We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.


04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Driftwood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
so cal
Reviewed 5 October 2008

i am conflicted about writing my review for my stay at the driftwood house. peter and his wife are very nice hosts, the house was new, modern and clean. after showing us our room in the front of the house, we asked it there was something in the back, off the main street. we took a room with a smaller...

5Thank ob23
south carolina
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We were very satisfied with our 2 day stay at Driftwood. We echo the other posters in their description - contemporary, clean, adequate size room, made to order breakfasts (highlighted by Peter's pancakes). It is about a 10 min walk to delightful Kenmare. Peter is willing to answer any questions - but you have to ask. His style is to...

2Thank hhislim
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This B&B was delightful. Immaculate rooms, excellent breakfasts, conveniently located, and our hosts were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our group. We are thankful for their exceptional hospitality and good advice on travel routes. A most enjoyable stay!

Thank Traden
North Wales
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Stayed at this beautiful B & B for 3 nights. Everything was perfect. The rooms are spotless, lovely bedlinens, good showers etc. Peter and Mignonne are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. They will advise on the best places to see etc. The breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and include scambled eggs with smoked salmon and pancakes...

Thank Globeranger
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We had made reservations at Driftwood for our recent visit to Ireland in July. I was looking forward to our stay due to the many positive comments on this website. Peter seemed very nice and the place looked beautiful. Unfortunately, we had to cancel because we had gotten lost and knew we were going to be able to make it....

1Thank kcjones123
ackerKentUk, Owner at Driftwood, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt that you had been charged incorrectly. Our cancellation policy that was an attachment was quite clear regarding cancellations and accepted by you when the credit card details were given. Telephoning the night before without any reason for cancellation gave us only a small chance to fill the room with other guests. You were advised...

West of Ireland
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Stayed here last June and found the hosts very helpful and informative. Lovely room but very noisey due to road traffic and nearby neigbour's children. Nice room and beautiful breakfast.

1Thank lovelylass58
Spennymoor, County Durham
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This comes close to the top of our best B&B list! Spotlessly clean & contemporary with a relaxing atmosphere complemented by the warmth of the welcome from Peter & Mignonne. The bedroom was dressed immaculately with white bedding and drapes and the bathroom was modern and very, very clean. I always say I begrudge paying to stay somewhere that isn't...

Thank k1200ltgeorge
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Booked this B and B after reading previous reviews on trip advisor, We stayed 3 nights which we found to be ideal to cover the beara and ring of kerry. The room which we stayed in was top quality, brilliant shower, spotlessly clean and everything we would want and more!!. The building is very well kept by Peter and Mignonne...

Thank fitzSurrey
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Driftwood is situated about 1klm out of town on the main road and it is pleasant walk into town. The house is relatively new and is very comfortable. Our rear room on the first floor overlooked the golf course and mountains. The bed was very comfotable with two single doonas. The ensuite was perfect except for the smallish bath towels....

Thank Aussie_on_the_move
North East Eangland
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed with Peter and Mignonne for one night in Kenmare and we were absolutely delighted with everything. In fact we wished we had stayed all our four days in Kerry there. I could not make any criticism and if we return to Kerry we won't even look elsewhere. Its clean, beautifully decorated and furnished, comfortable, friendly, wonderful shower and...

Thank Galleryman

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (56)
Room/Suite (16)
View from Room (10)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (3)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
View from Room (1)
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.2 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
903 reviews
0.4 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 60 in Kenmare
208 reviews
0.7 km away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#6 of 60 in Kenmare
350 reviews
0.0 km away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Driftwood

Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Driftwood 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Driftwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Driftwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We took the whole top floor and all rooms were great. There is a balcony to sit on in back but we were on the go and never used it.”
elleng310, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We looked at all rooms as it was really quiet, they were all very good and there was also an apartment available to rent for short stays.”
au-fait-with-bali, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“They are all good”
Mapleleaftshirt, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Any of the rooms upstairs are very good. Also the appartment is very comfortable and private.”
InezMahony, 18 Aug 2014 | Read review
“I am not sure if the 2 rooms in the back are larger and more quiet.”
sherrieseg, 22 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates