We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dromoland Castle Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Dromoland Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,951: English reviews
Marquette, Iowa
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Beautiful setting. From the time you arrive until you leave the premises, the wonderful staff is totally dedicated to making your stay memorable. Loved the valets. They were so helpful and provided local information and suggestions. Be sure to take the horse drawn tour of the beautiful castle grounds. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildflour34
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wildflour34 Many thanks for your fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so delighted to read that you had such memorable trip. On behalf of the team here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again...

Reviewed 24 June 2016

Lovely property. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean and nice amenities. Food was very good. Our room was quite warm, and we did not have any luck controlling with the thermostat. Report to housekeeping and they brought a fan, but not really helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to note your kind remarks regarding the team and the room amenities. I apologise that you found the room a little warm and challenging to control. We are in the process of updating our air handling system and hope to provide a significant...

Toorak, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

My husband. And I stayed one night at Dromoland Castle. We were treated like royalty by the staff who all went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We very much enjoyed dining in the formal restaurant (although having to wear a jacket made the experience a little stiff) The service and food were both...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorelle K
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorelle K, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to read both you and your husband had such an enjoyable experience and fitted so much in on your short visit to Dromoland. I appreciate your comments regarding the dress code but in keeping with our castle traditions we feel its apt...

Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2016

For us, we wish we had spent one night instead of two. The "castle" is beautiful and the service impeccable. However, the weather was inclement, and there is no other town to go to find something to do. The food is mediocre and with no other place to eat can become boring. A bit about us though.....we like to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riley7777
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Riley7777 Thank you for your feedback which we were a little disappointed with. I am sorry that Dromoland Castle wasn't entirely what you were looking for. We do have three different dining options here at the Castle and a gastro pub located at The Inn at Dromoland which is located on the Estate. The medieval town of Ennis is...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Our stay here was only 2 days and I wish it could have been longer. Great staff, delicious food, beautiful views and awesome spa. They paid attention to detail. We visited this place as a part of a package that took us around Ireland on a self drive trip. Dromoland Castle left a wonderful impression.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudia m
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claudia M, Many thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Dromoland. I am delighted to read you had such a wonderful experience and we left such a lasting impression. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland again. Sincerely, Mark Nolan - General Manager

Lebanon
Reviewed 24 June 2016

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay one night at the castle. We felt like royalty. Super great staff. From the time you pulled up till we checked out. If you have a chance to stay here, we fully recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie2362
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie2362, Thank you for posting such a complimentary review. I will be sure to share your valued feedback with the entire team. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland again. Sincerely, Mark Nolan - General Manager

Eatontown, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed here for three nights while on a tour with Tauck Tours. The rooms and the hotel were exquisite. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was a bit of bliss in and of itself. The staff throughout the hotel, restaurant, golf course and gardens and property in general were gracious and helpful. When dining we found that no matter what position...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbdalton21
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbdalton21, Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I do hope if you return to Ireland we have the privilege of welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Mark Nolan - General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I have stayed here many times in the past but not for over 10 years. It is now quite tired in so many ways. Yes the grounds are fantastic but the Castle itself is long overdue for and update. We are a little bit spoiled as we stayed in Ashford Castle last year and I suppose we had expectations that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 420Jack
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 420Jack Thank you for your feedback which I was very disappointed to receive. I am very sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I will certainly discuss your comments with the team. We are currently undertaking an extensive refurbishment plan, the first phase of which was completed earlier this year. Our next phase will...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Our family stayed for 3 nights. The grounds are amazing with several activities on the property. The front desk was amazing at tending to booking your activities. Furthermore the property is a close proximity to the Shannon airport. The food was okay, we tried the fig tree upon late arrival, yet was not our cup of tea. The afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Txdelphia
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Txdelphia, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very pleased to note that you found the grounds and location to be impressive and convenient, I was however disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations with regard to our food & beverage. I have shared...

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted at the door. Our car was parked for us and luggage was brought right to our room while we waited in the tea room for complimentary tea. We ate in the dining room that night. The dinner was expensive but each bite was worth so much more! That was the best meal I've ever had....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz I
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz I, Thank you for your lovely review of the castle. I was so pleased to note that you thoroughly enjoyed many aspects of the castle and our renowned dining experience. I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you and we hope that we will have the...

1,497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1410)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (543)
Viewed
Room/Suite (135)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (504)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,025 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,347 reviews
8.4 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
382 reviews
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
749 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $296 - $975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely give yourself time to wander the grounds!”
 of 5 bubbles amysS8802VY, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's very big so unless you want to walk forever, ask for a room closer to the gallery”
 of 5 bubbles AimeeLally, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The back side of the hotel was fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mike741776, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were down a dead-end hallway which proved to be very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles CE215, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get the best room you can afford, it will be worth it for years to come.”
 of 5 bubbles 241darrylb, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5