We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wineport Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$236*
US$236*
US$234*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Wineport Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,014 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wineport Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,000: English reviews
Carlow
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal, overlooking the lake, with the sun shinning. Expensive but worth it for special occasions. Staff were friendly. Food really tasty. Probably could do with a makeover inside. Always enjoy my visits there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carolione M Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. I am delighted you found the staff friendly and the food really tasty. Of course when the sun shines across the lake it makes it that bit more special. Do come see us again Kind regards Norma

Reviewed 10 April 2017

Nice hotel, really nice setting. Resonable service, but nothing spectacular except the prices. Extremely over priced for what is offered. We stayed in Cabra Castle the night before, which was a far superior hotel, a proper five star. It cost exactly 1/3 of the price of the wineport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you found the hotel, setting, and service all to your liking. I am however Disappointed you were displeased with our prices. I assure you we are in line with our competitors and if you wish to discuss your review further please don't hesitate to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We arrived in Wineport on a really glorious and sunny Friday evening 3 weeks ago. On arrival we were given a welcome cocktail which we sipped watching the light on beautiful Lough Ree. We were upgraded to an upper room with our own balcony and extremely comfortable bed and yes a lovely lake view. Norma the manager greeted us warmly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary044
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary044 Thank you for taking the time to post your most generous review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food, wine list, room, and of course breakfast in bed was all to your liking. I will pass on your kind words to all the team. I look forward to welcoming you back Warm...

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We took Mam away for the weekend afterMothers Day. Amazing hotel and most of the staff were amazing, friendly and a bit of craic. Views were perfect for the room, which was nice and spacious. The complimentary hot tub was a nice touch and made the evening even more special. Myself and my mum ordered the steak and we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fairygirltot
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear fairygirltot Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am delighted you and your mother had such a memorable stay and that the steaks left a lasting impression. we would be thrilled to welcome you both back this time with the "HABs" Look forward to seeing you soon Kind regards Norma

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place....the staff are wonderful, the welcome we received, the complimentary cocktail and just in general the extra mile they went was second to none. The food lived up to expectation and the room and our view/private balcony was just so lovely. Cannot speak highly enough of the whole experience and that was without sampling any of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jackie S Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. I will pass on your kind words regarding the staff and I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us hopefully it was a birthday to remember. I will take in to consideration your comments regarding the pillows and speak with the...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Apart from the location, I found Wineport Lodge to be 'ordinary'. The outside could certainly do with attention. The woodwork was very much in need of painting and parking can be a problem. The staff are exceptionally friendly and obliging , the room was very good but the food was only average. Very expensive main courses with the growing practice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Transmagnificat2015
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Transmagnificat2015 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While I am delighted to hear you found the staff exceptionally friendly and obliging I am of course disappointed to hear you weren't happy with the food and I will be speaking with the kitchen team regarding this matter. I take all feedback in to consideration and i...

Reviewed 8 April 2017

We were disappointed to find that service has deteriorated at the Wineport and would echo the previous reviewers comments. Service from one of the male waiters in particular was quite possibly the worst I have ever experienced - was very unhelpful, arrogant and confrontational.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David J Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am terribly sorry to hear that the service during your recent visit was not what it should have been. I you wish to discuss your recent visit with me in more detail please do get in contact. Kind regards Norma

County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 7 April 2017

I had heard so much about this place, but I have to say I was very disappointed,we stopped for lunchafter a long trip from Connemara , we ordered 3 fish platters,instead of getting a fish platter each it was one dish for3 people which was very skimpy, we asked for some chips and bread which never came until we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank drom13
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear drom13 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am terribly disappointed to hear you had such a poor lunch experience. Our seafood platters are designed as a sharing plate for two not for three and we would have been most happy to prepare three individual plates for you as I'm sure you were hungry from...

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much to everyone at the Wineport Lodge. We spent 3 nights here recently and were staggered by the considerate staff, perfect food & drink and of course the stunning views. Every room seems to face the lakeside giving vistas you will just lose yourself in. We ate in both the bar and restaurant and found both to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phil.galligan
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear phil.galligan Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us and i will pass on your kind words to all the team. We take our breakfast seriously cooking it fresh to order and I am thrilled you enjoyed it so much. I look forward...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My big birthday was made very special by all the staff at Wineport. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room and also cocktails. I visited a few years ago for lunch and the location really made an impression on me. It's so serene and all guests seem conscious of other guests experience. Loved the hot tub. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Triona L
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Triona L Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. I am thrilled you enjoyed you Big birthday celebration of course we wont mention ages.....21! I am delighted that your previous visit left such an impression that you returned to celebrate this special birthday and that you had such a nice time. The hot tubs are...

861 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (412)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (394)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Champagne Suite (74)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Suite (55)
Viewed
Deluxe Lakeview Room (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
5.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,822 reviews
1.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
8.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
895 reviews
5.7 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Restaurant
The Restaurant
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $231 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wineport Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wineport Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Champagne suite has a secluded balcony pay the extra its so worth it”
913lisamaried, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“not sure if all rooms are overlooking the lake so it is worth looking for one”
rankinv, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a lake view so it doesnt matter”
52pato, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We weren't staying, just for lunch”
drom13, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Let the staff know if you are celebrating a special event as they make a big effort.”
trional896, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$236* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$236
Agoda.comUS$234
Expedia.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates