Sea Lodge Hotel

Sea Lodge Hotel

1 Km From Kenmare, Waterville V23 C896 Ireland
Crab claw main dish. Nice & spicy!
Traveller (110)
Food at the Sea Lodge Hotel
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 4 hotels in Waterville
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
What do you want from a hotel? Great food, great service, comfortable beds and super showers. Then there are the little extras that make all the difference… Luxury skincare products, a proper coffee machine in your room, extra fluffy towels, White Company bed linen… We’ve got all of that covered at Sea Lodge Waterville and of course it helps when you’re in one of the most beautiful places on earth; the stunning scenery of the Ring of Kerry is the backdrop to your stay. We’ve got world-class golf courses, majestic mountains, watersports, walking, gorgeous gardens, historic houses and a thriving social scene. Your stay can be as busy or as chilled out as you want. Whether it’s a family gathering, a celebration or a few days away from the hustle and bustle, the staff at Sea Lodge Waterville are waiting to welcome you with open arms…
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Horseback riding
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

1 Km From Kenmare, Waterville V23 C896 Ireland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Kerry County Airport
59.6 km
See all flights
263Reviews3Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 38
  • 20
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
N056 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have been here for lunch many times during the summer and winter. Sealodge never fails to disappoint - Service, attention to detail, Foods, price, location and decor - all great reasons to return again and again - it is equally as fab on a summers day as a cold winter evening. well done to all
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EoinzyB wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot compliment the service, staff and set up enough.
We had a group of 18 (including 8 kids) celebrating a 40th birthday party.
We were given the whole front room which is very spacious but semi-private and has amazing views out across the Ballinskelligs Bay.
Very experienced staff knew to bring the kids food as soon as it was ready.
The quality of food was fantastic - from the wild plaice to the gourmet burgers.
On a very busy St Patrick's Day the service was good for both food and drinks and we were not hurried on at the end of the meal.
Thank you very much for a lovely celebration.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sea Lodge Manager, General Manager at Sea Lodge Hotel
Responded Jun 26, 2022
Thanks Eoin, great to hear such a positive review. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaco J wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were lucky to stay in the room which you can see on the hotel's website. The view was just breathtaking.
The manager was nice and helpful. He informed us at the start that they don't have a chef and recommended some local bars which worked for us good. Though the bar was closed for the public he still served the drinks for the hotel guests.
As there were not many guests at that time the manager agreed to serve us the breakfast in our rooms so that we could enjoy it on the balcony.
Clean and friendly place, surely will come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: It's worth spending some extra euros for a sea view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane Brown wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed recently in the sea lodge. On arrival we were asked to pay immediately for the two nights. We booked the family room which we were tripping over each other in it was so small. The food was good but from our room we could hear the the function or bar people shouting and singing til late in the night. Myself and my two girls didn’t sleep both nights. We told the porter but he didn’t even answer us. On checkout there was no one around to complain to. It ruined our stay in Waterville as we were so tired each day. We emailed after to complain and there was no acknowledgement or refund offered. Would not stay there ever again!!! If you like sleep hotel to be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dympna G wrote a review Aug 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner booked this hotel through booking.com we booked a double room b and b. When we arrived we had a twin room. When we spoke to the person who checked us in he debated what we had booked despite my partner having evidence of the double room booking.following a small debate and blaming booking.com he showed us to a double room. The room was lovely, clean and roomy with everything you need..
When we went down stairs we asked for the bar to get a drink.to be told it was closed. We later discovered the restaurant was closed so in essence we were paying top hotel prices for an air b and b. The following morning I had bacon and eggs and it was delicious. My partner ordered the full irish. He was very disappointed. 2 rashers which he reckoned were cut from.a guinea pig, 2 tasty fried eggs, 2 and a half mushrooms ( I kid you not) a sausage cut in 2 and a pale hash brown. The coffee and orange juice was overly and fresh.

We went for a spin after breakfast leaving our bags in the room . Check out was 12 and we returned at 11.50 to find someone in our room. When my partner asked what they were doing she replied they had a strict 1200 checkout and when he Pointe it was 11.50 they just repeated checkout was 12
00. He had to ask them to leave. At checkout he expressed that he felt the hotel had falsely advertised their facilities as there was no bar or restaurant and the person he was dealing with stated it was clear on booking.com and that the error in room booking was booking.coms fault and what did he want . Was it an apology by email. After leaving he got an email apologizing but saying it was clearly stated in booking.com.about the hotel facilities which I had checked after he came out and told me what the manager had said and it clearly stated bar and restaurant. It has since been changed. He did return to the manager to clearly tell him that the error was on their part and the experience was down to them .
The room was lovely but after that it was downhill. No restaurant no bar... basics you expect when you book a b and b or air b and b. The manner iof the person my partner dealt with was disappointing and we paid hotel prices for essentially a b and b experience. I was told it as up for sale. I'm not sure if thats true but ring the hotel and bargain your price down as it's not a hotel experience. The front

door was open late with no security person about. We won't be back .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not pay hotel prices . This is a b and b experience only.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sea Lodge Manager, General Manager at Sea Lodge Hotel
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Tom, We are sorry you had some bad experience in our hotel. I tried to compensate you for your inconveniences which you didn't accept. Now I understand why as you describe your experience on all possible channels. First, the question of booking - the reservation comes automatically from the booking.com to our system and we do not interfere into the system. On your request I found you a double room and even offered an upgrade to the sea view room which you discarded. The breakfast, I came twice to you to ask you if everything was ok - why didn't you say you were not satisfied - we could have prepared you extra breakfast. The check out time in our hotel is 11 am. The front door is open at night as we have the night security sitting in a room with monitors and ready to react at any moment and there are cameras all over the hotel inside and outside. Once again we are sorry for your bad experience and pity we didn't find a compromise to make your stay agreeable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kath F wrote a review Oct 2022
Houndwood
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the hotel restaurant for Sunday lunch (I had been there the previous afternoon and food was good). The restaurant was deserted apart from members of staff. A member of staff informed us that they could not serve us at this time because they were expecting two buses in the next few minutes and that they couldn’t offer us anything until after 1.30pm.

Even with two buses at full capacity there are more than enough tables and places to accommodate the number of people plus the two of us. Sending away local people who are in the area 12 months of the year is certainly not good practice and no matter how good the food is we won’t be back there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maire N wrote a review Jul 2023
Baile Átha Cliath
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lovely hotel is on the sea-front in Waterville. Our room opened out to a little balcony with a table and two chairs, and a lovely view of the sea. At night we could listen to the waves and breathe the sea air, from our very comfortable beds. Bliss!
Jacek, the manager, was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sea Lodge Manager, General Manager at Sea Lodge Hotel
Responded Jul 13, 2023
Thank you Maire for you stay and kind words. We hope to see you again with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ger C wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Called in on a wet and windy Sunday evening and was made welcome straight away.Barman sat down with us to take our order and continuously interacted with our 3 girls making them feel right at home. Our meals were excellent and represented good value for what we got,we left for the long road home with a promise to call back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob L wrote a review Jun 2022
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a gorgeous stay in a sea view room, the view from the balcony was out of this world! The bed was probably the comfiest I’ve slept in. Had dinner and lunch in the bar, both meals were delicious and very reasonably priced considering the quality. Especially loved the little library snug near reception, perfect for a rainy day coffee and card game. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sea Lodge Manager, General Manager at Sea Lodge Hotel
Responded Jun 26, 2022
Thanks Rob, we cant wait to see you again soon. P
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian wrote a review Aug 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked two nights here midweek after looking at the photos and description of the rooms. A double balcony room with sea view. Photos show 2 balcony doors in a spacious room with a couch. The room we got was a box room. Nothing more. Very basic. Very decieving. Walls are thin and I could hear the guy in the next room snoring and his alarm the next morning along with the conversation he was having. Bar was lovely. Staff were great. Breakfast was very nice. Just the expectation vs reality of the room spoiled the stay there. UPDATE YOUR PHOTOS!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Feyerra
Dublin, Ireland8 contributions14 helpful votes
Not sure but I would imagine so
Pamela G asked a question Apr 2017
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Are hairdryer facilities in rooms and do you have a swimming pool.
Answer from Seán H
Dublin, Ireland106 contributions39 helpful votes
Yes to the hairdryer and no to the pool but the Atlantic Ocean is across the road.......100 meters and you can swim on their lovely beach with no opening or closing hours to worry other than Dawn and Dusk. Temperature of the water can vary!!!!
tracey r asked a question Jul 2015
Cork, Ireland1 contribution3 helpful votes
do you have a telephone no for this hotel thanks
Answer from SeaLodgeHotel
County Kerry, Ireland7 contributions25 helpful votes
Hi, You can contact the Sea Lodge on (066) 9478533 We look forward to hearing from you. Warmest Regards, From all the Sea Lodge
sharonmurray37 wrote a tip Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom59 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no lift, there is only one flight of stairs to rooms that is well lit, spaced, not steep and have a handrail."
Read full review
MfromIrel wrote a tip Aug 2023
Ireland12 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No lift or aircon, excellent location"
Read full review
Jaco J wrote a tip Aug 2023
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's worth spending some extra euros for a sea view."
Read full review
Dympna G wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not pay hotel prices . This is a b and b experience only. "
Read full review
Kevin C wrote a tip Aug 2023
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check full services before booking. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waterville area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryWaterville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sea Lodge Hotel - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Skellig Gift Store (1.1 km), Charlie Chaplin Statue (0.3 km), and Waterville Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Lodge Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Sea Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sea Lodge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lobster Bar & Restaurant, Dooleys Seafood & Steak House, and Fishermen's Bar.
Is Sea Lodge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Waterville.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sea Lodge Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sea Lodge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Derrynane House (7.4 km), Church Island (3.0 km), and The Atlantic Telegraph Waterville (0.9 km).
Does Sea Lodge Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Sea Lodge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Waterville HotelsWaterville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WatervilleHotels near Sea Lodge Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars