub downstairs but I didn't hear anything and slept really well.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carvozasarah
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Carvozasarah for your lovely review. We love the fact that we are more than what you expected as we could not ask for anything more. It is surprisingly a quiet hotel even though we are directly situated above the bar. We do hope you decide to come and visit us in the near future. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Didn't know what to expect from a Wetherspoons hotel but we were impressed with the Portland. The room was spotless and had plenty of towels & a well stocked tea tray. We had requested early check in but when we arrived the reception staff hadn't been informed. The housekeeping team were amazing and quickly arranged a room that we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LincsLaura
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you LincsLaura for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the housekeeping team looked after you. We do hope you come and visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel room was spotless and very very comfortable I was very surprised there was bottled water in the room toiletries even biscuits in the hospitality tray. The bathroom was perfect the shower preasure was good and plenty of hot water. The bar downstairs was nice and busy we ate there on the evening the food was nice and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl M
lorraine M, Front of Reception. at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Cheryl M. We love it when our guests are pleasantly surprised with our rooms. It is great you enjoyed your stay with us both in our hotel and bar area. We would love to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards.

Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was one of the worst hotels I've ever been too, the duty manager called Simon was so rude on how he tried to sort our problem out what occurred during the night, If I could I would love a refund due to the poor satisfaction we had, I live 45 minutes from them, and they were making me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaronakerss
Hayley R, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for leaving us a review. I would like to clarify the reason why this incident occurred, which you have not mentioned in your review. The room in question was a double room suitable for two people only but someone in your group was caught trying to sneak third person into that room (you I presume). Firstly,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent room, spacious, clean and very comfy, great food and drink in the bar below the hotel, quiet and well placed to expoler chesterfield. friendly staff always available, car parking at the rear is a bonus,

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveb0x
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you daveb0x for taking the time to leave us feedback. We could not be more satisfied you enjoyed your stay with us both in the hotel and bar. The next time you are in the area exploring, we would love to welcome you back. Kind Regards.

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure what I was expecting from pub accommodation but I choose it due to its proximity to my meeting the next day. I was pleasantly surprised. I was given a room on the top floor, steep steps but worth it. Spacious, well appointed and with a large contemporary bathroom with both a shower and bath, albeit the bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Janice D for your kind review. It is great you enjoyed your stay and managed to get a good nights sleep as this is exactly what we aim for. Great advice to reserve a parking space for a fee of £3.50 to avoid disappointment as we only have 10 car spaces and 22 rooms, unfortunately we just don't...

Torrevieja, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a great base to explore the Peak District, a great place to visit for Chesterfield. I have stayed in several Wetherspoons Hotels and this one did not disappoint. A good nights sleep with all the facilities you expect. One niggle is the car park first come first served or by reservation. The website indicates first come, reception booked a place...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatfool
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Fatfool for taking the time to leave us a review. We could not be more pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. We would like to apologise for any confusion regarding the car park. We do hope you visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here Sunday night and it is by far the best wetherspoons hotel I have stayed at , the room was spotless and very large and for £45 it puts some hotels with a much larger price bracket to shame, the super king size bed was very comfortable, downstairs in the pub was lovely with a 5 star hygiene award,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWH1962
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A single room that is small and claustrophobic. Too much stuffed in. Desk cluttered so unable to have space to work without moving be everything. Lighting poor. Main light too low and hit it when undressing. The bed moves across the floor.Receptionist uninspiring gand no one answered phone when I rang. Room far too hot and had to sleep with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
lorraine M, Front of Reception. at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel H for your feedback on our hotel. We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our single rooms are only designed for one person and we are sorry that this room was not big enough for you. We do have extra lighting in the rooms to help with brightness if needed....

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.8 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,332 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
757 reviews
5.8 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
4.1 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
982 reviews
0.7 km away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Price Range: $77 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portland Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Portland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quite a climb up to the second floor.”
tqbrewer, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two we had were fine and presume they are all much of a muchness”
annieisathome, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lift will only take you reception level next floor is stairs”
Graham929, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you need to use a lift, ask for a room on that level”
thesilverfox20, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 106, family room with giant bed and a sofa than could be turned in a bed.”
angie39bolton, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$49* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$49
PricelineUS$49
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates