We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendon Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Glendon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glendon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 305: English reviews
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We stayed for 4 nights for my brothers wedding nearby. Lovely warm welcome, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms. Delicious breakfasts with lots to choose from. We were also very greatful for Adrian and Damien's local knowledge of the nearby trails and runs that are right from the door. After one of our long runs, we returned to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay and family wedding celebration. We are glad you found the trails enjoyable. We were impressed by your early morning runs! If you return to the area it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we had to go again. Very homely with wonderful breakfasts and a superbly comfortable bed. Our visit was a surprise birthday present for my wife and when she realised where were staying she was over the moon. The fine details mean so much. How wonderful. The owners and staff really know how to look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

It is always good to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and particularly when they have stayed before. So thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure having you return and if you are in the area again we hope to see you.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay. The building itself is absolutely beautiful, and stylishly decorated. The guests sitting room was just perfect for the period of the property; there has clearly been a lot of time and thought but into decorating the place. The owners are attentive and unobtrusive. The offer of tea, coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jayce67
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the mattress. IF you had mentioned it when here I certainly would have checked it. However, I checked on your departure and did find it was slightly lower on one side when sitting on the bed. We therefore took the opportunity to replace the bed. We also made an adjustment to...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Just got home from a 2 night stay in the family room with 2 small kids. Can't recommend highly enough! The family room was great as the kids room is through an adjoining door. Was a lovely touch to find lots of lovely books and toys in the family room too! The decor of the room and in fact the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It is always lovely to read such positive feedback from guests and are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are able to return if visiting the area again.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Stayed 23rd -25th Oct.....Absolutely superb....cannot fault it. A warm welcome....with cake and tea. Well positioned (2mins from town) Comfy bed, no noise from other rooms and a wonderful hot power shower. Sitting room also offered a little more internal space. Waiter service at breakfast with cereals and choice of hot dishes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrW18
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed everything at Glendon. The sitting room is lovely to relax, particularly when staying with other guests.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We stayed at Glendon for two nights as a family of two adults and our three year old daughter. Having stayed in other hotels where we had a double bed and single in one big bedroom, we found the family room at Glendon a Godsend. The bunk beds for the children are separated from the main bedroom by a door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The family room works very well when children stay and are glad you found this to be the case. And the pancakes - one of my favourites too. Thank you.

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I would highly recommend glendon guest house. I booked a 2 night break as a surprise birthday present for my husband and wasn't disappointed. We had the most amazing room, very spacious, immaculate, gorgeous decor and the extra touches that just topped it off. To make things just that little bit more special the view from our room was picture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend, particularly as you were celebrating. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back if you are visiting the area again.

Bath
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We were expecting high quality having read the TA reviews. We were not disappointed! Tea and Lemon drizzle cake on arrival were most welcome and Adrian ensured we were comfortable. Our room was very good and we had a good night's sleep in a quiet back room with a view over the park. It had a big shower but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopdocBath
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We are lucky with our position to be so close to local amenities and have the attractions of the area so close. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This is a lovely place and the welcome, hospitality and food were all excellent. Unfortunately, we got almost no sleep and this is an important aspect of a B and B! although we had booked a double room, we were accommodated in the family room and were kept awake all night by the sonorous chimes from the church clock opposite!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mw1504
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are very pleased you think Glendon is lovely, thank you. We want all guests to feel welcome so are pleased to read this. The room you had is both a double room and family room (although the second room where the children’s beds is closed off and separate). We put you in this room as you had originally enquired...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I have spent three wonderful days at Glendon Guest House. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. The décor is superb - reminiscent of Downton Abbey. Adrian and Damian are the perfect hosts, and made me most welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We enjoyed talking to you during your time in Derbyshire visiting friends and it is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed Glendon and the area. You certainly give us something to live up to with your feedback. If you are visiting Derbyshire in the future it would be lovely to welcome you back.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.8 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
356 reviews
2.3 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
213 reviews
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
404 reviews
0.2 km away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
299 reviews
1.0 km away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 51 in Matlock
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: $131 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glendon Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Glendon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We always choose room 3, but room 1 has a four poster, confident that they are all to high standard.”
delkath, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“You will hear the church bells from the guest house so just note this if you are a light sleeper.”
709123, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Query be size. One was a narrow single which is why it rates 4 for rooms not 5.”
JohnGeoffreyM, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are probably quieter with a pretty view of the Church. Room 1 - four poster is lovely.”
895KevinS, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Views to the church at the front, also may be quieter.”
JaneR461, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5