We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Coach House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Coach House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Coach House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed here as I had an appointment in Galway, room seemed nice and clean. In evening after dinner lights in room didn't work, numerous calls and trips to reception. A Canadian guy was told his adaptor was the problem, I'm no electrician but the sockets were all working, just lights, they were on then gone again and this continued for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastacia R
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anastacia! Thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion. Please accept my apologies for lighting problems. I am not sure what was the cause of the issue and have not come across those comments before. Again I am very sorry for the disturbance that it caused to your stay. We shall definitely take your comments on board...

Reviewed 5 September 2016

The room was very hot, they did find us a fan to use. I did book on trip advisory, but at check in the guy tried to charge us 30 euros more than my conformation sheet. It was taken care of correctly when we checked out. The bed was not comfortable, it was not a very good sleep for either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burton W
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveller! Thank you for your fair comments. I am glad to hear that the initial rate misunderstanding has been sorted for you. It is a pity you found the bed not comfortable. I will take that on board as it is a principle of every hotel to provide a cosy bed. Thank you for your time again. Kind regards,...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had lunch here today. It was freezing. I had a burger and chips. The burger was from a supermarket. My friend had pizza and clearly the base was frozen and the topping put on after. When we complained we were told by the waiiter that his colleague had asked us was everything O.K. and that we said yes, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maryC1907BJ
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary! I am so sorry to hear about your experience, both the service and the food quality. I shall pass it on to Food and Beverage Manager for further investigation. Kind regards, Kasia S. Front Office Manager

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights on a trip to explore Galway. Good location in the centre of Oranmore compared to the more expensive Maldron and a very short distance from the city. The room was spacious and had a great shower but because we were faced to the front of the building slightly noisy due to close proximity to 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niall N
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nelly! I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Coach House Hotel in Oranmore. Indeed the seating in the Bar and Restaurant is often quite tight due to popularity of our cuisine. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the careless waiter. Kind regards, Kasia S. Accommodation Department

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

On our confirmation email we were confirmed to have "a deep-soaking bath". When brought to attention of staff on duty was told I have to book a room with a bath. I showed the email unfortunately all the rooms with baths were taken bar one because they were yet to book in and also were staying for 3 nights and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah! I am very sorry to hear about your inconvenience. Indeed it has been the reservation's fault that there was no room with the bath available on your arrival. Moreover I am disappointed to hear that there has been nothing at all done to compensate for the luck of commodities that you have booked or paid for. I will...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I am not sure where to start. First of all, good luck trying to find a parking space. The food in the bistro downstairs is horrible whether it is the breakfast or the lunch/dinner. There is never anyone at the front desk. The walls are paper thin. A group or family was staying in the three or four rooms at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
kansas
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We thought we'd be in a castle like setting. The room was nothing special and the acclaimed restaurant was the least appealing of our entire trip of 20 days. The price had nothing to do with it. The front desk was good when someone was there which was not often and the restaurant service was poor as the food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gibbowolf
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveller! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your comments. I am sorry to hear that The Coach House Hotel amenities and service did not meet your expectations. I hope you will find more convenient accommodation options on your future travels. Kind regards, Kasia S. Reception Manager

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel twice with a group of cyclists . Almost had the hotel to ourselves as only 16 rooms we had 14, rooms lovely staff lovely restaurant gorgeous food gorgeous only gripe we had was having to prebook breakfast for following morning ??? This is a hotel ,not a hostel. And even doing that they got it wrong,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Collsy53
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Collette! Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy the stay at The Coach House Hotel. We shall take your comments on board in terms of buffet table for breakfast. In terms of pre ordering food we do not usually do that. We thought it would be convenient for you to speed...

logroño
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The breakfast staff made sure we started the day well, with their friendly welcome and excellent food. The room was large and comfortable as was the bed. Niggles: nowhere in the bathroom to put anything, neither shelving nor cupboard. Despite advising reception that our Tv could only be seen in black and white nothing was done to rectify it so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alasdair l
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Coach House Hotel. We have taken your comments on board. 3 bathrooms have been already equipped with shelving and storage. We should be able to do more after busy Galway Race week. I am sorry to hear that that you...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely simple fish dishes,lovely pizza and of course homemade fries which makes a good place great.Fab value and complimentary newspapers.Plenty of flat screen tvs if sports is your thing.Lovely outside area for al fresco and all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melvin353
CoachHouseGalway, Front Office Manager at The Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melvin! I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Coach House Hotel in Oranmore. Catering is our proud drive of the business and we are always delighted to hear good comments about that. Coach House Bistro Bar is providing frequent entertainment to our guest mainly sports events on small and large screens. Kind regards,...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Double Twin Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
1.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
950 reviews
5.8 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.8 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 47 in Galway
784 reviews
8.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,495 reviews
10.4 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Price Range: $70 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Coach House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia
3 months ago
Douglaston, New York
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor rooms great didn't hear any noise from bar or restaurant corner rooms also great size”
 of 5 bubbles 936ivanb, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask,they are soooo helpful x”
 of 5 bubbles tywysogesteithio, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“One at a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles rayd778, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the restaurant portion at the front of the hotel, it can get a bit noisy on that side.”
 of 5 bubbles svalkanos, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think rooms 111,112,113 might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles moneymomma, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay