We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,036 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,029: English reviews
Start your review of The Mill Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the outside the place looked lovely. However our table was booked for 3.30 and it was nearer 4 before anyone came over to us. We were offered tea or coffee and I had to ask if they did any other fruit teas. I have had numerous other afternoon teas and the better establishments offer a fantastic range of drinks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMLockey
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have noted the points that you have made and we will use this feedback to improve our service in the future.

Mayland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here for a pint on a nice sunny day with our dog. Nice place for a drink with great views across the river. After we finished our drinks we took a stroll down the river with our dog which was nice as the kids had a paddle. Next time I will stop for lunch as the food did look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayland123
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having arrived on Wednesday 11th April. We were told we were on the 2nd floor. No problem but the consiage Michael took our suitcase up. Room adequate. Lovely shower. Cream tea mmmmm. Evening mill good not a huge selection but freshly cooked and hot. Few hiccups but Caroline the sweetest of waitresses sorted and arrange the the general manager to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssugar368
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Mill. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a 2 night stay via travelzoo and requested a room with a view which overlooked the river.not impressed, the walkway to the room was via a glass corridor which was dirty with cracked and chipped glass, the bar area floor could do with a good scrub as it was sticky with spilt drinks. The evening meal was fine as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eli G
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have noted the points that you have made and we will use this feedback to improve our service in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

had a nice weekend stay here for a night out. very grand hotel, great breakfast and clean , modern rooms. short walk to sudbury centre which was ideal as we were meeting friends. helpful staff would defintely stay here again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Mill. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel on secret escapes- £140 for one night including breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea. So, as you can see superb value for money!!! The 3 course dinner was of a good quality and you could have anything from the menu. The hotel was set in a beautiful place too which was ideal for running or walking. Only reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Mill. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bought a voucher for afternoon tea for Mother's Day, and visited the Mill Hotel. Every single member of staff we came across were very helpful and very welcoming, particularly the young woman working in the restaurant last Friday lunchtime (sorry cannot remember her name) but she was lovely! Sandwiches were great, freshly made, scone was lovely, and all the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8496QVsaraha
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Mill. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel situated next to a river and meadow land. It has a characterful feel with the old water wheel situated in the bar behind glass. We however were placed in the annexe across the road but it was nice clean room with good facilities. The small road and car park were slightly noisy but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maskells1
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – I am delighted that you had a good break and have taken your feedback on board

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean hotel in a beautiful setting. Very friendly welcoming staff. Clean comfortable room with all the usual facilities you would expect. Only had breakfast but it was very good an of a standard you would expect of a much larger hotel.Definitely would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Mill. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From sandwiches with hardly any filling and what seemed like the long lasting seven day bread to chewy scones it really wasn't what we had in mind! We had a voucher from friends to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I have to say that if we had of had to pay for our afternoon tea we definitely would have found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoveToFly75
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would really appreciate an opportunity to discuss your experience with you and so I would be grateful if you could me to discuss further. I can be contacted on 01787 375544. Hope to speak to you soon.

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
9.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
30.0 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
21.5 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
492 reviews
10.7 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
22.9 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Millers Brasserie
Cuisines: French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Price Range: $105 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
3 months ago
derbyshire
4 months ago
derbyshire
4 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River views”
elig568, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main hotel may be a better choice for wi fi and convenience.”
Maskells1, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have beautiful views of the common which was painted by Gainsborough.”
Z3629NQchrist, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 34 , lovely views overlooking the waters & meadows”
snoopy92, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth upgrading to a corner suite”
apatish3, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5