We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hodson Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hodson Bay Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,954 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,933: English reviews
Start your review of Hodson Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great stay...friendly staff and very helpful...Def recommend a spa treatment...The only thing there was always a queue at reception..food very good. Stayed in a family room..well laid out even though kids in same room they has a separate area with own TV and table and chairs..It was quiet at night. Helga slevin

 Report
Helpful?
Thank behan415
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear behan415, Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. It is genuinely appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, James Dilleen.

NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here recently and I feel disappointed hotel was recommended and although the new part of the hotel is excellent pool etc is really nice and it has a beautiful location Majority of staff are very friendly and helpful Howe ever. I found old part of the hotel to be neglected The bar felt grubby we had to ask a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LURGANMAN
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LURGANMAN, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the shortcoming you experienced. We will use your feedback as the basis for our retraining sessions which we regularly conduct with our food and beverage staff. Hopefully you will see improvements...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in interconnecting rooms for a week-end. Both rooms very small for the price we paid, no real views. Food was nice although the desserts did not match the high quality of everything else. Hotel had weddings on both days so extremely busy, and we were disturbed both nights by loud guests on corridors in the middle of the night....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pikeman-7
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pikeman-7, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings and noise issues you experienced. We address all feedback as part of our improvement process and I will share your feedback with the teams. Additionally I will share your positive comments with the Michaelsthat you mentioned. On a personal note thank you for...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights in total. 3 Adults and we shared a family room. The rooms were nice, big, clean and had very comfortable beds. We ate as a big group three nights out of the 4 and the food was lovely and service was good considering such a large group of us. There was lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyndsey W
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsey, Thank you for taking the time to write an in depth review from your recent stay with us. Whilst there were lots of positives from your stay please accept our apologies for the billing and payment issues your experienced during your stay. I will investigate this further and to relay this constructive feedback to the relevant department heads...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice sized room. Enjoyed the treatment in the spa as part of the package. The food in the restaurant was good. Felt the location of the hotel wasn't great. There was no public transport to the town so had to get a taxi on a few occasions.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aifric W
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aifric W, Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had such a memorable experience as a result of your stay here. I take on board your comments with regard to our location not being more convenient Hopefully we will get a chance to look after you once again should your travels next bring...

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Attended a conference stayed one night. Would not be tempted to return. I went into the bar to get tea and a scone, plates were dirty. Food served before conference was only lukewarm. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a great selection of drinks in the bar and the cocktails were delicious!! There was a smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate F, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Please accept our apologies for the food & beverage shortcomings you experienced during your stay and in particular for breakfast . This is not representative of the usual high standards that we have in operation , but clearly on this visit we have not reached the mark. We appreciate the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay here for two nights with my friend. On arrival we were greeted with a smile from the reception staff and were told what was going on in hotel. They booked our evening meal in the restaurant and afternoon tea for the next day. Our room was in the new part of the hotel and it was perfect, nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rhondawalsh
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhondawalsh, Thank you for your fantastic TripAdvisor review. Its great that you had such a positive experience while staying in the hotel. It gives me great pleasure reading reviews like this and the team here will be undoubtedly delighted to receive this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, James Dilleen

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an incident with a bike rack and a broken back window on the way to the hodson bay, declan the manager took care of us when we arrived, got the car cleaned and left the car in a safe place. He also got my wife some tea and the girls some squash. This was our secound time here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephanieMark
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StephanieMark, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Its great that you had a positive experience whilst staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and will use your comments to fine tune what we offer to our guests.I am happy to pass on your words of gratitude to Declan. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just spent a fab 3 days in the Hodson Bay hotel! Loved it from start to finish. Room was lovely, very comfy. Pool was great and my son loved it. Didn't want to get out! The kiddies club was great too. He went a couple of nights and made new friends. It was great knowing he was having fun while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia M
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Olivia M, Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review. We are glad that you had such a positive experience whilst staying in the hotel. It gives me great pleasure reading reviews like this. The team here will be undoubtedly delighted to receive this feedback in particular the kids club and we look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Meath
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived on a Wednesday afternoon. The hotel is older looking than I was expecting but my room (622) was lovely and quite spacious. The bar/restaurant staff were very pleasant and often checked on me while I was dining to see if I needed anything. Food is just average, very large portions. Thursday morning I ventured to the beautiful spa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mangan2b
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mangan2b, Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon We will look into the issues you mentioned in the hope that you will see an improvement when you next decide to stay with us. I am proud to pass...

527 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (201)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Classic Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,784 reviews
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,001 reviews
5.9 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
6.0 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $144 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are travelling without children try to get a Retreat room”
MiseEire, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view of the lake come at an extra cost.”
martinn592, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms are best”
MarkDonegal_Ireland, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a lovely room overlooking a courtyard very peaceful”
587geraldinem, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with view of lake”
gleesonpjm, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5