We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Melrose Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Melrose Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
bangkok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed on our Ireland trip for one night in this b&b. Its a cosy b&b with everything you need. The owners are very experienced and will help you with good advice. Comfortable beds and good breakfast, showers with good water pressure, and water from own well. We can fully recommend Melrose.

Helpful?
Thank Rexmio
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your kind review , We do find that it is nice to give information on the area and advise our guests , It is also nice to know that our guests had a comfortable stay with us , We hope if you come back to Ireland on holiday again that you will visit Clonakilty and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Great b&b in a strategic position to visit the County Cork and easy to reach by car. Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly owner has prepared us some good and tasty breakfasts. Thank you Paola, Luca and Giorgia

Helpful?
Thank Paola P
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review , We really appreciate it , We always do our best to make our guests feel happy and to give them as much information as possible , We hope you enjoyed your holiday in Ireland and especially your stay with us , We hope you enjoyed your stay in Clonakilty enough to return and... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015

I stayed 5 nights at the Melrose B&B and had an enjoyable time there. The room was a good size, the proprietor and staff were always pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts substantial. There's plenty of parking space too. With the strong £ at the moment it was excellent value as well. The B&B is about a mile from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and we really appreciate it , It is always good to get a feedback so we can then rectify anything which is needed , We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it makes all the hard work worthwhile to know that we had happy guests , Hopefully you will return to... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Melrose for three nights in July on motorbike tour of west Cork. Very friendly welcome and lots of local information from Noel. Nice clean and quiet room with sole use of shower room. Excellent proper full Irish breakfast each morning. Safe parking for the bike and quite a pleasant 15 min walk into town. Hope to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobCB1300
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review , It is soo good to get positive feedback , We always enjoy doing our best to make our guests happy and to give as much information as possible on the area , It is nice to see that you will return to Clonakilty and will stay at Melrose Bed and Breakfast again ,... More 

Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Had a great week at Melrose B&B, Chris and Noel and their family are very nice and helpfull :) The rooms are nice and very clean and it's really quite up there and close to town, about 15 min. walk. They have a great menu choice for breakfast and all food is delicious. I totally recommend this B&B and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank martina577
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and we really appreciate it , It is always nice to hear people say that they enjoyed their stay with us and also their holiday in Clonakilty , We do our best always to make people feel at home and to help them in any way possible , If you do holiday... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2015

My wife and I traveled West Cork and Kerry last week-end and stopped on the first night at Melrose B&B in Clonakilty. We had a great experience, the room was cozy and comfortable and the owners, Noel and Chrissy were extremely kind, really making us feel at home. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Helpful?
Thank GiorgioG_11
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your kind review , We always do our best to make everybody welcome and to enjoy their stay with us , We really appreciate your kind comments , If you are in West Cork again we hope you will visit Clonakilty and decide to stay with us at Melrose ,B & B , More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Stayed here on the May bank holiday, with my husband and son who's almost 2 years old. Lovely clean family room. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short,as it rained constantly, and made it impossible to entertain a toddler in those conditions! However, Noel the owner was a true gent, helping restart my flat car battery, and supplying our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank I M
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and your kind comments , We are always happy to do our best and to help our guests , It was such a pity about the bad weather over the weekend , In spite of the weather we hope you enjoyed your stay with us enough to want to come back and... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Be careful with these people. They'll give you a quote over the phone and make you pay much more at check out. The rooms are okay, but the dining room is way to small. Don't book without a written confirmation on the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy F
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry this is your view of us , We did not overcharge you but as we said to you yesterday morrning you must have misheard us over the phone , The amount you were paying us would be what you would pay in a hostel without breakfast , We don't understand how you can say our dining... More 

Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Comfortable B+B with very helpful & friendly owner & staff. Nice & quiet house & location. Lovely breakfast. Child friendly back garden with swings, trampoline, slide, etc. Big advantage for us was when Noel, the extremely helpful owner of the B+B, organised a babysitter for our 3 children, the youngest of whom, was only 6-months. Our children stayed at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigdonal
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your very kind words in your recent review ,It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we were only delighted that you enjoyed your stay , We were very happy to be of help to you and it is always very nice to get a good feedback , Hopefully you may consider... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Host is very friendly n kind. Place was clean and tidy. Breakfast was also v nice. Host picked us up from bus station. This place is located 20 mins walk from city center. Will recommend that place. :)

Helpful?
Thank Moor H
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review , We always do our best to make guests enjoy their stay with us and it is nice to get a good feedback , If you are back in West Cork and especially Clonakilty again we hope you will choose to stay at Melrose Bed & Breakfast once again , More 

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.9 km away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
333 reviews
1.0 km away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
1.8 km away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
1.5 km away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
153 reviews
1.3 km away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melrose B&B provides 3* Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Clonakilty. Situated just 10 minutes walk from the charming West Cork town of Clonakilty, Melrose B&B is located in quiet surroundings whilst being very convenient to restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions & amenities.Melrose has private parking, gardens and patio to front and rear. Guests are welcome to use our spacious gardens, which are being re-planted with new fruit trees, berry plants and shrubs. Guests are also welcome to use our picnic area with BBQ, seats and tables and a permanent gazebo with seats, table and hammocks. An extensive breakfast menu is available & food is home-cooked, fresh & locally sourced. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melrose Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Miles | Clonakilty, Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Melrose Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you can always join that place !”
 of 5 bubbles 146alexanderb, 19 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All rooms were excellent (we used 6 of them)”
 of 5 bubbles 619kjelll, 12 Nov 2013 | Read review
“We LOVED THE family room and slept real good. As for my comment on children activities it is not so much for activities as for child-friendliness but our daughter had a brilliant time in and around their house.”
 of 5 bubbles 957tanjab, 30 Jul 2013 | Read review
“all great rooms”
 of 5 bubbles adrianrowe, 15 Aug 2011 | Read review
“the rooms are all exellent clean and tidy bright and airey”
 of 5 bubbles tobywankanoobi, 6 Jul 2011 | Read review
5 of 5