We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Lion Inn

Hotels.comUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The White Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We are part of a group staying at the White Lion for a wedding at the Manor and it was an ideal base. It's a 400 year old pub and if you enjoy old quirky rooms then this is for you. We loved it, but not everyone will appreciate the steep stairs, warped sloping floors and small low doors. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterCasebow
llanddulas
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Mine host certainly lacks people skills..We stayed in cottage accommodation which was fairly clean although under bed had not been hovered/mopped as leaves and dust evident... Poor quality small metal frame double bed with terrible mattress...friends staying in main pup said the same about their beds too.... Toilet seat badly fitted....shower raiser faulty. Restaurant service slow for evening meal...food average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Llanddulas
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Oh the joys of Crufts Weekend !!!!!!!! Love the comment about people skills !!! Very sorry you didn't have a good stay, it appears that the majority of our reviewers must be finding something different at The White Lion that you didn't. You may be better off seeing if the Holiday Inn/ Premier Inns will accommodate your group and show...

Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

I stayed at The White Lion with a colleague while on business. The White Lion is perfectly located to reach the NEC. The rooms were cozy and a great change to business hotels. The food was fantastic, really homely, and I have never met more welcoming and lovely staff. The White Lion is a wonderful treat after a busy days...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgia123345
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Wonderful Anglo-French food in a cute pub atmosphere. A decent though not terribly comprehensive beer selection - However, Leffe in bottles at a reasonable price made up for this. Our service was superb - the woman serving us (Paige) was delightful, our food came quickly and perfectly prepared. My wife had the fish platter and I had the moules and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ted7859
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

I stopped here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and had a nice warm feel to it. Upstairs were the rooms are, it really gives you a feel of how old the place is with low ceilings, wood beams and no straight walls. The food and service was really good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spiteri-Family
cheshire
Reviewed 24 February 2015

what a lovely friendly place, staff and owner can not do enough to help you, rooms are better than any big chain in my eyes, makes staying away from home a nice experience for a change, food is great, wines are nice, if you want a quite room as for one in the garden. Would recommend to any one and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roo156
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Pretty location and good beer but appalling service and very mediocre food. Our boeuf bourguignons were cold and did not taste of wine at all. Waited over 1 hour for our first course. Bookings in advance should not be accepted if they know they cannot cope with the numbers if there is only one chef in. Would not return!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernadette E
Solihull
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Wanted a nice country pub in a nice village to take some friends visiting for the day for lunch and this certainly ticked all the boxes. Great food with superb friendly service - we had a lovely lunch and will certainly come back here again. Thanks! Oh, And we loved the decor! Sue P

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SolihullSue
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks and a great big xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Tried the white lion as we were looking for somewhere different to eat and I've driven past on my way to work. Nice surprise ! Great food we all enjoyed our chosen menus , will definitely be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hlj354
Beverley
Reviewed 30 November 2014

This Pub restaurant lives up to its strap line of "A proper pub with a bit of je ne sais quoi" The food was lovely and well presented with plenty of choice. It was certainly busy so well worth booking in advance to avoid disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeverleyLadybird

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
2.6 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.8 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,435 reviews
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
2.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
7.0 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: $161 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Restaurant experience only”
AlanW567, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 in the annex was warm and spacious!”
Richnkirst1, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure when you book you get a room in the main building not the annex”
321pata, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that the road on which the Inn sits is very busy and there is considerable aircraft noise.”
_deniserya, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room No. 1 is noisy as close to road, and i imagine, as single glazing.”
MCJones1704, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$112
Booking.comUS$112
PricelineUS$112
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates