We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nesbitt Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We stayed one night here, my daughter and I, during a tour of Donegal in August 2015. The Nesbitt Arms was quite all right and we had no real complaints. The hotel and room are fine, the service, the people, were great, so far as I'm concerned. Kind, polite, helpful. You know, we've stayed at 4- and 5-star hotels around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bentleius
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow what a detailed review and thank you so much for taking the time to do so. You are so right about Donegal, its a place where you change down the gears, slow down and just chill out. We do have Wifi all over the hotel but I am glad that you didn't feel the need for it...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We only took our lunch here, but it was excellent: attentive waiter (he took into accound the diet limitations and came with solutions), very good food. Most definitely you must order the day's special or the seafood pizza - delicious! Free WiFi - ask for the password.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A special thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us. We strive every day to give every guest or visitor a real genuine feeling of the true "Donegal". At this point may I thank our team here for their continued support after such a...

Belfast, Maine
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. But as we were on a group on deal we were segregated from the other diners and had a choice of 4 items on the menu. Fish and chips, burger, veg pasta, or chicken curry. The quality of the food was more like a greasy spoon lunch rather than fine dining. Do not go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan_cairns123
NesbittArms, Guest Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for the review you put up. We are quiet perplexed as we do not do Groupon deals in this hotel. I would be delighted if you would kindly contact the hotel on 074 95 41103 or email us at info@nesbittarms.com and leave us your phone number and we can give you a call to gain...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We were staying here for a night during our travels around Ireland. The hotel was being freshly painted and there was a slight mix up with the reservation for our friends. While we waited for it to be sorted out we went to the bar to have a drink. The service was slow but luckily we weren't in a hurry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darkwing28
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you did not get to experience the usual friendly and efficient service we are known for. The service industry is very labour intensive at times. It does seem from your comments that we were very busy on the night in question, however this is...

Donegal
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed on a couples getaway. The room was rather small, stuffy, with dated decor, wouldn't mind but we paid €99 for B&B, which is a bit steep for what you get..there are cheaper, nicer hotels and B&Bs in the area so would look elsewhere if you can.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donegal37
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you feel this way about our pricing. We have made some very positive changes to the hotel in the last few weeks and would love you to revisit so we can get another chance to enhance your experience with us in a more...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Spent 2 nights here at the end of August as part of a Living Social deal. Although the hotel was under refurbishment at the time, it did little to disrupt our stay. We ate here both nights and the food was excellent with great portions. The staff were very accomodating and friendly, always smiling and would never pass without a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gd12015
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for telling the world exactly what The Nesbitt Arms Hotel situated in a beautiful heritage town amid the most magnificent scenery in Ireland is all about. All our team here are local from the area and share a great warm spirit with all who enter our doors. A big thank you to each and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Excellent place to stay. The staff were very helpful in telling us the places to go to hear traditional Irish music in the village. Also places to visit while in the area, as it is a beautiful part of Donegal, Ireland. The Corner bar is great and right next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion6056
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marion, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here and got to experience "Real Donegal". We are very fortunate in that all our team here are from the local area and share a wealth of knowledge about SW Donegal and beyond. Ardara is a great place to...

omagh
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I stayed here for just 1 night with 2 others, A rather busy hotel, very basic, nothing elaborate. Parking is a bit of a problem. Overall staff quite good. Will stay again as a good night was had in nearby pub. Great traditional irish music.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sageladyOmagh
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are very lucky to be situated right in the centre of Ardara which boasts many great pubs and shops amid some of the most beautiful scenery in Ireland. We would love to have you back soon as we have made some great changes in the last two weeks....

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a gem! Great location in the centre of Ardara it has everything you need. Great staff, great food, clean and comfortable. What more can you ask for. Breakfast was excellent. Evening meals were equally as good. Looking forward to a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter C
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. You certainly covered every area and confirmed what and who we are. A special thanks to the great team here led by Liam who work tirelessly to give our guests a memorable experience of the beautiful Ardara and SW Donegal. Once again a big thank you and we...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Stayed here in the summer. Excellent family hotel with a lively bar late in the evening. Ardara is a buzzing town with plenty of excitement, trad music, and a varity of good bars; try nancys. We visited at a busy time and the staff are almost running from place to place. We were given a great welcome and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JSneacht
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A special thank you for your amazing review of our hotel and the surrounding area of Ardara. We are glad you enjoyed your time here in this majestic part of Ireland - we like to refer to it as "a piece of heaven". Ardara is an ideal place to base yourself while touring the area of SW Donegal...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
14.1 km away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.4 km away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
64 reviews
9.3 km away
Highlands Hotel
Highlands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenties
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
24.4 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,729 reviews
22.3 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nesbitt Arms Hotel a 3 star family run hotel in the beautiful heritage town of Ardara, Co Donegal. This 49 bedroom hotel boasts fantastic food served in our Weavers Bistro or Weavers Gallery. Amazingly friendly staff await you to serve you in our rustic bar, whether its an Irish Coffee or a cup of tea we are always here to serve you with a warm genuine Donegal smile. The Nesbitt Arms Hotel is an ideal location to base yourself while discovering the Wild Atlantic Way. As part of the Whites Hotel group we are professionals in catering for tour groups. We also cater for parties, weddings, christenings, reunions and many other gatherings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Address: Nesbitt Arms Hotel Main Street, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Price Range: $124 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nesbitt Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Nesbitt Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesbitt Arms Ardara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask Claire or her staff!”
 of 5 bubbles mgould99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be nice at Reception and keep your fingers crossed.”
 of 5 bubbles DAMSON59, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for your requirements, staff will oblige where possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 315Jimwayne315, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi Free and really good throughout hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mullenman, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the street”
 of 5 bubbles 584desh, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay