We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges North Sydney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges North Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 791: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I stayed here on a recent business trip and could not believe how bad this place was. The rooms and common areas have not had a cent spent on them since the late 1980s. The décor resembled a nursing home - you would die waiting for the lifts and the air conditioning just doesn't work. I have had better breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unimog2014
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Unimog2014, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the facilities of the room. Whilst we are aware the hotel is a bit dated we as...

Shellharbour, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

When We had checked in we asked where the parking was & the receptionist said parking was an extra $35 a night , would of been nice to know prior . I walked into our room as I walked past the bathroom I got a drip of water on the back of my head . It was coming from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonia G
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Tonia G, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Location of the hotel is in the business district of North Sydney - Perfect for business travelers On arriving at the hotel at 6:30am from Sydney Airport after taking the Red-Eye from Perth, we were given a room on the lower floors. All I can say is, it was as though the cleaners just hadn't even bothered. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 572Chris247
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 572Chris247, Thank you for your kind remarks about Rydges North Sydney, we do enjoy quite a central location here in North Sydney, with great access to public transport which provides easy access to the city and North Shore. Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2015

The room was quite dark and very tired looking. The lifts are incredibly slow. Breakfast was good, but it would've been nice to have a wider range of healthier breakfast cereals, eg oats. They charge a merchant fee if you want to pay by credit card, which is outrageous these days. Overall, it wasn't good value for money, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidJohnston-Bell
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DavidJohnston-Bell, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rydges North Sydney. I was disappointed to hear that there were numerous factors which caused dissatisfaction throughout your stay. As with an older style hotel there are areas for improvement and we are in the process of looking into refurbishment. I do appreciate your...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2015

For different reasons, my four daughters and I travelled to Sydney and stayed one night at a different (3/4 star) hotel, then the second night at Rydges North Sydney. After booking I read so many reviews saying how terrible it was and was quite dismayed! I have to say... I was not only pleasantly surprised, I was elated. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer H, Thank you for your kind remarks about Rydges North Sydney, we do enjoy quite a central location here in North Sydney, with great access to public transport which provides easy access to the city and North Shore. Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Room was located on the 12th floor with a view of the harbour which was very pleasant. Very disappointed with the water pressure from the shower, it was non-existant and at one point couldn't even get hot water to come out of the shower! The room was clean and spacious. The air con worked great. Staff were friendly and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahanth
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sarahanth, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. I have passed along your feedback for the breakfast to our executive head chef, it's feedback like...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

My room was clean, but a little dated. It was the location that attracted me to the property. I ordered room service, which was also expensive and not of the quality I would expect for the price. However, it was clean, there was free wifi and it was within walking distance of where I needed to be.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann R
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jo-Ann R, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney,we do enjoy quite a central location here in North Sydney, with great access to public transport which provides easy access to the city and North Shore. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 31 October 2015

This hotel has been around for a long time and with of some face lifts from time to time remains an old type of hotel in respect of room faculties. But that is the only downside. Otherwise the service at all levels is very professional. Morning breakfast Chef does a great job with getting the bacon and baked beens right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank verick
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear verick, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We strive to provide a really high level of service and guest satisfaction. I was extremely pleased to read your comments about our pleasant staff. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services and facilities. I am eagerly waiting...

Chiltern, Victoria
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Good location (unless your driving prepare for tolls in and out of the city if you are), room was fine bathroom could do with an update but in good location staff were friendly enough, lobby and downstairs quite nice, but really bathrooms need to be updated, also shower not for tall people!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stepho42
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear stepho42, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. I agree that the Hotel is a little dated but it is my pleasure to announce that...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The hotel was in a quiet location get very close to everything in the city. Staff were excellent and the value of the zoo package was outstanding. I would recommend this to anyone. We found the room to be very comfortable and staff were lovely in answering every question that we had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
Farhana J, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Vicki D, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. I am eagerly waiting to welcome you back to the Hotel in the Near Future. Kind...

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Sydney
197 reviews
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
364 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: $169 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd say don't stay here”
danniv2015, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Views from our room 1014 are exceptional.”
kalyngra, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are better hotels in this (or cheaper) price bracket in this area”
Ozjon, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
NZL_Carl, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For family travellers the 2 bed apartments have plenty of room but are very basic.”
BC1123, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5