We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This establishment epitomizes everyone's worst nightmare. I was presented with what was described as a single room on the basis, presumably that it did actually accommodate a single bed resting against a wall, but which was so poky as to be hard to accept that it could possibly qualify as a saleable room for anybody. The window on entering the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annemarieg2oneill
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I went to The Sands Hotel for a night out for my siblings Birthday. I was absolutely shocked when I arrived. Firstly, the temperature was below 5 degrees, and secondly there was no hot water. The breakfast was nice but was sopping in oil. The bar food was fine but that's pretty much the only good thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kelly F, Front Office Manager at The Sands Hotel, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I know that we have since been in touch with your mother, discussed the issues which you had faced and have arranged for a refund. The issues with both the heating and the hot water have been addressed and since rectified. We will take your comments about...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Stayed here on a 1 night break. We had bar food in the evening. It was lovely everything was fresh and hot, we also had breakfast which was cooked fresh. There was no problem with extra toast and tea. I had read bad reviews about the food. We couldn't fault it. Entertainment is bar was a plus and very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186600jackie12345
Kelly F, Front Office Manager at The Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We work hard to provide a great experience for our guests!

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

My parents love Tramore and spend every summer here so one evening last summer I decided I would driven down with my other half and spend a night or two with them, my sisters also decided to join us for the night so as a family we said we would head to the sands for dinner , upon arrival the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ireland200
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped off at the Sands Hotel for lunch. The menu said gourmet sandwiches. They were nice basic BLT, club etc with chips or soup and all were tasty. Two came with lettuce and coleslaw and two did not! However everything was cold, soup, chips and toasted sandwiches. It cost us €35 for four sandwiches with either soup or chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SupaniF
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

After a stroll on a beautiful balmy Summer evening on the promenade in Tramore decided to pop in for a few vinos to the Sands Hotel .Comfortable cosy inviting bar with music which is rare midweek in most bars.Staff friendly very clean enviroment. Bar food and rooms are very good value. Great location.Would definetely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last weekend with my elderly parents.i cannot praise the Sands hotel enough.they ensured a room next to the lift for them.both our rooms were spotless and cosy.staff were so helpful.food was delicious.great music in the bar at night.central to everything so my parents had little walking.we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie Ann C
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

I visited The Sands Hotel - Bar area, last night with my husband. A young English man served us. He was clueless with zero people skills. My husband ordered Guinness. The bar man poured it and served it to him straight away. As most people will be aware you have to let Guinness sit 1st. This man lacked personality and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Fabulous room staff friendly and very attentive. Breakfast had a great choice , we were in a party of 15, the hotel was in a great location with plenty to do and we would definitely come again and highly recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah V
Waterford, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Lunch was lovely but selection of desserts was poor. Definitely need to review their dessert menu. Calvert lunch a little on the pricey side but I have to admit the food was tasty. Woul definitely return for food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.2 km away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
180 reviews
0.3 km away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
270 reviews
10.7 km away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,047 reviews
12.0 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
11.6 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#8 of 12 in Waterford
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Irish Sea, The Sands Hotel is just 100 metres from the beach. An en suite bathroom and TV are included in each room at The Sands Hotel, and some feature views of the sea .Food and drink can be enjoyed in the on-site bar, which features live music on weekends. Waterford city centre is just 11 km away and the Comeragh Mountains are less than an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Address: The Sands Hotel Strand Road, Tramore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Price Range: $105 - $1,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Tramore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Demand to see before checking in if you absolutely have to stay here”
 of 5 bubbles annemarieg2oneill, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor quiet where I stayed”
 of 5 bubbles M9004EYjeanm, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If its the weekend go for the south side that's what we wer advised when we wer ther .”
 of 5 bubbles 760kingj, 13 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with view to the park and the beach.”
  • Flowers at the top of the strand wood line.
 of 5 bubbles adrioceano, 6 Feb 2015 | Read review
“A room with a see view”
 of 5 bubbles patrick1232014, 25 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay