Gleann Na Coille

Gleann Na Coille

Biking in the mountains near the hostel
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Glenbeigh
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
There are 4 double en-suites, 1 family room consisting of a double bed and a double/single bunk beds and 1 twin room with shared bathroom. We also have 2 apartments. One consists of a kitchen/sitting area and 2 bedrooms, 1 double en-suite room and a twin room (sleeps 4) The second apartment has a kitchen/sitting area, 1 double en-suite with an additional single bed and a twin en-suite room (sleeps 5)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Golf course
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
183Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 26
  • 7
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sarah D wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were lucky enough to get a last minute booking at the newly renovated apartment at the back of the Sleepy Camel. The owners, Mary and Con O' Sullivan, and their daughter Jennifer, couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

The apartment itself is spacious, beautifully decorated throughout and cosy in the evening times. It has everything that you need for a trip away. It also has a large garden area for children to play in.

We also went to Mary and Con's restaurant, The Rosspoint. It's located at Rossbeigh beach. The food is really nice and the staff working there are so friendly. The view is breathtaking and it's a perfect location to relax after a long day sightseeing or at the beach.

Thank's to Mary and Con for making our trip away so enjoyable.

Sarah Durbin.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucía M wrote a review Jun 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is so cosy, neat and clean. It's not a hostel anymore, there are individual en-suite rooms. I'd definitely recommend it :)
The village is small and beautiful and there's a coffee beside Gleann Na Coille called Emily's that is also very nice.
Thank you Mary for your kindness!😊
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire wrote a review Jun 2024
County Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent accommodation. Our room was lovely and great value.. Everything was spotless. Great location in Glenbeigh village. Close to everything. Nice and quiet with plenty of parking.
Mary was so nice and helpful.
We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
krasnalica wrote a review Jun 2017
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived early and despite the inconvenience we recieved a warm welcome and Chris let us straight up to our room. A solid nights sleep, developed into a horrible morning, with my other half feeling very unwell. Chris to the rescue; he allowed us to stay in the room past checkout and also managed to arrange a lift into Killarney.This allowed me to pick up the car and rescue the poorly soul still inhabiting the room. Throughly recommend the hostel and commend the excellent customer service! Thank you Chris
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris O, Manager at Gleann Na Coille
Responded Jun 30, 2017
Hello krasnalica Thank you for your kind review Regards Chris
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pawel S wrote a review Jun 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So we checked in around 10 pm (very tired after 35 km walk that day) and the checkout was very early (at 10 am). In the morning we were still eating breakfast when a member of staff walked to us and said that it's time to checkout so i ran upstairs took our stuff and gave the key back, it was around 10:40. Then when we had finished our breakfast around 10 min later we decided to hang out in the hostels living room for a bit longer to download the maps, use the wifi, etc. At 11:10 the same member of staff was passing by like 5 meters from us (he didnt even walk up to us) and said 'it's time to move on lads, get going now', i found it very rude and unprofessional. I've never been spoken to like this before in a hostel and basically got kicked out from the TV room after giving the key away, I travel a lot and there's always a policy that as long as you checked out you can stay and use the hostels facilities as long as you would like to. Hope nobody ever goes there and has to experience that again!

BTW. They didnt even provide any soap either in the shared toilet or our rooms bathroom at all, and you could find the most random broken things in our closet. I know it was a budget place but that has to be a joke!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris O, Manager at Gleann Na Coille
Responded Jun 30, 2017
Hello Pawel S Thank you for your review. Unfortunately I have been expecting this one and unsurprisingly you haven't disappointed me. I find it very hard to read this as you clearly do your best to paint the business in a bad light. I will not go into the issues you caused me and other guests during your one nights stay with us as you are already well aware. Thanks Chris
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JopAntonis wrote a review May 2016
Maastricht, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location for a trip to e.g. Carrauntoohil, Clean rooms, basic but plentyful breakfast (cereals, toast with marmalade/jam, milk/coffee/tea). Big kitchen with possibilty to cook your own food. Nice welcome by Chris! Great Nice pub with good food only 100-200 meters away, also a small supermarket around the corner.
Don't expect a lush hotel, but this is a great hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
blackeyemac wrote a review Sep 2014
Abbeyshrule, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Few days away on the motorbikes touring the south west of Ireland when we hit upon the sleepy camel hostel in Glenbeigh. It's right on the ring of Kerry, has secure parking at the rear, nice rooms and good hot showers..we even got a breakfast there which was not expected. The owner was a sound bloke that was very helpful with directions and suggestions.. the girl at reception was very nice when we wandered in without reservations and had us sorted out in no time... We were made to feel very welcome which was not always the case on our tour, the following night we booked another place up the coast and when we showed up, first thing the landlady said was 'oh ye never said ye were bikers , don't make noise'. Our reception at the sleepy camel was a far cry from this kind of attitude and we would love to call by there again sometime..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
slaneytravels wrote a review Aug 2012
Wexford, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed last week for 2 nights , and went back a couple of nights later for another night. Very friendly and clean ,also kids friendly. Being able to go back in the evening and cook your dinner just like home. Also its in a great location to visit glenbeigh, kells etc. Will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie M wrote a review Jul 2019
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a double room and were given a tiny twin room. 1st bed comfortable, the 2nd single bed was awful. It had a plastic mattress which made you sweat and made a noise when you moved. Walls were very thin so could hear snoring from all directions. No hook in the room (the door hook looked old and was broken off) Two showers, in one room but only one worked. Only one toilet on the floor was open.
No where to dry wet clothes. No where to hang my towel in the room, everything had to go on the floor.
Bread and toast making facilities in the kitchen along with tea and coffee available. Large sitting area but closed at 9.30 (even on Saturday night!)
Clean but facilities were very varied from room to room.
Disappointing for what we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark W L wrote a review Jul 2018
Hong Kong, China
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tops, excellent and highly recommend. Simple, clean, great village location and within one minutes’ walk to three excellent local pubs, also located within a five minute drive to Inch beach.

If you are planning to do the ring of Kerry then Glenbeigh is an excellent starting or finishing point.

Managed by Chris who was very hospitable, flexible and made our group feel very welcome.

We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Back rooms towards the car park are more quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kylie S asked a question Jun 2022
Sugar Land, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi. How do I make a booking? Do you have any contact information? Thanks!
Answer from jos
ireland49 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, sorry we are closed at present for renovations.
Answer from jos
ireland49 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, bed linen is provided. See our website for a full list of facilities.
Tzippi D wrote a tip Mar 2019
New Orleans, Louisiana2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just inquire. Very accommodating."
Read full review
Mark W L wrote a tip Jul 2018
Hong Kong, China40 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Back rooms towards the car park are more quiet"
Read full review
Perrin1975 wrote a tip Jul 2016
Greenwood, Indiana5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best location for its price"
Read full review
Richard L wrote a tip Apr 2014
Ridgewood, New Jersey5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"only some have a bathroom en suite"
Read full review
Qwerty408 wrote a tip Nov 2013
Ireland32 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Was very lucky to get a double ensuite :-D"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glenbeigh area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryGlenbeigh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Gleann Na Coille - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Gleann Na Coille
Which popular attractions are close to Gleann Na Coille?
Nearby attractions include The Kerry Creamery Experience (7.8 km), The Little Cheese Shop (0.2 km), and Meadow Gate Garden (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gleann Na Coille?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Gleann Na Coille?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gleann Na Coille?
Conveniently located restaurants include Knightlys of Castlemaine, Chirish Restaurant, and The Warehouse Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Gleann Na Coille?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Innisfallen Island (14.0 km), St. Mary's Church of Ireland (13.9 km), and Franciscan Friary (13.9 km).
All Glenbeigh HotelsGlenbeigh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GlenbeighHotels near Gleann Na Coille
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars