We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bayview

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bayview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bayview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 306: English reviews
Edenderry
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

2 families touring the South west during the week. We stayed with Hickies last night in Kilkee. Simply 100%. From check in, to our beautiful rooms, excellent bar food at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was perfect, Uncle JJ's homemade sausages were top notch. Throw in the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen(not normally into that sort of thing!!!). Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quinlanjohn88
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, it means a lot to us! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular; the variety of breakfasts on offer, the food in the bar, the décor of the rooms and the view of the sunset...

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel..first time in kilkee and was not disappointed..went by reviews before we booked and was totally happy with our stay..took the stay and dine offer and had 3 course meal in restaurant...first class food, absolutely fab so tasty and very well presented..our room had a sea view and was spotless and spacious..ensuite also spot on....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackiemac25
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the BayView. I'm happy that you were satisfied with our Stay and Dine offer and you enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub! Looking forward to seeing you again! Regards, John Hickie

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 15 June 2015

As Cork people, we had visited most places in our own county and in neighbouring Kerry, but we can still remember our first glimpse of Kilkee as we rounded the corner by the Bayview. There before us was a perfect horseshoe bay with little boats bobbing up and down. We were immediately drawn to this special place! And have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wimbledon2015
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Jones Family, I am absolutely delighted to hear that you are returning customers and I'd like to thank you sincerely for your continued custom over the years. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere in the bar. It's a pleasure to welcome you time after time and I look very forward to your next visit....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night room clean and service was very welcoming. The food however was remarkable. We ate from the early bird menu and we're so impressed..for a couple of fussy London foodies... it was some of the best we've had. All products locally sourced and presentation was faultless.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cazzertrip
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Cazzertrip, I'm happy to hear that we could satisfy your "fussy London foodie" palettes with our food at The Pier Restaurant! We pride ourselves on sourcing local, homegrown produce, which is as fresh on the plate as it was in the field or sea. Kind Regards, John Hickie

Dublin
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in. Rooms spotless and modern. En-suite spotless. Great shower. Free wifi. Breakfast was high quality and tasty. Fab views. First time in kilkee. Friends wedding at diamond rocks. Would recommend highly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mguine01
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear mguine01, Thank you for taking the time to review us, it means a lot! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will return to see us again! Kind Regards, John Hickie

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 10 June 2015

John, Kevin, Mary and staff pulled out all the stops to look after us from start to finish. The food was excellent, wine superb and all our guests are still raving about it. A quick nip through to Hickies bar for a relaxing drink after our meal with live music late on finished the day on a high note. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryGarrihyAbassi
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to review us so positively! I'm so happy that we could make your special day just that extra bit special! We were very happy to be involved and I'm delighted that all of your guests expressed such nice sentiments.. They are more than welcome to visit us again! Looking forward to seeing...

Kilkee, Ireland
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

Very cosy and clean guest house. The staff are very friendly and helped with any query I had. It also has a very nice bar & restaurant attached with some great music at the weekends. Very happy with my stay will be back again for sure 👍

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Críostóir O
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Críostóir, Thank you for taking the time to express such kind sentiments about the Bay View, it means a lot! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff so pleasant and helpful! I will of course pass on your compliments to Mary and the staff. Thank you once again for...

Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new rooms with an alcove overlooking the bay. The room was clean, same applies for the bathroom. It is conveniently located to the bay and many restaurants and is directly over a heavily frequented pub, there was a rugby game on and the place was packed, when we arrived. The owners of the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MA_681
Enniscrone, Ireland
Reviewed 5 June 2015

What a wonderful family run hotel, beautifully appointed rooms, excellent bar facility and evening menu, simply wonderful location and staff that could do nothing but offer help to you. The breakfast though was stunning - in the choice that was on offer, not just the usual bacon egg and sausage and that's it. Smoked salmon scrambled eggs, omelettes done to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bquinn207
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear bquinn207, Thank you for taking the time to review us, it means a lot! I'm delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our breakfast menu and I look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards, John Hickie

limerick
Reviewed 3 June 2015

fantastic view from our bedroom ,looking on to the beach. mary and john hickey could not do any more for there guest's they run a great b/b . they serve the best food in the pier restaurant ,and you can just pop next door to there bar for a great night of music , wouldent stay any place else in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deelimerick
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear deelimerick, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, and to review us so spectacularly no less! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the food at The Pier Restaurant and the craic in Hickies Bar! I look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, John Hickie

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 km away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
192 reviews
22.9 km away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
530 reviews
23.2 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
145 reviews
35.1 km away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
340 reviews
37.3 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee V15 Y262, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Price Range: $111 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bayview staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bayview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles mjbglynn, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view over the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles KTHD65, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the Guest House have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles annek32, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go next door it's nicer”
 of 5 bubbles reg_lard, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 12. No view and noisy above back of the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles flygal8, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5