We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barnabrow Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barnabrow Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barnabrow Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I thought I'd seen it all until I stayed in one of Barnabrow's self-catered cottages for a week. It started with a broken cooker which was replaced with one that one 1 working gas ring, no working grill and only one working oven so self-catering turned in to having to eat out more than we would have liked. The whole...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leah D
geraldine k, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review

First of all let me say how sorry I am that you were not happy with your stay in the cottage last week. I have checked with the staff here and nobody was aware of any complaints because it is our policy to deal with any problems that arise immediately. We were so surprised to read your review for a...

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Was a guest at a wedding and from the greeting at reception to the morning after breakfast, hospitality was number 1 on their list. Food was amazing, beautiful use of locally sourced meats and ingredients! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redcop
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was here for a wedding and stayed in one of the rooms near the barn. The room itself was so pretty. But the special touches were so thoughtful. Barnabrow as a wedding venue has to be the most ideal I've been to. Much more picturesque than 5* hotels. The food was first class also. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank loco87
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I went to a wedding here and found it to be a great venue. The cottages are huge and perfect for a large wedding where everyone wants a chance to actually see each other and hang out for a few days. The staff were kind and helpful, the main venue and late rooms for the wedding were fitting and flexible,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lee J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We recently got married at Barnabrow in the middle of February during a hurricane. It was fantastic! We had the use of the venue a couple of days before to set up our own additions and the staff were so accomodating and helpful as well as being very laid back and letting us get on with things. They set the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bjornflanders
Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here recently for a family wedding at Ballymaloe and the location is outstanding. Sweeping views of the countryside are few and far between these days and it was pleasant to see the Cork landscape from our top floor room. The beds are extremely comfortable with a very old world feel. This is true for the rest of the house...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank macnof
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 January 2014

On Sunday the 25th of August 2013, 90 family and friends from home and abroad enjoyed a magical drinks reception on the decking with views of Ballycotton Lighthouse in the distance. Followed by a sumptuous food to share meal a new concept at Barnabrow, everyone raved and is still raving about the quality and presentation of the food. Compliments to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrainneK2014
Vejle, Denmark
Reviewed 28 December 2013

jeg har virkelig nydt mit ophold på dette fantastiske sted. det ligger ude på landet, i skøn natur, ikke langt fra den lille fiskeby Ballycotton og midleton som er kendt for Jameson Distilleriet og ikke mindst byen cork. jeg vil anbefale alle der har brug for en afslappende weekend at vælge dette sted. I really enjoyed my stay in this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haleydk85
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here on one blustery night before Christmas. There's a very well known venue down the road where we have also stayed and paid twice as much, but the quality at Barnabrow was just as good. Great room with character, enormous bed, excellent breakfast. No TV or radio in room but the wi-fi works, so bring a smartphone if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sahlan D
Truro Nova Scotia Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I were married in Ireland, (Coming over from Canada) August 2013. We had an amazing time at Barnabrow Country House, Staff and owner were fantastic. Our meal was excellent. As a hotelier myself I was very impressed with the help we received from here. We had done most of our organizing from Canada and we felt we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WeddingAug2013

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midleton
8.0 km away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
642 reviews
5.9 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
686 reviews
4.9 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
1,971 reviews
7.4 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
392 reviews
0.0 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barnabrow Country House, dating from 1639, has been lovingly and extensively restored over the past ten years. It now proudly stands as one of the most stunning wedding venues in Munster. It sprawls over 35 acres, has 22 individually-designed bedrooms and a large medieval-style banqueting hall that seats 150 guests as well as some traditional self-catering cottages. It is relaxed and friendly and offers a truly different ambiance for celebrations that are bespoke and exclusive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnabrow Country House

Address: Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Price Range: $221 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnabrow Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabrow Country House Hotel Midleton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnabrow Country House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Barnabrow Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms outside the main house are very small and far from comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles TomandHope, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had the bridal suite which was fab!”
 of 5 bubbles aineniriain650, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the main house but room 11 is lovely, as are almost all the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles erma942, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in the main house. I heard from some guests in the cottages that their accommodations were better.”
 of 5 bubbles Tomatonose, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Dont be in a rush for a shower in the morning as the water takes time to heat up. Only wifi in certain areas.”
 of 5 bubbles Carmel51, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5