We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,501: English reviews
Start your review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
 Click to rate
County Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked 2 twin rooms here for a work trip. First impression was bad as the car park is inadequate for the size of the hotel. Car park totally full, cars abandoned on double yellow lines and kerbs. Rang hotel to advise us where else to park and we were informed just to park anywhere as long as not blocking anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumsyone
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Mumsyone Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit in our hotel. We pride ourselves on the outstanding service we offer our guests and I would like to apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I would once again like to thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity...

Ireland
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a Mother's Day lunch in this Hotel. The Radisson is located in Athlone town right beside the lovely Shannon River. Luckily it was a beautiful day 17 degrees which is a rarity in Ireland in March but gorgeous for Mother's Day. I come here pretty regularly and love the atmosphere. Today being a beautiful sunny Sunday the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireN35
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Victor O, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear ClaireN35, I am delighted you enjoyed your Mother's Day Lunch, I will pass your comments on to our Head Chef and Food & Beverage Team to share with their teams. I would also like to thank you for your praise for our team. We work hard on ensuring all our guests feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay with...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just spent one night in the Radisson athlone it was very disappointing and very overrated and overpriced. Breakfast was shocking and the restaurant supervisor was not very pleasant. The only good thing about our stay was Aaron the bar man he has exceptional customer service and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Martha C, Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit in our hotel. We pride ourselves on the outstanding service we offer our guests and I would like to apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I would once again like to thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the...

Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived early and were informed that our room would be ready in twenty to thirty minutes, no big deal after the drive down We needed to stretch our legs and took the opportunity to check out our surroundings for the next two days. But 10 minutes later we were called to reception by John who had decided that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fergal115
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Fergal 115 Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. I will pass your comments onto our staff. Kind Regards Fergus O'Donovan General Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Couldnt get good sleep. The room was too hot, the heater was continuously on with no controls or a way to turn it off. The hotel organised a fan however the window couldnt be fully opened. Room was not clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 691santoshd
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear 691santoshd Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. You feedback is greatly appreciated. We are sorry that you didn’t have very good experience in our hotel. Please rest assured all of your comments and observations have been noted and shared with the team. Kind Regards, Fergus O'Donovan General Manager

Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff really lovely, kind, helpful,they couldn't have been more obliging they were also able to have a conversation and a laugh, Rooms were clean and fresh, Bathrooms had large bottles of shampoo, Conditioner ETC,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey_morrisroe
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Tracey_morrisroe Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Fergus O'Donovan General Manager

Waterford
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here just for one night. Very near the centre of Athlone so we're able to leave the car in the car park and go and explore. The staff were very nice & friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant , it was very nice. Breakfast was good, self service. No complaints, would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrokeWaterford
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear CrokeWaterford, I would like to thank you for your first class review of our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I was delighted to read your wonderful comments. Kind Regards, Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager

New Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely staff, free upgrade without asking and the food was superb. The staff in the dinning area needed to be on their game more, slow to clear away but again very polite and willing. The hotel pool and gym staff were Happy to assist and the pool was lovely and quiet. The steam room seemed a bit unloved but did...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnY1658RP
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear LynnY1658RP, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager

Belfast
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As regular visitors to Athlone our most recent visit (our fifth here at the Radisson) was disappointing. The hotel has in places been refurbished since our last stay most noticeably in the bar and reception area which adds to the overall quality as you would expect at a four star hotel. We upgraded our room upon arrival to a junior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilPateman
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We apologise for all the shortcomings during your your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Your feedback is valued and will be used to improve our service and guest experience. Kind Regards, Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The heating could not be controlled in each room individually. Which meant a very uncomfortable night. Staff were very good Room was clean and tidy overall hotel was nice only issue is that this is a lovely hotel let down by heating issue

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iankE7445KU
Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear IankE7445KU, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I would like to thank you for your feedback on the tempetarure in your room. I would like to apologise we did not meet your expectations during your visit. Kind Regards, Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager

669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,785 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,954 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
875 reviews
0.7 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.3 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $94 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view of Shannon on First Floor”
mumsyone, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early and as high as you can to see Athlone castle best and listen to the water running over the weir at night.”
fergal115, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a river view and higher up”
MaireadMayo, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very thing was nice.”
GrahamV696, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river”
Eily1961, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5