We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Unicorn

Show Prices
#3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Unicorn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Unicorn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 761: English reviews
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Was warned that there would be noise on a Saturday night But 1.20am when it finally died down from the pub below Room 202 ( family room ) right at the front of the hotel had a lot of damp on the wall above the window but from a cleanliness point of view it was spotless

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrienne1975
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with noise during your stay. We do have strategies in place to try and limit the amount of noise heard by our guests. I'm sorry that on this occasion they were unsuccessful. Due to a previous issue we have had with our roof some of our...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

this was a great place to stay right in the middle of everything, the hotel was lovely and clean and the staff very friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and included tea an coffee facilities. it was a very enjoyable stay.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colette60cyy
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We stayed here for two nights and were checked in very quickly and efficiently. Everything was explained to us. We made our way to the room on the 2nd floor, the room was a family room and was quite big with a huge bathroom. There were tea and coffee, biscuits and one bottle of still and two sparkling water (personally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orangecat26
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us here at The Unicorn. I'm sorry to hear about some of the issues you had. We are in the process of having the rooms redecorated so this room will eventually be completed. We are also looking into a renovation for the downstairs area which will hopefully...

london
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Very clean, modern, comfortable room on the third floor and luckily we could cope with the stairs. Staff friendly and helpful. i would certainly go back as Ripon is a lovely little town. Handy for Fountain Abbey, the racecourse and the cathedral.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frederickaFredericka
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our hotel rooms so I'm glad that you were happy with the standard we provide. Customer service is an important part of our establishment so to hear comments about staff being friendly and helpful is wonderful and let's us know that we are achieving our goals. We are aware that...

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016

very decent hotel for the price.It was sold out on the night we stayed but it was still comfortable,The food was affordable and decent with good service. The receptionist very helpful and overall a pleasant experience.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rightmove59
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Our aim is to provide out customers with the best overall experience in both the hotel and the bar area. From your comments it would seem we have achieved this which is wonderful. Customer service is a vital part of our establishment so it's great to...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Great staff and good value just about redeem the hotel, however the bar and restaurant are dirty and tired looking. Could do with a lift to other floors. Pillows are way too soft to be able to sleep comfortably. I had a stiff neck and back after sleeping on the bed

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank parker_neil
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you were happy with the customer service and also the price you paid for your stay. We work hard to provide our guests with value for money and it would seem we achieved this during your stay which is great. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the standard of the bar...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for 1 night . Situated in centre of town . Could not fault the room ,comfortable bed . Excellent customer service Only one minor problem with cleanliness of the toilet was rectified asap Would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine G
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take great pride in our rooms so it's wonderful to hear that you were happy with the standard we provide. I'm sorry for the issue you had with cleanliness but I'm glad that it was dealt with quickly. I hope that this did not have...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice now. Rooms are lovely, clean & spacious! Comfy beds& quiet surroundings made for a fabulous nights sleep. I'm sure we will go back again! All in all a lovely hotel with a great location and atmosphere. Lovely staff and service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye A
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take pride in the features and facilities in our rooms so it's wonderful to hear such positive comments about the standard we provide. Customer service is a vital part of our establishment and our staff work extremely hard to provide the best possible service. To...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stayed several times at the Unicorn on both business and pleasure trips. Boutique style bedrooms with all the usual facilities including free bottled water. Wetherspoons pub / restaurant on ground floor. Great value for money. Good town centre location.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Bees_Dad
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take great pride in the features and facilities in our bedrooms so I'm glad that you were happy with the standard we provide. Providing our customers with value for money is an important part of our establishment so it's wonderful to read that you were...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stayed for £39 on a Sunday. Wonderful room great value, also across the road at 21:00 the local hornblower turns out to entertain the crowds, with an ancient tradition. Added bonus of cheep food and drink downstairs at wetherspoons

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave1_kirk
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take pride in our hotel rooms so it's wonderful to hear positive comments about them from previous guests. Providing our guests with value for money is an important element of our establishment so it's great to see that you were happy with the price you...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.2 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
435 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
723 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
13.1 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,190 reviews
10.0 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 32 en-suite rooms, a bar and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Price Range: $65 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Unicorn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Unicorn staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Guisborough, United Kingdom

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Unicorn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view of the square”
 of 5 bubbles AlfaRomeaa, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Their is no lift available and a lot of stairs, if you ask for a front of hotel room you will only have one set of stairs to walk up.”
 of 5 bubbles 830lisas, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Back of hotel may be quieter, but front facing rooms have lovely view of market square.”
 of 5 bubbles wendym518, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The third floor could pose a problem for anyone with mobility problems as no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles PeggyB859, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front look out over the Market Place.”
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon
 of 5 bubbles 2014Jandy, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5