We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Waterside House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waterside House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 562: English reviews
Start your review of The Waterside House Hotel
 Click to rate
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

well got there girl couldn't find booking finally got room at ten 0 clock in the evening .Girls on reception were lovely manager on the other hand needed lessons in manners very rude food was lovely room were wedding held was fab the bedrooms when finally got in it was dirty outdated in bad need of renovations.only thing got going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisabrowne352
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello lisabrowne352 Thank-you for taking the time to submit your comments. I am pleased to read that enjoyed the wedding here and the views out to sea. I do understand that there was some confusion on your reservations and you have been speaking with another member of our management team. Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back...

Reviewed 1 week ago

To start off when we arrived we were told that we had no booking even though we had email confirmation on are phs told to wait in bar until it was sorted. 2 hrs later hotel receptionist finally came to find us they had sorted a lovely view room for us & that are meal had been upgraded to samphire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Elizabeth G, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments. I do apologise for any confusion with regard to your reservation with us here at the hotel. Our Samphire Restaurant, with views across to Lambay Island, opens for Dinner on Friday & Saturday and Sunday lunch as detailed on our website. We are planning a refurbishment of the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to the hotel Friday evening. Our plan was to have a nice, relaxing evening with dinner here, a walk at the beach and return home refreshed. We were greeted by friendly staff on our arrival. We got a good old fashioned metal key to our room. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy, with worn but lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Daniel P, Many thanks for your concise review of the hotel from your recent stay. There is no excuse for not having the correct stopper in the bath-tub and I do apologise about the mix-up regarding the bottle of Prosecco. It is evident that we do need to 'up our game' with certain aspects of the hotel and we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing, very poor service....shouldn't have bothered. Girl was very polite but just too bust in the bar. View is amazing. Food was OK. Wouldn't be bothered going back. Left for an hr with one tiny cup of tea! Not what afternoon tea should be like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zarazu1
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Zarazu1, Thank-you for taking the time to submit your review after having Afternoon Tea with us here at Waterside House Hotel. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed, but please feel rest assured that we are reviewing our complete offering and I do hope we will see you return and experience our amazing view. If you do...

Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can see why this would be The Place to be in the summer. We were there on a very windy and rainy night, but the view from our room was still fab. The doors are quite unique however and closing them can be a challenge - there was a chorus of slamming up and down the hall at bedtime....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Annie C, Many thanks for your 'Super Cute' review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at Waterside House Hotel. Come rain or shine, we are very fortunate with our views across to Lambay Island and Howth Head. Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We bought had afternoon tea here last Sunday and were very disappointed with what we were served. Sandwiches were small burger buns with ham and cheese filling, and 2 small pieces of crostini with a cheese topping. We got four scones but no other cake. 4 cookies and some very small dessert cakes and a very small glass of sparkling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roisin M
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Roisin M, Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I am sorry that we left you disappointed after you joined us for afternoon tea here at Waterside House Hotel. If you could contact us directly at info@watersidehousehotel.ie we will arrange something to make it up to you.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel needs a few million spent on it, the bar area just looks un kept, old furniture, dirty. Staff don't seem to have any pride in the place. Food mediocre at best. Rooms dated. We were there for a wedding and enjoyed it very much, but the venue was a big let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank padraigboylan666
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello padraigboylan666 Thank-you for taking the time to submit a review. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the wedding here at the hotel and our fantastic location. You will also be pleased to learn that there are plans to refurbish the hotel so hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back.

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location for this hotel and the staff fabulous but the hotel itself needs work. The bedroom we had was clean but needed painting as did most of the public areas and quite a few of the toilet doors hadn't locks on them. Our evening meal was delicious and the next morning at breakfast we noticed a couple in their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma M
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Norma M, Many thanks for taking the time to submit your comments. We receive many comments about our good food - I am glad to add yours to our list! Regarding a 'revamp', we do have plans, so please do stay tuned and hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back to our beach location.

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

What can I say this hotel has one of the best views in the world. The breakfast and dinner we had were superb. The only thing that let it down was it needs a makeover. The hotel is a great link if you don't want to stay in Dublin City centre or if your on a shopping trip. Close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THE-DOWN-CLAN
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello THE-DOWn-CLAN Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I am glad you thought our Breakfast & Dinner were 'superb' - we think so too and always enjoy the freshly prepared food served from our kitchen. There currently are plans regarding a makeover, so please watch this space and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We couldn't believe how downhill The Waterfront has gone since our last visit about 18 months ago. The location of this hotel is fantastic & im sure it could be upgraded to a quirky boutique style hotel which would draw many new customers. Sadly, the location is about the only positive it has right now. The bed was comfortable, however...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunnygirl1969

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
3.8 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,435 reviews
5.6 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.8 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,529 reviews
15.2 km away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
739 reviews
10.6 km away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Price Range: $91 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterside House Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterside House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing room a must.”
 of 5 bubbles padraigboylan666, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles THE-DOWN-CLAN, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balcony rooms! Pay the extra tarif for the views!”
 of 5 bubbles Dellie72, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get an ocean facing room and preferably one with a balcony.”
  • Jacuzzi tub in the mirror.
 of 5 bubbles OdellPeeps, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Well worth paying the extra for a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles Lorief, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5