Steamboat Mountain Chalets

Steamboat Mountain Chalets

5011 Beaverfoot St, Spillimacheen, British Columbia V0A 1P0 Canada
Cabin 4
Traveller (11)
Front of the Cabin
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Spillimacheen
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware

Location

5011 Beaverfoot St, Spillimacheen, British Columbia V0A 1P0 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Castlegar Airport
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
25Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Familyfun4_6 wrote a review Aug 2006
Tel Aviv, Israel62 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The cabin was nice and cosy and clean. Barbara, the owner, provided excellent service, even letting us use her washing machine after we had a very muddy day hiking.

It's a great location if you are going to Radium Hot Springs, rafting on the Kootenay, hiking in the area or even when driving from Kootenay to YoHo parks.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CalgaryCalGal wrote a review Jan 2010
Calgary1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Brother his family and my husband and i spent our New Years at these cabin in the Columbia Valley. The cabins are just a little off the highway between Radium and Golden and were easy to find.. There close ness to ski both at kicking horse, fairmount and panorama allowed my family to ski all three hills while we were there. We also enjoyed snow mobiling on a mountain just mins away. I enjoyed the mountain view just out my cabin window. The pet friendly attmosphere was a definate draw., I have a large dog which often is not welcome most places, so we don't usually stay in hotels etc and just usually camp. The fireworks on new years around the group firepit was also a highlight and a chance to meet and visit with new people.. I enjoyed the quiet setting removed from the busy life at home. The store about 10 mins away was very friendly and helpful and quite reasonable priced. The Moose we saw along the highway and the many deer show the abundant wildlife in the area. Our trip to fairmount hot springs was enjoyable and a beutiful scenic drive. The rooms were clean and well stocked and could have held more people. The owners son helped another guest with his vehicle troubles and was very helpful. It was a great experience all around.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdmTraveller101 wrote a review May 2009
Edmonton, AB, Canada152 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Steamboat Mountain Chalets in April 2009. I booked directly with the property and took advantage of one of their specials of a free night when you stayed 2 nights there. Upon check in, the owner was great and provided alot of information about the place and where to go if anything was needed.
I stayed in a one bedroom cabin which was more than big enough and would have been even fine for up to 4 people easily. The cabin itself was well set up and had most of the amenities you would need for quite awhile. While there, the weather was not the greatest, so the fireplace in the evenings was great. The cabin had a TV/VCR and also included sattelite television as well. While there I also took advantage of renting their soft tub/hot tub which was set up on my deck and ready to go when I arrived. The evenings in the hot tub were also fantastic when the skies were clear!
The location of the the cabins themselves are right off the highway, so there is some traffic and a train that runs through the area regularly, but if you're okay with that, then I would recommend this place. Although there really isn't alot around for shopping, etc, it is only about 20 minutes or so outside of Radium, and there is a general store which stocks everuthing about 5 minutes away.
I originally booked the cabin as they were a "pet friendly" lodging, however, the peace and quiet is also great if that is what you're looking for in a cabin!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Jan 27, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review.. Positive feedback is always appreciated, and it makes me feel good when guests enjoy my little piece of heaven as much as I do. Barb
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margit S wrote a review Oct 2014
Calgary1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WE drove by there every summer, hoping that they would clean up the place so that it wouldn't be so embarrassing to stay there, but with each year the place just get dumpier and dumpier. The junk yard of cars completely distracts from the place, and some of the cabins are starting to look pretty run down and in bad need of repair. The yard is messy and very untidy, and has become very unattractive. We wanted to take a wedding party out there, but not a chance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Jan 18, 2015
We have had weddings take place right here in our large inner yard. The guests were very, very happy. They had a wonderful time because they were able to have an intimate family gathering, renting out all of the cabins, moving picnic tables, barbeques, etc. to please their needs. If you have never even been inside any of the cabins, I don't understand how you can give me such a negative review. I have lots of guests who absolutely love my location and the amenities inside the cabins. Most of my guests are return customers, who like to refer my cabins to their friends and family. Several people, who have actually stayed here, have given me very positive reviews. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and if we choose to look at the beauty of nature ( not necessarily our neighbours property) we have a gorgeous mountain right in our backyard, we are across from one of the largest wetlands in North America and the mighty Columbia River. It is very scenic and absolutely awesome. Come and enjoy my beautiful, rustic cabins.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dl R wrote a review Mar 2013
Calgary, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Steamboat Chalets in 2012 and were very disappointed! The cabins themselves were okay, but the surrounding area is like a dump site. There are a lot of old vehicles and other various junk on the grounds. There is nothing to do in the immediate area, as most of the surrounding property is private. We tried driving around the area and many roads are logging roads with the constant fear of a large logging truck coming around a corner at any time! (And they fly!) The cabins and grounds are in need of refurbishing and general tidying up! You are much better off to spend a little more $$ and stay in Radium!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Oct 2, 2013
We are in a valley between 2 mountain ranges. We have a mountain right in our backyard. You can sit in the middle of our large inner yard, and enjoy several picturesque views. My mom says what we offer is serenity. We are across from the Columbia River ( great for canoeing and kayaking) and the wetlands, one of the largest in North America. There are 14 golf courses within an hours drive, horse-back riding, hidden lakes for great fishing, local swimming hole? we are half way between Kicking Horse and Panorama if you're into skiing or snowboarding. There are 5 snowmobile areas between Radium and Golden. I like to just go for a nice leisurely walk, across the highway, on a gravel road ( yes ) and watch the level of the water change daily. Maybe spot some wildlife, like eagles, blue heron, osprey, beavers, deer, bears etc... Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. There are quite a few old vehicles ( I love them ) ( some people hate them) near by. You can't actually see the cabins from the highway, we are about 100 feet off the road, and behind a closed down shop with lots of collector cars, trucks etc... From our inner yard, you can see mountains, cabins, buildings, bee hives, café, flower gardens etc. Some guests come just to relax.. others are very actively fishing, golfing, canoeing, skiing etc... Everybody likes something different.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim-_-_Jim99 wrote a review Sep 2016
Saint Paul, Minnesota9 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this cabin because it was not real expensive and had a hot tub as described in text and pictures. There is no hot tub. While we booked thru Booking.com, TripAdvisor also has incorrect text and pictures. Great wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Expect adjacent junk cars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Jan 1, 2017
When this guest arrived, I apologized about the hot tub and gave the following explanation... If you read all of the details about Steamboat Mtn. Chalets, you would have found it states that a hot tub rental is minimum 2 days, and must be booked in advance. This guest only stayed 1 night ( and arrived the same day he booked ) and expected a hot tub to be set up. My prices are extremely reasonable, he paid $80.00 for a cute little cabin for 1 night, and although there is a picture of a hot tub on my website, it never states it is included in a cabin rental. (The charge for a hot tub was either $50.00 / night or $80.00 / night.. minimum 2 night rental) I was never contacted to book a hot tub.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lydia P wrote a review Sep 2014
Calgary, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The cabins are always our vacation spot, we love going there. We try to go up every year. Barb is so welcoming and helpful and goes above and beyond to make your experience fun and comfortable. We always have a great time, we build fires in the fire pit and we play games in the field, lots to do, very cute and quite. A perfect place to go, the kids and dog always enjoy it too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Jan 18, 2015
Thank you for the terrific review. It is always good to see return guests. I believe you've been coming here for long weekends, and or your week's holiday for about 6 years, and it's amazing to see how much your kids grow each year. See you again soon. Barb
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rayman261 wrote a review Sep 2017
Near Bath24 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at about 17:15hrs after driving from Calgary tired and hungry. We met the owner, Barbara, who was very friendly and welcoming. She pointed us next door but one, 100 yards away, for dinning at Spilli Station Cafe. We went straight there. What a treasure, run by two ladies offering home made food, which was delicious. They couldn't do enough for us, they were so friendly and helpful. They have only been running the cafe for less than a year, so give them your support, it's worth it, both ways! They certainly deserve to flourish.
It is closed Monday/Tuesday and closes most days at 19:00hrs, including Sunday!
We then went to look for our cabin. When you turn off the main road the cabins are only about 90-100 yards up the track.
Be prepared for a little bit of an eyesore before you reach them! Between the main road and the cabins is a car scrap yard, at least the cars are not stacked on top of each other. However it is a little unsightly, but hey, you're in the back-country now, so don't let it put you off.
We had a simple basic cabin, it's a bit "rustic", very clean and tidy. One large bedroom and separate bathroom, with a shower. There is no kitchen sink because there is no kitchen! It' a cabin! We had a TV and good wifi connection. There were only 2 mugs to use for drinking, so it served for coffee, tea, and wine! The cutlery is on short supply too. There was a small fridge, coffee maker (and coffee provided by Barbara) and a micro-wave. We also had a small table and two chairs to sit down on. The bed was fantastic, so comfy! We slept well as we heard very little road noise.
You will hear the klaxon sounding on the freight train, roundabout 08:15hrs. Strangely you don't hear the clatter of the wheels which is good, as we counted the wagons the previous evening and there were 155 of them, plus a diesel engine at the front, one at the rear and one in the middle! The sound of the klaxon is however not unpleasant, in a way it's quite a comforting sound.
The view from the cabin door is stupendous, the whole mountain running left to right, is right in your face. It is truly a beautiful setting. There are plenty of outdoor tables and chairs available to use.
It may be a bit basic for some people but it was clean, tidy, with the most fantastic setting (you can't see the scrap yard from the front of the cabins). Our yardstick is: would we stay here again? For the price, unequivocally YES!
Ray & Mags.
UK.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Sep 28, 2017
As you may say in Great Britain... Spot on review...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zabella10265 wrote a review Jul 2017
Calgary, Canada18 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were canoeing the Columbia River wetlands and needed a place close to the river to stay in Spillimacheen. Spillimacheen is pretty tiny, and Steamboat Mountain Chalets is pretty much the only choice here. The cabins are tiny and old but clean, cheap and fairly comfortable. We learned from one of the locals that they are historical cabins that were used in the early 1900's by families ice fishing on the river, and used to be moved around on skids as needed. They are unfortunately situated behind a messy antique auto graveyard (which is however pretty cool for photos) which detracts from the place. It is family friendly and has BBQs and a trampoline in the common area. The yard is full of kitschy statues and solar lights, like owls with glow-in-the-dark eyes. The owner is on-site and is friendly and helpful. It is next to the Spilli Cafe, which is open seasonally and has lovely food, desserts and iced coffees.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Aug 6, 2017
Over the years, I have had quite a few people arrange to stay here overnight, while canoeing the Columbia River. I also rent canoes, and have shuttled guests, so they can enjoy a day of paddling downstream. Yes, the cabins are very old ( 60 - 100 years ) and small, but comfortable with modern amenities. I like to offer affordable rentals, and have guests return. There are lots of collectable vehicles on nearby lots, which people do seem to enjoy taking pictures of, and just stopping to view.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenery16 wrote a review Oct 2016
Calgary, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would never again stay here. It was dirty at least the one we stayed in (last one I think #6) maybe the other ones were cleaner. I don't know the last time someone had done a good cleaning in this place we seen so many dead bugs on the floor and seen a mouse. I had to buy some Lysol wipes to disinfect and clean the floors bathroom and counters. My dog got very sick during our stay. Also didn't like the mess of cars in the area.... The only positive things I can say are that I really liked the scenery and enjoyed going to the cafe and honey shop.
Next vacation I will spend more money or spend the same amount but stay less days in a different place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barb M, Owner at Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Responded Jan 2, 2017
I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Actually, cabins 5, 6 and 7 are no longer part of Steamboat Mtn. Chalets. There are multiple owners, and although I used to manage these cabins, I haven't for over a year. The owners have taken over cleaning and maintenance of their own cabins, and unfortunately it doesn't bode well for me, if you think their cabins are still part of my business. I really don't know what name they use to rent out their cabins, but hopefully they will disassociate themselves from my company. I pride myself of keeping the cabins I rent out ( cabins 2, 3 and 4 ) very clean. I keep my prices very reasonable, and have lots of very good reviews, when based on my cabins.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trail769746 asked a question May 2021
Banff, Canada22 contributions27 helpful votes
Do you have a sauna?
Domenic M wrote a tip Aug 2017
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose cabin 4, 3, or 2"
Read full review
Jim-_-_Jim99 wrote a tip Sep 2016
Saint Paul, Minnesota9 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect adjacent junk cars"
Read full review
kendrafitzrandolph wrote a tip Aug 2016
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room away from the neighbouring site. ask about kitchen supplies"
Read full review
pamelaleighstewart wrote a tip Aug 2016
Edmonton, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabins farther back from the road aren't close to the junkyard."
Read full review
Dl R wrote a tip Mar 2013
Calgary, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Spillimacheen area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesSpillimacheen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Steamboat Mountain Chalets - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Which popular attractions are close to Steamboat Mountain Chalets?
Nearby attractions include Beeland (0.05 km) and Bugaboo Falls (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Steamboat Mountain Chalets?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
What food & drink options are available at Steamboat Mountain Chalets?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Steamboat Mountain Chalets?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Steamboat Mountain Chalets?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.