We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Creggan Court

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Creggan Court
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Ive stayed in creggan court a few times at this stage ..and each one exceeds the next...from my first impression first visit I was immediately impressed by the total professionalism, efficiency yet friendliness of the receptionist..and it has never failed to impress me with each visit. From the receptionists to the bar staff to the waiters and night porter it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank niamh b
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Niamh, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Creggan Court recently and we value the fact you keep returning. It has always been a pleasure looking after you and your friends and great to see Guests enjoy themselves and getting away for the weekend. We all really appreciate the time you took to post this review and the...

Bray
Reviewed 22 February 2016

the creggan court is a fab hotel with very lovely staff,great menu,very reasonably priced,rooms are great ,will be goin again.very close 2 the town ,plenty of parking,great breakfast,great hotel all around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel1234Bray
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Many thinks for your review and for choosing to stay at the Creggan Court Hotel. I note you have stayed on a few occasions at this stage and it is very rewarding to see repeat business. We all look forward to looking after you both again on your next trip to Athlone.

Reviewed 17 February 2016

The staff at this hotel are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Dinner was good and very reasonably priced. The room unfortunately looked nothing like the photos on the website. I was in need of a good makeover. The beds are 3 feet off the ground - felt like there were 2 mattresses.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
cork
Reviewed 14 February 2016

For the price I paid for B&B and an evening meal, it was fantastic value, friendly staff, comfortable room, ample parking, enjoyable food. wifi was also good, I would gladly return again, if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BernieCastle
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I have frequently taken lunch in the Creggan court Hotel. Staff are good and the food was always top class. However last week I went for lunch and got one of the worst meals I ever had. The meat was inedible , the vegetables were tasteless and the plate was ice cold. I tried to find someone to talk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Pat, Thank you for taking the time to post a review here. I am disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and apologise for this. I would be grateful if you could contact me direct at catherine.daly@creggancourt.com as I wish to make amends, I value the fact that you are a frequent customer and truly...

Reviewed 1 February 2016

Myself , my husband and a friend and her partner decided to book what we thought would be a cheap and cheerful weekend break at Creggan Court, Athlone. It delivered far more than cheaap and cheerful. First impression of the hotel was much nicer than we expected. Reception staff were very helpful and the rooms far exceeded our expectations. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elizabeth m
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

I came to stay in this fine hotel, due to unforeseen circumstances, i.e we got flooded. I arrived in what can only be described as a state of emotional distress, the management and staff were so supportive and friendly, the made my 3 week stay very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff of this hotel, and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa M
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Many thanks for posting such positive comments here. We all hope you have settled back into your homes after such devastating times for you all. The Staff at the Creggan Court do their utmost to make all guests stays as enjoyable and satisfactory as possible and take great pride when they get a mention here.

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at the Creggan Court this weekend. Food is superb and we were really looked after well by Sergio and his team....couldn't have done enough for us. Only negative (but not a deal breaker) is that the rooms needs updating. Thoroughly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frankie P
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Frankie, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Creggan Court and taking the time to post a review here, Sergio was delighted to get a mention and we are all glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 24 January 2016

I stayed here on the 23rd of January with my partner - and to say we were extremely disappointed with the hotel is an understatement. My partner booked this hotel last minute for a night away in Athlone - on the premise that the rooms looked good on the website and it was a good value deal. The room we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lilyangelic
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate the time you took to write this review and I am very disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations and can only apologise for this. Some rooms on the second floor do require some updating and it was unfortunate that you were allocated one of these. The bedrooms that appear on our website are actual...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We moved into the Creggan after nourishing home became inaccessible due to the flooding in athlone. We had had a very difficult time prior trying to arrange a place to stay while we were out of our house. The hotel was very accommodating about our dog and most of the staff learned her name by the time we moved on!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank on-a-friday
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review here. We are delighted to be in a position to offer heartwarming hospitality for you all throughout these past few weeks and can only sympathize with you for the hardship suffered as a result of the recent floods. We hope you have settled back into your home at...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,732 reviews
3.9 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
842 reviews
3.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
9.0 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We the Creggan Court Hotel are located in the heart of Ireland, Just outside Athlone town, a town rich in heritage and history.We are a 72 bedroom hotel. All rooms have free wifi, cable tv, direct phone line, hairdryer tea/coffee facilities. a laundry services can also be provided. We have ample free car parking spaces. Our reception desk is open 24 hours to assist all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.If you are feeling hungry on arrival don't worry our Granary Bar serves food daily, you can sit back and relax and enjoy traditional Irish hospitality with meals to suit all. Our lemon tree restaurant can cater for up to 100 people, ideal for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Your business is our pleasure, we aim to provide a friendly and welcoming environment for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Creggan Court

Address: Kilmartin Centre (n6) | Dublin Road, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $62 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creggan Court 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Creggan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggan Court Hotel Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Creggan Court staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Creggan Court staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to town, and yet peaceful for sleeping,”
 of 5 bubbles patzee2001, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor and hope for better upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 937helenb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the new rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles PatB186470, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try a room at the back of the hotel it might be quieter there..”
 of 5 bubbles paddyhannon1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the first floor - it was a Sunday night and room was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mmmt2015, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5