We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$149*
US$145*
US$149*
US$149*
US$145*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheedy\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheedy's Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and are definitely hands-on, so if there were to be any issues, they would be addressed right away. Our stay went very well, and in particular we found the food to be very good. Breakfasts were fantastic with many options to order and leaving one feeling quite full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KincsZoltan
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review

John and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sheedys last August. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are a seasonal hotel and we do try to keep our rooms updated to stay fresh looking. I am glad that you enjoyed eating dinner in our cosy bar - this room is...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here one night. Two couples. Our room was a disappointment. It had two separate beds :-( Has been for a long time to sleep separate. Tiny bathroom (no separate shower). I would not call this a 4 star hotel. The food was right, but not that special as some write. For those prices you would expect this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohndeJong_RDAM_NL
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review

John and I are disappointed to hear that you were not 100 percent happy with your recent stay at Sheedys. We have noted all the points that you have outlined. We always try to offer the best in traditional hospitality and best service. We get our fish delivered Fresh each day from Garrihys of Doolin and we are always confident...

Marble Hill, Missouri
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are going to see the Cliffs of Moher, then you MUST find this hotel in Lisdoonvarna. It is run by Martine, and her husband, John, is the chef extraordinaire! The rooms are extremely spacious and well decorated, and you won't want to eat anywhere but in their cozy pub and dining room because the food is as beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My yearly trip to sheedy's very consistent the fish and chips in beer batter our famous around the world.... Well especially in my English / part Irish family. We recommend this to all our relations whom travel to Lisdoonvarna. Well worth a nice walk to Sheedy's for a scrumptious meal !!! See you next year

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicky W
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to hear from you! yes, the Fish and Chips are always very popular. We only use the freshest fish, supplied from Garrihy's of Doolin, and John makes his own beer batter. Hope to see you soon again. We reopen after the Winter on March 28th. Give my regards to all the family. Martina

Cork
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Having stayed here many times, I have never been disappointed. Martina is a wonderful host and John's food is to die for. I always look so forward to their breakfast! The location is a good centre from which to explore the Burren and county Clare. The rooms are very comfortable and always clean and beautifully presented. The decor is charming,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rach62442
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great location, close to the Cliffs of Moher. Owner and staff were most accommodating. Dinner was nicely served and most enjoyable, if a bit overpriced. Certainly hope to stay there again and will recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chuck M
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed there recently and what a beautiful haven. We were warmly welcomed to the hotel, by the hostess and she is such a good host! She let us know that we could eat there, handing us menus for the bar and the restaurant, we had a really beautiful meal in the hotel, the best steak we ever had! Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mollybawn190754
Chesterfield
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It is a good thing we were on a bicycling trip when we stayed here. Otherwise, a night or two of staying and eating here would be more than hazardous to the waistline. First of all the hotel public areas and rooms were very cozy. The sitting areas were cozy and not designed for large groups. Hotel rooms were spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darbymo
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review

John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as part of the biking group. I hope you also enjoyed your night in Galway, night in Aran Islands and the two nights in Connemara. Its was a great pleasure having you all stay with us. You were also lucky with the weather - the great Autumn...

carrickfergus
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Sheedy's is a haven of peace and good food in the mad town that Lisdoonvarna becomes during the annual Matchmaker Festival. For those who don't know, this is a month long fest of almost non-stop dancing and drinking during which single men and women from all over Ireland search for a suitable spouse. On first acquaintance it is nothing remarkable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank esler c
BurrenLady, Manager at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review

John and I are delighted to hear that you mainly enjoyed your recent visit to Sheedys early September. September is the month of the Annual Matchmaking Festival here and we always look forward to welcoming back guests who visit year after year to enjoy the music. it can be a busy month in the town. I appreciate your comments on...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I eat here during the Merriman Summer School which was held in the area. Service and food was very good and it was so comfortable to sit and have something to eat with a glass of Vino on a wet evening in August. I would recommend this restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GObnait28

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (14)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
3.9 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
8.9 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
438 reviews
11.0 km away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,508 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
556 reviews
5.1 km away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: $195 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheedy's Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
2 months ago
Pensacola, Florida
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sheedy's Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're a light sleeper or early to rest, you might want to be on the upper level as the floors and plumbing can be heard from below”
CM201605, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room no 12! Have the rack of lamb”
wicorthered, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We were in No. 11 which was perfect for our needs”
Robswall, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Great food and location for Cliff of Moher”
sheilac669, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Some bedrooms at the back of the building overlook a public car park and the neighbouring Imperial Hotel fire escape”
LeNoudeGaia, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$145* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$149
TripAdvisorUS$145
TravelocityUS$145
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates