We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballyvolane House

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport Transportation
Meeting Rooms
Tennis Court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Cork Airport31 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
141Reviews
101Photos
3Q+A
20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 16
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Yesterday was a very important day for our company, bringing people from three locations together to have fun and a little bit of more serious stuff. Location of Ballyvolane House was fantastic for us! Close enough to Cork but not too close. We had the place to ourselves, whic
Read more
Response from Justybusty, Manager at Ballyvolane House
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Seamas, Thank you very much for booking with us and for the wonderful review. We are delighted you and your colleagues had a great time at Ballyvolane House and we enjoyed having you all here. Our close proximity to Cork and indeed the privacy we can promise make Ballyvolane House ideal for a meetings and retreats. Thanks again for your support and wishing you all a very happy Christmas. Kind regards, Justin
Read more
From the minute you arrive,you are embraced into a charming old world of that house.Its relaxed yet perfectionism to the core.The staff are very well trained and knowledgeable.The tasting menu was delivered piping hot and with a detailed explanation of what we were being offered.
Read more
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Anne, Thank you very much for dining with us and thank you for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your dinner and I will share your kind comments with the dining room team and our house chef Steve. Thanks again and I hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Justin
Read more
We went for one night for a birthday celebration. It was expensive for B & B and then 60euro per person for dinner on top.
Pluss's: The staff were lovely and very welcoming. The room was nice - though the bathroom was tiny and hard for two people to use. Beautiful walks in the gr
Read more
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House
Responded Oct. 17, 2018
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food and glad you did enjoy most aspects of your stay. Please could you give me a call on 025 36349 as I would like to investigate your comments more thoroughly as we do not know the date of your stay. I would also very much like to make amends. As you know, we offer a 5-course tasting menu plus tea and coffee @ €60 per person. We use quality local artisan ingredients which we pay a premium for. Most of the vegetables, fruit and salad leaves come from our walled-garden and we tend not to over-complicate our dishes as they are so fresh. I'm sorry if some of the dishes were not to your liking. I only wish you had brought this up with a member of staff on the night as we are always happy to offer an alternative if required. With regards to the distillery tour, I'm afraid we are not permitted to give distillery tours to guests or members of the public as it is a condition of our distiller's license. However, we do get permission from time to time from our Revenue Officer to conduct tours for groups and these are advertised on our website and on social media. I'm really sorry we were not around to meet you when you stayed. I am delighted to hear our staff were lovely and welcoming to you in our absence. We have a great team working here and they are well able to deputise us on the extremely rare occasion that we are away. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments. Best wishes, Justin
Read more
The food at Ballyvolane has remained consistently fabulous over our 4+ stays there - since the mid 1990s. We hadn't been there since 2003 and so very pleasantly surprised to see it was as good as ever. We love the communal dining - you never know who you might meet (usually ver
Read more
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House
Responded Oct. 12, 2018
Dear Rosemary, Thank you very much for staying and for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed the communal dining and the food. So many people remark that the communal dining is brilliant fun and the best night of their holiday. We always have an eclectic and interest mix of guests seated around the table. Our House Chef Steve is talented and is passionate about his cooking and I am glad it shows. I will pass on your kind comments with him and the dining room team. Many thanks again for your support. Best wishes, Justin
Read more
We were there a couple of weeks ago on a ladies' trip to Ireland in celebration of a friend's birthday. The Ballyvolane House was her top pick to enjoy her birthday dinner. And we loved every minute!

We enjoyed gin & tonics in their parlor, made with Bertha's Revenge gin that's
Read more
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House
Responded Sep. 19, 2018
Thank you very much for dining with us and for the fantastic review. I am delighted you all had a great time. Dave is a gem and I will share your kind comments with Steve our house chef as well as with Dave. I am glad you managed to stock up on Bertha in the Duty Free in Dublin. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Justin
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
view of our bathroom from our bedroom
grounds of Ballyvolane
Walking the grounds at Ballyolane House
The very deep bath
One of the bathrooms
Previous
Hey there. We have a very friendly Newfie and are wondering what facilities/ policies you have for overnighting? Thanks, Micheál.
Could you please tell me whether the glamping tents are large enough to accommodate 2 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs (if dogs are allowed)?
Thank you very much for your message and I am delighted you are thinking of glamping with us. We have two sizes of tents and the large one would easily accommodate you all. Dogs are most welcome too. Please email us via our website (you will have to google it as Tripadvisor won't allow me to include HTML or website links in this reply) with your dates and we will revert back with our availability and prices. Many thanks again and looking forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Justin
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you have self catering accomodation
Hello, thank you very much for your enquiry. We have a self-catering cottage available and please email us via the Ballyvolane House website with your dates and I will revert back with prices. Thanks again for your interest in our self-catering accommodation. Kind regards, Justin Green Owner
0 votes
"Front of house rooms probably best"
"Go for the glamping, it won't disappoint!"
"All rooms are great."
"Any room would be a delight as they are all different."
"there are 6 rooms - all are different"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$181 - US$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ballyvolane house hotel fermoyballyvolane hotel fermoy
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterFermoy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing