We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Creggan Court

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Creggan Court
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Creggan Court as part of an escapes deal, excellent value for money, room we had was ground floor and not as modern as previous stay, room was to the rear and quiet. Located a few mins drive from Athlone Town and ideal for families would return again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie_O_52
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thanks for your comments following your recent stay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your break away and look forward to your return visit.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed one ..Staff were fantastic...food fab...hotel abit outside of the town .taxi in and back..adds on up to an extra €20 ..but the hotel had music on in the bar . Enjoyed our stay .good for a short break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geroleeson
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to send a review and it is so rewarding to read your comments, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We celebrated a big family occasion . 14 of us kids and adults. staff super accommodating and friendly. Family room a great size . we were a family of 5 . very comfortable double bed and two twin beds and one roll in camper bad. perfect . the breakfast was one of the best ive had recently . the 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbyrne99
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay here and taking the time to post a review, we are delighted that you all enjoyed the experience here and the Staff as always are pleased to get a mention.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A couple of friends and I stayed here for a night, while this hotel is not 5* it fit our needs perfectly. We found the staff to be really helpful and the food very tasty and reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel for a quick stop over in Athlone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1traveler2016
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for the recommendation following your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you here again the next time you visit Athlone

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the Cretan Court for one night with my partner. Let me start by saying the hotel was great for the price we paid. The room could do with updating but it was very clean and we wouldn't have expected anymore at such a cheap price. The food was also nice and the price is reasonable in the gastro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, We are pleased to see you got value for money here and enjoyed the food. We offer our apologies for the fact you felt the waitress was rude and have spoken with the person in question with regards to your comments, there is no excuse for this level of service and it is not what we offer. It...

Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner stayed here on 16th April 2017..the staff were amazing, the comraderie between them was unreal, the attention to their customers was second to none. . The food was fabulous and keenly priced. Rooms very clean and cosy. Paulette pulled out all the stops when she found out it was my birthday, other guests joined in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackielangton
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations on this occasion and delighted that you choose to stay here, Paulette is an amazing staff member and takes such pride in looking after all the guests, she always gets the recognition she deserves. It was nice that Nathan made a guest appearance despite having traveled a long journey.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went to Athlone on business and my client's booked me into the Creggan Court. At £50 i got a suite and full breakfast. The place was clean The beds comfortable The Shower not bad The only incident was an extremely embarrassed night porter who was not aware the room was occupied and who came in at midnight to store...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sax0nmach1nery
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise about the fact the Night Porter failed to know that your room was occupied, but its good to know you took the incident with a lighthearted approach. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Omagh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only stayed one night as I was in the area for a family event. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and great breakfasts. A good 3 star hotel located a short 5-10min drive to Athlone centre. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnniemacOmagh
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Annie, Thanks for the review and delighted to see that you got very good value, the Staff as always appreciate a mention.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we called in here on easter Monday on route home with two small kids. it was good to start cause nobody could hear our kids over the rest of them. we had to give the baby a btl so we got hot water and two drinks and some chips to eat while waiting. the chips were very nice. the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear David, We apologise about the toilets and have addressed the areas of concern that you mentioned, apart from that we appreciate your positive comments and hope you will call in the next time you are passing.

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here overnight last year and could not believe the poor service standard. We decided to stop here (location of this hotel saved us taking a big detour) to eat on our way to Galway and the service is still terrible. Not once did we get service with a smile. Food was only OK. Facilities were clean. Not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Your comments vary greatly from all the positive reviews we get, We apologise that you feel the level of service and standards were not up to your expectations and find it difficult to accept that your visit was such a disappointment.

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,786 reviews
3.9 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
875 reviews
3.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
9.0 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We the Creggan Court Hotel are located in the heart of Ireland, Just outside Athlone town, a town rich in heritage and history.We are a 72 bedroom hotel. All rooms have free wifi, cable tv, direct phone line, hairdryer tea/coffee facilities. a laundry services can also be provided. We have ample free car parking spaces. Our reception desk is open 24 hours to assist all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.If you are feeling hungry on arrival don't worry our Granary Bar serves food daily, you can sit back and relax and enjoy traditional Irish hospitality with meals to suit all. Our lemon tree restaurant can cater for up to 100 people, ideal for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Your business is our pleasure, we aim to provide a friendly and welcoming environment for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Creggan Court

Address: Kilmartin Centre (n6) | Dublin Road, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $69 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creggan Court 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creggan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggan Court Hotel Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Creggan Court staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Creggan Court staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms to the front of the hotel are noisy, ask for one at the back.”
johnwB5543IF, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Close to town, and yet peaceful for sleeping,”
patzee2001, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor and hope for better upstairs”
937helenb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the new rooms.”
PatB186470, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try a room at the back of the hotel it might be quieter there..”
187paddyh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5