We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Orchid Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Orchid Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Black Orchid Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 524: English reviews
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 15 February 2015

The Black Orchid Resort was a perfect location outside the city to begin our exploration of Belize. However, it was a big disappointment. The prices are high for accommodations but outrageous for what you get for dining. I would NOT eat anything other than the continental breakfast here. The staff is friendly and supportive like everywhere in Belize but that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelinldd
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review of our property and we regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You have help us to conclude to take our Villas off the market until we can renovate them and bring them back online. We have in the last month hired 2 very experienced executive chefs and have totally retrofitted...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This is a great resort in a great location! It is very close to the international airport, which makes it a great place to start or end a vacation. The staff is second to none. They were all very helpful, welcoming, knowledgeable, and hospitable. Other reviewers are correct that the resort and food is somewhat simple. But it is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2015

The black orchid resorts new building (Thomson) is a great building with great rooms and the most comfortable bed we had in Belize on our 11 day adventure. Everyone here from the drivers, bartender, chef are fantastic. They have a new chef and the food was amazing, except the continental breakfast they need to work on that. While the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyns179
Encino, Ca
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Stayed two nights. Rooms are average in amenities. Staff was nice. The grounds are nice, but not spectacular. Food was average; in particular the breakfast offered is quite plain. Very clean. Near to several sites in Belieze.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drcuellar2013
Kingman, Arizona
Reviewed 13 January 2015

This resort is very convenient to the Belize City airport and also close to many day trips and sights. We stayed for two nights upon arrival and two nights prior to departure. We had a rental vehicle. The resort is easy to find. We enjoyed the food and drinks, both were excellent! Omar, the bartender/waiter was very helpful with his...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patrick_123484
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 11 January 2015

This place is convenient coming in or out of Belize. The staff is friendly, but our room was not very clean and it was a little smelly. The breakfast was the worse we had in Belize, just muffins and fruit. The dinners were expensive, but you are a captive audience if you don't have a car. The prices turned put...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anna L
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 January 2015

My family and I chose to spend my father's 70th birthday (which was on Christmas Day!) in Belize. It was our first time in the country and had plans to travel to Ambergris Caye for the last part of our trio so we were looking for a resort close to Belize City but not in it, and a resort that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maria A
Reviewed 7 January 2015

This is a very good place to have a relaxing time. The accommodations were roomy for one person. The scenery was very pleasant and had a rustic feel. Food was good and there were few options for dinner. The options were very good and had a lot flavor for them. I did have a good time during my stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M H
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

highly recommend great place accommodations are fantastic and the food is super. several different times the staff at this particular facility is derek areas and professional clean and secure, minutes from downtown belize in about an hour from the major keys comfortably

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forte30024
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

My evaluation rate is the result of the average between two factors. On one hand the environment and the location, which are very good. Black Orchid is located in a beautiful natural setting, which is perfect for a stay prior to a flight or as a gateway for trips. They offer complementary kayaks (to paddle the river) and free transfer to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emiravasi

416 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
24.3 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
19.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
37.2 km away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
34.2 km away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
278 reviews
34.4 km away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Price Range: $188 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Orchid Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Black Orchid Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I didn't see much difference between rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethg426, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Theowensfam, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are similar; don't think there is a river view room but probably worth asking for.”
 of 5 bubbles ddbelize, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River front for balcony view.”
 of 5 bubbles 60larryf, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“nice quiet place but food over-priced”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffCarpentier, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5