We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverside Lodges

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Riverside Lodges
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Riverside Lodges
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent bank holiday weekend in Rowels lodge and can not fault our stay one bit, upon arrival we was met by Rod who kindly shown us to our lodge, when we asked where he recommended to eat he happily came into the lodge and shown us on the map (which is very helpful & easy to read) we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Roderick S, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. really glad you enjoyed your stay and my recommendations were good. I will let Christines mum know that you loved the Walnut cake. Hope to see you again soon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So glad that we have just had our second trip to Riverside Lodges. So beautiful, relaxing and peaceful, with the added bonus of a hot tub, much appreciated after a day walking in the moors or dales.A lovely friendly welcome from Rod & Christine, not to mention the home made chocolate cake! The lodge is clean, spacious, and very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathmckenzie
Roderick S, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. Dare I ask, I visit number three getting closer!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay again. Hope to see you soon

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Riverside Lodges Ripon - "Fantastic " - we paid for a lodge on the river wonderful in the morning having a coffee then relaxing in the hot tubs in the evening with a glass of wine. For us it had everything we needed - lovely sitting room , dinning area, oven , microwave, storage, and one amazing hot water system...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane r
Roderick S, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, Its a good job you enjoy walking!!!! I agree though as I think Ripon and the local area has so much to offer. I tried the eggs the other day and you can taste the difference. Look forward to seeing you again. Rod

Beauly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Today is our wedding anniversary so the nice welcome from the owner to our lodge here at Ripon has made our first day here great. The Hot Tub is lovely helping you relax :) The lodge is clean and very spacious. Definitely recommended it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimMcClure71
Management response:

So pleased you had a great wedding anniversary and a relaxing time - hope to Welcome you back to Riverside Lodges again very soon.........

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

For 3 years running myself and my husband have stayed at Riverside and every time have not been disappointed. This time we stayed in the Wensleydale overlooking the river. The lodges are superbly appointed, a real home from home. The hot tub is a real treat and was well utilized. Only a 10-15 minute stroll into Ripon. All the cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Management response:

So pleased you had a lovely time staying at Riverside Lodges - and enjoyed the cake!!! Really looking forward to seeing you again very soon........

durham
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Stayed Monday to Friday, perfect relaxing break. Hot Tub was great, Wi-fi, immaculately clean, 10 minute walk into Ripon. Staff were friendly and helpful, we will definitely be returning. Paul & Vicky

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul g
Management response:

Hi Paul & Vicky - so pleased you had a lovely time staying with us at Riverside Lodges - really hoping to seeing you again very soon.......

england
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic 7 days. We had fountains lodge and Uredale. Both 2 bed lodges with 2 shower rooms in each. We have stayed at lots of lodges and these were the best! Amazing hot tubs on fabulous decking and both overlooked the river. Great modern furnishings and very spacious. We had no problem fitting 2 families of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boroladyl
Management response:

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was lovely meeting you all - and so pleased we found your wedding ring - see you very soon!! ..........

Sutton-in-Craven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the wensleydale lodge for 4 nights and couldnt fault it! The lodge was clean, tidy and spacious! With two bedrooms each with a bathroom The outside had a large decking area with a hottub and also a bbq although we didnt use the bbq we never left the hottub!! The lodges are next too each other but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanwan2
Management response:

Really pleased you had a lovely break with us - and enjoyed Ripon - hope to welcome you back to Riverside Lodges very soon .......

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Wensleydale Lodge. It a two bed wood lodge. One double, one twin, both with ensuite showers. Nice layout, good location - overlooks river. Having stayed at many lodges, it in my opinion is at the top end for furniture, layout and location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine512016
Management response:

So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Riverside Lodges and you liked our lodges - do hope to welcome you back very soon......

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The lodges inside are amazing, the website doesn't do them justice! They area they are in wasn't as secluded as expected and they are all really close together however this wasn't an issue as once in the hot tub the high fences give you plenty of privacy. We did however try ringing the number given for assistance numerous times after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
Roderick S, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were unable to contact me during your stay. However the office was open from 9am until 12pm on the Saturday and guests staying in Hornblower, Cathedral and Uredale lodges all managed to get me via email while I was away. We did not receive any more emails from you after the...

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (301)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (236)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
1.0 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
451 reviews
12.4 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
739 reviews
1.0 km away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
365 reviews
19.1 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,495 reviews
12.7 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverside Lodges is a small, exclusive holiday park of 8 lodges nestled on the banks of the River Ure within 10 mins walk of the beautiful, historic cathedral city of Ripon. Wensleydale, Uredale, Studley and Fountains Lodges are situated on the river bank with superb views, individual private hot tubs, each lodge sleeps 4 persons with one double and one twin bedded room both with their own ensuite shower facilities. Set back from the river are Cathedral, Hornblower, Minster and Rowels Lodges. Cathedral is our largest lodge accommodating up to 6 persons in 3 bedrooms, one house bathroom and master bedroom with shower ensuite, private garden area with spacious hot tub allowing guests to relax in private. Hornblower is our pet friendly lodge with enclosed private garden area and hot tub, we pride ourselves in delivering the same high standards of accommodation in our pet friendly lodge as the rest of the park. Hornblower Lodge sleeps up to 4 persons one double and twin bedded bedroom both with shower ensuite facilities. Minster and Rowels Lodges - boast one master bedroom with ensuite facilities - enclosed private area with individual hot tubs for relaxation and privacy for your stay. All the lodges are very spacious have their own barbecue area and are the ideal location for a wonderful quiet relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Lodges

Address: Riverside Lodge Riverside Lodge River View Road, Ripon HG4 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Lodges staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Lodges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Hornblower Lodge which accepts dogs”
cathmckenzie, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The river view cabins are my favourite”
542jackies, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rowels for a couple”
casix, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“On the actual river side.”
LizM-S212, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“River view lodges are lovely”
soniagB6174IG, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5