We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince of Wales Hotel

Save
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (85)
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“hen party”(64 reviews)
“reserved area”(11 reviews)
“central location”(37 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
500
248
79
34
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
500
248
79
34
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationdvd playercentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsrooms were spotlesshotel barvisiting athlonecouldn't do enoughcourse mealsaturday nightstayed here for one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

++The room was stunning, very large. There was even a dolce gusto coffee pod machine in the room! There was a nightclub underneath the hotel itself and you wouldn't know about it unless you went down there. couldn't hear a peep. -- Due to the...More

Thank Caitlin G
Response from Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Caitlin G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that overall your stay with us was most enjoyable and I must also extend our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived early so decided to get food in the restaurant/bar part of the hotel I had ordered a simple toasted cheese panini and the staff told me they would drop it down but I soon realised both members of staff who were working at the...More

Thank ShannonBurke99
Response from Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear ShannonBurke99, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel and apologies that your time with us was not a thoroughly enjoyable one. When you have a moment could you contact...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here Monday 2July lovely hotel very friendly staff gorgeous breakfast . Hotel is very clean and central would highly recommend it. It is so close to all the shopping you need. Very reasonable bar good menu. They took my flowers to their leg...More

Thank Marie C
Response from Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marie C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had a really enjoyable time with us and congratulations on your 25th wedding...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the Prince of Wales hotel while working. It was a lovely experience. I had no issues. Had breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The dinner was fab the breakfast was a bit greasy but there was a good selection of food. Also...More

Thank Jemma F
Response from Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jemma F, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that your stay with us was a really enjoyable one and I will make sure...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time here. Excellent set up for hen dos. Boat trip was very enjoyable and cocktail making session good craic. Lovely food for breakfast and dinner. Band in the bar on Saturday night was brill. Would thoroughly recommend.More

Thank mmc_kmh
Response from Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mmc_kmh, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that your whole group had a really enjoyable time with us and that you got to...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$70 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$70 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (85)
Amenities (16)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SmokeyBacon
August 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ashling D | Property representative |
Hi, When you have a moment could you contact reception directly with your request on 0906476666 Have a good day
0
Votes
Graham K
August 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from N_IrelandFranco | Reviewed this property |
Yes hotel car park is quite secure. You can park the bike where it won't be in open view.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 201 was lovely"
Read review
"Due to the nightclub downstairs ask for a room in the back."
Read review
"Don't accept rooms at rear - unless you want to be really depressed"
Read review
"Ask for food is there isnt any at breakfast...."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing