We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 953: English reviews
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I spent one day at The Mill Hotel, Sudbury to celebrate my wife's birthday. We arrived to a lovely 'cream tea'. During the evening we enjoyed an enjoyable dinner. Our room overlooked the river and was spacious with all of the usual comforts of a 4 star hotel. Next morning we a wonderful breakfast. It was our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were on a Groupon break with dinner included as well as cream tea and from the moment we entered to the time that we left we loved every minute. The staff were superb - friendly and efficient - the food was excellent and the room was warm, comfortable, containing traces of the original timbers, and overlooked the pond. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night on a Groupon deal and couldn't have had a much better time. We arrived half an hour early for check in but that wasn't a problem as we were ushered through with our cream tea voucher early. It was gorgeous! Lovely warmed scones which tasted delicious. Our room overlooked the pond and was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyDavidCox
London(ish), England
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel looks and was lovely and welcoming, a shame we were put in a minuscule room in a separate house in the carpark down the road (and there was no reflection of this in the price) The lighting in the room was so cold it was almost blue and dim - like moonlight - not enough to put makeup...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geocacher1973
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very nice hotel with very friendly staff. However in my and all my friends' rooms the quality of the pillows were really and rather surprisingly poor. It needs to provide better pillows. Breakfast is great and the bar is nice. I would return particularly if they invested in better pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
Ashford Kent
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Mill Hotel over the New Year period. We have stayed here before but thought we'd like to experience something different. We were looked after straight away, we had chosen our room on the very top floor ( which you have to walk to as there are no lifts) The view is amazing, the food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to looking after you again in 2017!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for a late lunch with family. We were very well treated . My elderly parents and our teenagers and young adults were all very pleased about the food. The interior is really lovely and the views from the restaurant breathtaking. I would go again. Often if I lived close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarina. W
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit.

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times. Last visit was with friends,three other couples.The food was excellent and our rooms comfortable. Excellent value, we had purchased a deal through Travelzoo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeBurg
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again in 2017

Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this for our 10 years together for New Years Eve and we really weren't disappointed! The hotel is in a lovely location with great walks the morning after you've had a bit too much to drink, not before helping yourself to the breakfast which was all laid out in the restaurant. The gala dinner was lovely, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnM1982
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am really pleased to hear that you had a good New Years Eve celebration and I am glad that we got the venison right in the end. Hopefully, see you next year!

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a night at the Mill Hotel for our wedding anniversary and were certainly not disappointed. We paid extra for a superior double room which was well worth it as the room was spacious with lovely views over the river. The staff were very welcoming from the moment of our arrival at reception and could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPearey
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again in 2017

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
9.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
30.0 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
22.9 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
909 reviews
27.4 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
4.6 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Millers Brasserie
Cuisines: French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Price Range: $77 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
2 days ago
derbyshire
1 month ago
derbyshire
1 month ago
london
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no lifts at this hotel, therefore if you have mobility issues then ensure you book a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles trevorw721, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The main building is where the best views are.”
 of 5 bubbles 843tracyw843, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior room with river views”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewPearey, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Looking over the river would be best”
 of 5 bubbles 329petef, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Probably try to stay in the main hotel rather than the annex.”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeC0, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay