We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carrickdale Hotel

Expedia.comUS$89*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Carrickdale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carrickdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 635: English reviews
County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I stayed here on Friday and Saturday night with two others from arriving at the hotel the staff were friendly and welcoming, we got such a surprise when we entered the bedroom to find two single beds and a king size bed and a large bathroom. the room was spotless and we could not fault it. we were pleasantly surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

This is some hotel . Could not fault it . Staff are brilliant and most of them local which is great. Food great and reception nothing was a problem all don't in a friendly. Manner it's hard to believe all that is going on yet everything is relaxed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I rang the Carrickdale hotel on Thursday this week and enquired last minute about what offers they had this weekend. We were suppose to be going to the southeast but had to cancel that last minute. I spoke to Sorcha on reception and she gave me a great deal for 2 B&B and 1 evening meal. She said she would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolineandRay
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Had another lovely carvery lunch when we stopped at the Carrickdale with friends on our way to Dublin on 22 September. The standard in the Carrickdale never varies -the food is always first class. The staff are invariably smiling and helpful especially the lady working on the carvery -she does a magnificent job and no matter how busy she is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate123belfast
mullingar
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This hotel is very handy for anyone wanting to tour The Cooley Peninsula , Belfast and even further north . We used it as a base and were very pleased indeed . The room was huge and very comfortable . There was a good size bathroom too with bath cum shower and plenty of towels . Bar staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abbafanandmore
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Just back from a fantastic 2 night stay at the Carrickdale. I have to be honest and say that initially when my husband booked this hotel for our family I wasn't expecting much (due to the great price) but I couldn't have been more wrong. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by extremely friendly staff, who looked after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fernandoww
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Stayed one night here with my husband. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable. We had a bar meal which was just mediocre and dumped on the table but to be fair it was very busy with the All Ireland final on the TV which may have impacted on the service. Breakfast was fine. I found the secure parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne T
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be spacious and comfortable. I am disappointed to hear you found the service in the bar a little prompt and will bring this to the bar manager’s attention – although we were very busy with the All-Ireland, it is no excuse for substandard service and for this I...

newry
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Had a great weekend away with my husband at Grand Hotel Malahid where the food staff and accommodation was excellent. On way home decided to call into Carrickdale for our dinner . We waited for an hour for our food and when it arrived I was so disappointed ? What I had ordered was spicy chicken and chips and to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clareNewry
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed upon reading your review about your dining experience on Sunday night. Whilst we were very busy on Sunday with bookings in our restaurant we do try and accommodate everyone to the best of our ability, however there may have been a longer wait for non-bookings on the night (up to an hour) as it was All-Ireland final...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Hotel is mid way between Belfast & Dublin. A little tired & dated inside but staff are good & food is excellent..Rooms are reasonably large, somewhat dated but clean & tidy. A little near the busy main road, so some noise when windows are left open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 506george
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate there may be some noise from traffic when the windows are left open. May I suggest requesting a back facing room for any future visits as these are our quietest rooms and we do try, where possible, to facilitate requests such as this. I am delighted you enjoyed the food and experience good staff and thank you for...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

On a coach tour with Just Go holidays we only stayed the one night here, dinner bed and breakfast. The rooms were large, clean with great bathrooms the only downside was the hotel is split into two with an underpass connecting them from a busy road. The meals were good and the hotel pool looked nice although I didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 209011Carol
OrlaHayes1, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback of your stay and delighted you had a positive experience. Unfortunately the underpass is the only safe alternative to accessing both areas of the hotel and we are limited as to how to send guests to our leisure centre without crossing a main road, but am delighted everything else was...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
13.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
8.9 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
241 reviews
7.7 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
13.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
655 reviews
14.1 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Carrickdale Hotel

Address: Carrickcarnon | Ravensdale, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carrickdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carrickdale Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Carrickdale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A great Hotel if you are looking a bite to eat”
F2376KMluciam, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms are of high class ,ours was and we did not request any upgrade.”
joneill777, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view front, and back”
GeorgeC733, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the road have a better view of the hills.”
FionaVolc, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the back, very quiet.”
128susang, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$89* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$89
PricelineUS$92
Booking.comUS$92
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates