We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Reef Gateway Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Reef Gateway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Reef Gateway Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went there on 25th December, we got charged one more time even we had paid with travel agent. Receptionist said incase we are not turning up. That's why we pay upfront before we came. What if people were using that amount of money for their spending for this trip. Why we came there then got charged twice and gotta...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCen
ReefGateway, RECEPTION SUPERVISOR at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. That is unfortunate you were charged 2 times for your accommodation, having paid a travel agent in full for your trip, before you had arrived. This could have been rectified before you had arrived if your Travel Agent advised us of the payment you had made and passed on the information to us to be...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been twice in a month as the $20 meals with salad and dessert bar are the best value! The food was delicious and the atmosphere is so much better than it used to be! This will be our new local. Thankyou.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeckyL1986
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Big clean rooms, comfortable beds, well appointed and convenient location. I have stayed there a several times know and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The Bistro also offers a good range of food and service is great. Keep it up guys & I'll keep coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Geoff thanks for the great review and feedback. Much appreciated. Glad to hear we are meeting expectations. Regards Mark Wilkins (marketing & promotions)

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Did an overnight stay here and felt the accommodation rate was reasonable for what we got. Would like to recommend an overhaul of the tired bathrooms, but this in no way detracts from the comfort of the room. In fact the queen bed was the best I had slept on in years. The restaurant was busy but meals were getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 20Degrees
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking time to review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The entire venue has just started a major renovation so stay tuned for further improvements. Thanks again. Mark Wilkins (Marketing & Promotions)

Mackay Region, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Stayed in an upstairs room - large, well appointed, very clean room. Comfortable queen beds, excellent bathroom amenities. Tea/coffee/kettle/cups and small fridge with milk, glasses and filled cold water jug. Friendly staff. Undercover parking. Free wifi. Some background noise while restaurant was operating but nothing the aircon/tv couldn't minimise, it did smell delicious. Some faint traffic noise but again not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarinapixietraveller
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarina, thanks for the great review and feedback. Hope you stay with us again soon! Regards Mark Wilkins (marketing & promotions)

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

16 ladies stayed 2 nights. All ladies were very happy and had no complaints. Ate at bistro 2 nights great food quick with multiple orders. All rooms very clean, beds super comfortable, all ladies very happy. Road noise not a issue with air con on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thanks for the positive review. We are undergoing some improvements at the moment so hopefully we will be even better next time you visit! Regards Mark Wilkins

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This is not the room we seen on the site very old room and paint coming off from wall bathroom is not looking good not happy and i feel like i wanna refund 😭😭😭 won't recommend to any of my friend. .....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Taylor thanks for the feedback. Not sure which room you were in as room quality isn't usually an issue however we are renovating and fixing rooms currently. Did you address your concerns with particular room with front office? Im sure they would have been happy to move you. Which room were you in? Any further response here appreciated so...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Worst Sleep I've experienced ever after 11 yrs of shift work. Currently on nightshift 6 of us were woken at 7:40 by a leaf blower ( Thank you to the lady whom reminded him of nightshifters sleeping there) however at 11:40 after just falling back to sleep the leaf blower and a jackhammer started to go to work.... I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7998NYrichardm
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and our sincerest apologies in regard to this matter. Yes the venue is currently undergoing some renovations and maintenance. The tradesman have been notified of your complaint and we apologise it wasn't addressed sooner. Im told the jack hammer work has been completed so no more noise in regards to that. In future we will...

Brisbane
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Room 12 has a very noisy bar fridge, moans and groans all night long. The hotel was full both nights I stayed so I didnt ask for a room change. (School holidays) Room itself was large and comfortable. But view from window looks out onto an outside bar area, so can't leave curtain open as no privacy. Shower screen mouldy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dingo_joe
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Joe. The issues you have raised regarding room 12 have been addressed and fixed. We apologise for any inconvenience in respect to this matter. Generally the wi-fi is very good but recently there have been issues with the provider which is beyond our control. We will continue to monitor but generally there should be no problems....

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Look this place has a great eating area and three bars. The lounge and gaming areas are close but nut to close. Its worthwhile having a meal there. Friday afternoon and the Sunday session are full of local, and they are colorful. The smoking area is right at the front of the public bar and this to me is always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the business John. We appreciate the kind words and feedback. The venue is about to undergo some renovations so hopefully this fixes some of the issue you mention with Public bars smoking etc. We hope you visit again soon. Regards Mark Wilkins

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonvale
4.6 km away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
432 reviews
3.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
379 reviews
4.7 km away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
2.2 km away
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
#4 of 14 in Airlie Beach
97 reviews
4.4 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Hotel

Address: 38 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Price Range: $99 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Reef Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Gateway Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi useless when using my ipad - avoid room 12 noisy fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles dingo_joe, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe bring some cereal and fruit with you for breakfast, or go up the road to Airlie Beach for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles simonmH6472NG, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cab was under $20 in the evening or bus stop outside establishment”
 of 5 bubbles LouL409, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was a great location....short walk to bistro/bar.”
 of 5 bubbles CORCO55, 30 Aug 2013 | Read review
4 of 4