We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mcgettigan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

619 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 592: English reviews
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I attended a conference in this hotel on 29 of November 2016. There was no vegetarian option available when choosing lunch options. My colleagues were finished when my lunch?? arrived. The food was dire and inedible the vegetarian option seems to have been a gloup of hot curry soup. I generally do not complain but this has been the absolute... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ivan g
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a sudden change of plans that required me to get a last minute booking in the town. I had stayed here in the past and found it adequate. Not sure who owned it at the time, possibly NAMA, but it was called Gallaghers. It was a basic hotel, with very basic facilities and in need of a refresh.... More 

Helpful?
Thank McGraneC
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear McGraneC, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review, the hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment and plans are now in place for our bedrooms which we hope to have ready for March. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and assure you of our best attention at all times. Warmest regards Manager. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

had a great trip away to McGettigans. easy to find, good car park. The receptionist was lovely and check in was very smooth. The room was very spacious and had everything you would need for a night away. We got Breakfast delivered to the room for a small fee and it was very good too. We also ate in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony H
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review all your kind comments have been passed on to the team. We hope we can welcome you back to Mc Gettigan's Hotel in the very near future. Warmest regards Manager. More 

Bawnboy, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived for a one night stay, the atmosphere was warm and cosey. We had lunch in the Warehouse bar and restaurant It was top quality. The barmaid and waiter were very friendly and not pushy at all. We felt very comfortable. After an afternoon in Letterkenny we returned for dinner which again was excellent. Our dinner was accompanied by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim R
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Jim R, Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review l have past on your comments to all the team. We hope to welcome you back to Mc Gettigan's Hotel in the very near future. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Warmest regards Manager. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last minute decision to stay in Letterkenny and all that was left was this hotel. As the title suggests cheap with no breakfast included. I stayed here also a few years prior and it remained unchanged on this arrival. We were given a room at the very back of the hotel, which unfortunately was where the deliveries started to arrive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Samantha S, Thank you for taking the time to post your review as you can imagine we take this complaint very seriously can you please make contact with my self so we can further investigate. gm@mcgettiganshotel.com Many thanks. Manager. More 

co. antrim
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hubby had booked this hotel for a birthday surprise and overnight break, Rooms ok but in need of some TLC. Warehouse bar attached to hotel was good for food and drinks. All grand until we also were wakened around 3am to shouting, doors banging etc and culprit hanging around in the corridor.....! Went on too long! Spoke to receptionist early... More 

Helpful?
Thank marthaCo_Antrim
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear marthaCO_Antrim, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was very pleasing to read your comments regarding staff and service. Firstly l would like to send my apologies for what you had experienced on the corridor that night unfortunately we have no control over guests when they check in to our hotel we expect them to... More 

Co, Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked here last minute mid-week as needed to attend a funeral. Special mention to Kellyanne at reception who was so kind and accommodating to our needs. Great location on main street with car park at rear which was a bonus. 👍

Helpful?
1 Thank LMNC
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear LMNC, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and assure you of our best attention at all times. Warmest regards Manager More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last night and found it extremely average. Disappointed as we expected better after staying at other hotels within this group. Struggled to get into the car park as the entrance was blocked by a van being used to set up for last nights entertainment. Asked could the van be moved to give us access and got... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank whited82
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointment to hear that your stay was impacted on by guests that refused to take direction from the night team & Security. If you wish to contact me on any of the issues please e-mail me on, pboyle@mcgettiganshotel.com We have over spill areas for parking that we can advise guests on, If you could please e-mail... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is situated at the top of the Main Street so it has a prominent location. The glass fronted building offers great opportunities to people watch. The access to our room was a bit higgilty piggilty, we had to take 2 separate lifts to get to the 3rd floor. The bar was quite lively and the staff were excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimmypoland
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Jimmypoland, Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, All feedback is welcomed. I will pass on your compliments to the Staff. If you wish to contact the Front Office Manger or myself with relation to your experience of Reception. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and it was pretty cheap. Good thing about this hotel is the central location. But our bedsheets were dirty and definitely not changed over our stay or before we arrived. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, some things available some days and not others. Stay here if you want a cheap base not luxury.

Helpful?
Thank Zicalo
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Zicalo, Thank you for your recent review, l can't understand why when you noticed this as a problem you did not report directly to reception regarding dirty sheets. we have an outside company that supplies our linen on a daily basis, therefore all housekeeping staff have access to clean linen and we have never had an incident where the... More 

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.2 km away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
274 reviews
2.6 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,005 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,990 reviews
0.5 km away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
5.8 km away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Inis Meain Room
Inis Meain Room
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Price Range: $74 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Derry, United Kingdom
7 days ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Tralee, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“parking is in the rear and a little tight so take care when entering”
 of 5 bubbles richardbJ7291NE, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovley we were at the back on to car park which was quiet rooms are big”
 of 5 bubbles Kate652, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“choose another hotel and go there for a drink if you like a lively atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles 465jima, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Think I've said enough.”
 of 5 bubbles CaesarD_12, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a front street facing higher up floor room”
 of 5 bubbles P4308MBkenc, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay