We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Becketts Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Becketts Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Becketts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Nice staff and an excellent dinner raised this hotel above the norm. The room was basic enough but I would have no problem recommending it as very good value for money in an increasingly expensive Dublin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1970a
Dublin
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding in Becketts on Thursday 28th July, and what can I say except wow. Every one of our guests complemented the food, I can't count the number of people who told us that it was the best meal they ever had at a wedding. Not to mention Colin and all the staff. You made us feel at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
tanner08_11, General Manager at Becketts Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anne-Marie & Ray, It was our pleasure to be part of your special day, enjoy the honeymoon. Colin

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed in the Becketts Hotel for one night. Restaurant food was good but the room was not. We booked a suite room which had a pull down bed. Bed was broken, even sitting on the edge of the bed was enough to wake the dead. Ended up pulling the mattress from the bed and sleeping on the floor. Spoke...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
tanner08_11, Front Office Manager at Becketts Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon John, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We were not aware of the issue with the bed until you brought it to our attention, we thank you for this. We have since replaced the bed with a new bed. Please accept my most sincere apologies and I hope that you give...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 20 July 2016

As part of my retirement present we spent a long week-end here using Becketts as a base a getting the bus into Dublin to explore the City. It could not have been easier or more convenient. Michelle and the team made us very welcome and the food was as always excellent. One of our favourite places to stay in Ireland....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
tanner08_11, Front Office Manager at Becketts Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon John, Thank you so much, it was lovely seeing you again and your gorgeous wife We hope to see you very soon Kind Regards, Michelle

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We loved this place! When we first pull into the car park, honestly I was a bit unsure, but I promise you that inside is lovely and modern. At check in were greeted by a very nice man (unfortunately I never got his name), given the key to a suite (No. 10) and that was it. He didn't want my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
tanner08_11, Front Office Manager at Becketts Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Nicole. Thank you so much for taking the time out to give us this lovely review, We hope to see you both in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night only which I'm so disappointed about as I only wish we stayed longer!! When we arrived we were greeted by Michelle on reception who was more than helpful and very friendly. We stayed in one of the hotel suites which was to die for and real value for money! So spacious, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Donegal
tanner08_11, Front Office Manager at Becketts Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review, it was lovely meeting you both and we hope to see you soon Kind Regards, Michellle

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Arrived to a busy restaurant on Fathers Day where we were also celebrating my father in laws birthday. We were seated in a nice area in the conservatory area and were handed menus and water poured immediately! There was a lovely menu on for the day and lots of choice. Between us for starters we had Pate, Caeser Salad, fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poppie1967
tanner08_11, Front Office Manager at Becketts Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, We are so happy you enjoyed your meal & we hope to see you soon for lunch Kind Regards, Michelle

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and myself were staying at this hotel on the 23rd June and were having a lovely meal in the restaurant. Half way through our meal my wife discovered a hair in her meal and after much deliberation decided to make the waiting staff aware of this . A few moments the head waitress appeared to apologise and to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael M
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edr902
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My wife and I stayed at Becketts Hotel in May 2016. We were impressed with the ambience of the room, the restaurant and great food. The staff were very charming and attentive which made the experience pleasurable. The restaurant was impressive as was the food. We did not hesitate to rebook upon our return to Dublin and are not disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.6 km away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
627 reviews
0.4 km away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
379 reviews
5.7 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
2.2 km away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
302 reviews
7.5 km away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Becketts hotel is a 3-star property located on the outskirts of Dublin city which was the home of the famous Irish writer Samuel Becketts' mother. This Country house has been fully restored maintaining many or its original features. It boasts 10 guestrooms beautifully designed including double, single, twin and suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Becketts Hotel

Address: Cooldrinagh House, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Price Range: $117 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Becketts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Becketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Becketts Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Becketts Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a little extra book one of their suites. It's an old house conversion so expect some noises.”
 of 5 bubbles 124ruthb, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All roomsvare well appointed and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles CaileinG, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The bathroom is needing a bit of a refurb, if only to bring it up to the exceptional high standard found in the rest of the hotel. A minor point, though. The bathroom was perfectly functional.”
 of 5 bubbles edr902, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade to a suite. It is so worth the extra few Euro”
 of 5 bubbles MartyY438, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“We paid a little extra for a suite - room 5 and it was well worth it for the loads of extra space”
 of 5 bubbles 881paulg, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5