Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Traveller (309)
Room & Suite (379)
View from the beach
Pool & Beach (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 6 hotels in Youghal
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Fishing
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
1,328Review18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 655
  • 361
  • 181
  • 64
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jac wrote a review Sep 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We originally booked with Groupon, which was supposed to expire in May 2020 but the Quality Hotel Youghal were so accomodating in extending it. We were moved from the self catering apartments to the holiday homes (no.45) as the everything else had remained closed. It was our first visit there and we were blessed with the weather (18-20th Sept) the house was ideal for 2 adults, 3kids..plenty of space, clean, towels, iron, hairdryer, tea towel, dishwasher tablets all provided for and so very close to the beach. Youghal Town only maybe a 10min drive away for Aldi /Supervalu. There is a food truck outside the hotel if you are stuck..serves til 9 and does breakfast as well. We would def return.. The set up was fantastic with the hotel/holiday homes so close to the beach. The beach was the highlight but we would love to return and have access to the hotel as well. Check in/check out very easy.. No hassle at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
olivia034186600 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cork, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived fri July 31 for 2 nights. We had booked 5 houses for 5 families all friends for the last number of years. The houses were clean and some repainted this year. It is great to have a dishwasher/large fridge freezer & washing machine ar our disposal.

We had a lovely stay. The head chef of the hotel had a chipper van on the grounds which operated 1-9pm daily. The food was delicious & the van was spotless & they wore masks. It was very handy having it there. Takeaways in Youghal also delivered for about €5.

We were disappointed that we were charged the same price for the houses despite the fact that the hotel was closed & the pool/gym were for members only. Also that some of my friends were charged more for their stay than I was (I had the original email as proof of price). The hotel did say they would sort it out & refund them but they shouldn't have had to.

But overall the houses were great, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful & the location is superb. We all had a great time
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rita H wrote a review Jul 2021
County Galway, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location for Redbarn beach. When booked in February it was on the understanding that leisure centre would be open to self catering residents. We stayed a few years ago and if the weather was not good enough for the beach it was great to have access to the pool. It was mid June when I got an email stating that hotel and leisure centre would not be open with no discount offered. At this stage it was very late to find an alternative. No soap in soap dispensers in apartment which I would consider a must during a pandemic. On a positive note the shower was super. Pop up food outlets were nice with a good choice on offer.

Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy wrote a review Aug 2021
Limerick, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here August 2021 for one night. It cost €179 for one night, we had no hot water and we had travelled for 5 hours to get there. So no shower or bath for any of us and no one to phone that evening until the next morning at 9am. After 7pm, you are given a phone number that says in capital letter. - emergencies only?? No housekeeping issues.

The apartments had the same decor as 7 years ago when we last visited, curtains not matching and faded and very outdated ugly furniture. It’s a lovely location and our now teenage children have some very happy memories from their childhood here. But this hotel has continuously succeeded to be mediocre at best every year that we have visited.

As we checked out, no-one was interested in making up for the lack of showers or baths for our one night stay or offering a discount or free coffee even to make up for the inconvenience.

I normally use trip advisor to commend places but felt compelled on this occasion to post this review due to our v poor experience.

We got up the next morning to go to Pilates in the leisure centre to be told that had we booked the day before it would have gone ahead, we told the lady at reception in the leisure centre we were coming to the class and she told us to just turn up with our money the next morning. We got up early especially to go the class. This was the icing on the cake for poor customer service and experience. Incidentally, the leisure centre hasn’t opened due to Covid, (even though they allow their members to use the gym and pool). Every other hotel we have stayed at this summer has opened its pool in a staggered fashion to maintain Covid safety standards, I can’t understand why the Quality hotel hasn’t been able to manage this. It smacks of lazy and uninspired leadership.

This could easily have been a lovely family night away, we were just looking for a hot shower and to engage in one of their limited activities in offer! How hard could that be to meet expectations?? Worst €179 spent ever!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get or hire a campervan and stay in Franks field across the road for €10 a night. Perfect spot 👍
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShashaMur wrote a review Aug 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation for the exorbitant cost. We had a 4 bed house, very well located close to Redbarn beach. The master bedroom, advertised as a king size bed, was in fact 2 single beds shoved together. The duvet cover was torn in 2 places, with a dingy duvet sticking out. The television seemed to be about 20 years old and the WiFi failed almost every evening. We were blessed with fabulous weather for most of the week, so thankfully didn’t have to spend too much time in the house. I have never left a negative review before but felt compelled to in this case, such a letdown. We certainly won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Allen Mc Enery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Thank you for your review and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I cannot comment on the exorbitant cost, but I suspect it was in your budget. We did not increase our costs at all this year unlike many, and this was appreciated by many of our loyal and regular customers. The bed down stairs is indeed a king size bed, but it can be split if required. These are called zip & link beds and are common in hotels and self catering houses. I am sorry for the duvet tears, we missed those. The TV's are not new, they are flat screens and allow gaming stations to be connected but to be honest most holiday makers never turn them on. We do our best to please all our customers but it is not always possible and I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied. I take it that apart from the items mentioned all else was in order. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sinead K wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at number 23 , and had an amazing stay. The staff and the house could not have been better. Even with the hotel closed we loved it,the hotel have a food truck outside serving yummy food,and the beach is just a stones throw from the holiday homes, at the beach there is also a little shop that sells ice cream and slushies and other bits and bobs. The beach it's self is fabulous and clean . Therese at front desk could not have done more for us if she tried,it was like dealing with a very close friend,she went above and beyond what was required of her job and for that I am very grateful. The house was like a home from home,it had everything you cud need and more, if you want a fantastic family holiday, or a couples break down by the beach,in fact anyone who loves the beach and a lovely location in spotless clean homes, I would recommend the quality hotel youghal with all my heart. We will definitely be back. Can't wait. Thanks 🤩😍
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seaside631201 wrote a review Mar 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean quiet bright spacious in truly wonderful location with beach three min walk away. Hotel etc closed but grill mores chip van there on weekends does fantastic gourmet steak sambo burgers and fish for takeaway. Great freindly service also. Bakemore hut in front of hotel on beach =excellent coffee and fresh made cakes for takeaway at garage prices (they could charge significantly more given the localyion on beach, no other shops around in the unspoilt beauty) lovely to have coffee and cake for beach walk.kitchen no cleaning equipment at all and no tinfoil etc but covid I gather means minimal provided. Toilet paper towels linen bathroom soap and some dishwasher tablets provided. Excellent stay, great service. Away from everything though so need car. 25 min walk to youghal on beach with brisk pace. Walkway nearly finished. Ideal for buggies. Be fantastic when complete.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amylouLaois wrote a review Sep 2020
laois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the 3 bed holiday home for 5 lovely days and nights with our family of 5. The location is right beside a sandy beach with shallow water perfect for swimming. Lifeguard tower at entry to beach also. The home comes with open plan kitchen living room,2 bedrooms ensuite ,1twin room and a main bathroom with bath and separate shower. Duvets and towels provided but bring beach towels. Kitchen had electric hobs,grill and fan oven. Fridge freezer and dishwasher also. You can walk along beach to Youghal in about half an hour or drive approx 6 miles. Hackney cabs can be booked also.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EllieOh wrote a review Feb 2020
Dublin, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives
Price for 2 of us was reasonable for 2 nights @150 however others have quoted cheaper.
Decent sized room, Great view out of one of the 2 windows,
Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and kept checking if we were ok
Pool was a decent size however was outside of hotel in separate fitness centre. Children had free run of the centre until 7pm and you could rent towels at 50c each

Negatives
Hot Buffet Breakfast advertised but not provided - My son loves a buffet breakfast but as we were down at 8.30 am, they did not have it out so took orders. I understand that food can go cold, but they could accomodate small portions at a time
Room was very cold, advised housekeeping staff and provided with another duvet
Bed was not comfortable at all (hard) and pillows flat and not very comfortable either
Ran bath for child and brown water came out for almost half a bath out of hot and cold taps, had to drain and refill
Restaurant not open in evenings therefore you had to go to the bar for a very limited bar food menu at an ok price. Dinner night one (fish and chips), fish was a humungous portion and quite greasy, we just had a snack second night and chicken wings hot sauce was thrown over half the tray (no exaggeration) that the wings were served on.It wouldnt have taken much to replate it before service, the side salad was destroyed and inedible as a result.
Bar very cold on both nights.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Hi thanks for your review and the positives that you have outlined. I am sorry you found the hotel cold, we have the heating system on all the time so it shouldn't have been. We have invested recently in heat pumps and since we have put them in we have been getting good comments on the heating generally. The rooms are kept at a constant 21 degrees. The beds are brand new RESPA beds, manufactured in Oldcastle, Co. Meath, I have tried them and find them good but I accept you found them hard. The restaurant is not open every night, for the nights that it is closed we run a bar & separate restaurant menu in the bar area, with the alcove set up restaurant style. The bar has air conditioning so I am not sure why this area was cold, we haven't had any other negative feedback about the bar temperatures. I do agree it was a cold few days, with temperatures well down and miserable outside. This did not help with doors opening & closing and high winds blowing through the building as a result. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings, I hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you how comfortable a hotel we have. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya T wrote a review Sep 2020
Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just on route home after a 5 night break in one of the self catering holiday homes.
The houses are great, ours had 4 bedrooms, 1 king en suite, 1 double en suite, 1 twin, 1 single and main bathroom. Open plan kitchen/dining/ living area. Fully equipped kitchen, large table and 6 chairs. TV and large L shape couch.
Plenty of hot water, heating easy to use although not needed. Child locks on upstairs windows. This would be handy on the downstairs windows aswell. No child gate on stairs, we brought our own which didnt fit the stairs but it fit the bedroom door.
Because of Covid it was a quiet stay as the hotel, pool, entertainment and Apartments are closed.
2 minute walk to the beautiful beach and only a few minutes drive to different towns.
Be sure to book a table for restaurant meals as they book up fast.
The Spa behind the hotel is open and Anette does amazing Massage.
If you are staying more than 3 nights you can ring reception and ask for your rubbish to be removed and new towels.
There was just a few downsides which wont effect us returning. The WIFI isnt great, the TV is very fuzzy and the house wasnt spotless. I always relearn myself anyway but I did report this to reception when we where leaving. All in all a great holiday and we cant wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from T Reale
Limerick, Ireland5 contributions3 helpful votes
We were there 13th August nothing opened but a small games room not complying to covid rules any evening...
Answer from Helen
9 contributions11 helpful votes
Your on the Beach so safe to cycle when the tide is out. Yes I would take bikes.Enjoy
Answer from Helen
9 contributions11 helpful votes
It is a great place to stay and especially for children you need a car to get to and from the Hotel Check at desk for information about travel Enjoy
Review1234567 asked a question Jul 2019
Thurles, Ireland66 contributions13 helpful votes
Is there a TV in the apartments?
Answer from Peig
County Tipperary, Ireland12 contributions11 helpful votes
Yes we had one, small selection of channels though
Kate27Dublin asked a question Aug 2018
Dublin15 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi Are disposable bbqs allowed on the patio of sea view ground floor apartments
Answer from banimj
Naas, Ireland18 contributions3 helpful votes
I don’t think so I have never seen any bbq around but you could give them a call and ask them.
ryange wrote a tip Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recoment the 2 bed apartments which are very spacious."
Read full review
Gwyn W wrote a tip Feb 2022
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rental houses are very practical and perfect for a getaway for those wh require more independence"
Read full review
neactain wrote a tip Feb 2022
Cork, Ireland13 contributions118 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just request at booking"
Read full review
hasan b wrote a tip Feb 2022
Ireland1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There’s plenty of parking, do bring all the snacks and food with you as it is literally near the sea nearest Tesco is 10 min drive away."
Read full review
Susancraigsweeney wrote a tip Jan 2022
Cork, Ireland12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is just amazing place for any family or couple for a break"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Youghal area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality hotel and leisure center youghal, quality inn youghal, youghal quality inn, quality hotel youghal
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkYoughal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Which popular attractions are close to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Nearby attractions include St. Mary's Collegiate Church (3.6 km), Youghal Clock Gate Tower (3.5 km), and Youghal Boardwalk (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clancy's Bar & Restaurant, Youghal., The Quays, and The Red Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Round Tower (10.3 km) and Ardmore Round Tower And Cathedral (10.4 km).
Does Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Youghal HotelsYoughal Hotel DealsHotels near Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars