We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Orchid Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Orchid Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Black Orchid Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 524: English reviews
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Perfect place to relax and meet friendly people. Spent two nights before our trip to Placencia and Hopkins. Our second time staying here. Happy our first time and really happy our second. Nice restaurant and bar on premises. Beautiful pool that is never crowded. Located right on river that gives such a peaceful feel. Close to airport and highly recommended!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariann514
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mariann514, Thank you for sharing us your feedback. Black Orchid Resort has a great location where you can enjoy a peaceful riverside and never crowded pool, bar and restaurant. Really the best before vacation in other Belizean destinations. Your comments about the great hospitality an our staff members will be sharing with them as a great motivation to keep...

Reviewed 25 January 2017

We stayed at Black Orchid for 4 nights and can't wait to return. Located on the Belize River, only a 15 minute drive from the airport. Rooms were spacious and clean. The food was amazing; we ate and drank like Kings because the Belize $ is worth half the American. Belize is an amazingly safe, welcoming small city. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly T
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Molly, Dear Bahgatz , Thank you for your spending review about your recent holiday at our resort. The great food comments and the staff performance will be sharing with the team members. Your tagline says it all, however, we would prefer you not keep our resort a secret. Please feel free to share with each and every one of...

Leamington, Canada
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I'm giving this hotel three stars mostly because of it's proximity to the airport, pleasant staff (we loved the bartender and our driver), beautiful scenery (the pretty "firefly lights" at night were a nice touch), pool, and very good food. We only stayed for one night after leaving San Pedro, as we had a flight the next morning. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BlueRoseDesigns
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear BlueRoseDesigns, We are very appreciative of your review of our Black Orchid Resort in Burrell Boom. I appreciate you mentioning the shuttle, friendly staff and beautiful scenery. We would like to apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 20 January 2017

I only stayed one night as I was leaving Belize the next day and wanted shuttle service and proximity to the airport. Overpriced but it did provide what I wanted. The room is large, comfortable and well appointed with a front deck with comfortable chairs for reading, bird and green iguana watching. Canoes available for free to explore the adjacent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beep1949
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Beep1949, Thank you so much for your thorough review of our resort. We appreciate the wonderful review of our resort and appreciate you mentioning the service of our hotel as we strive to make each guest as comfortable as possible and treat each guest as an individual. Again, thank you. We are sorry about your breakfast but trust us...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Stayed on our last night in Belize to be close to the airport. Pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the Black Orchid Resort is. The restaurant offered a wide selection of food. The bar was great and had live music provided by a local band that was just right for the setting. Our room had the best shower of the four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMiller8300
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear BMiller8300, Thank you for this review. We are glad your moments turned into special memories. we offer experiences that authentically memorable. We Black Orchid Resort Team will continue to be innovative and utilise best practices to continually improve our product, quality and service. Sincerely looking forward to your return. Black Orchid Resort Team

Key West, FL
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here just one night, right before leaving Belize after a week's stay on an off shore island. Although the staff was nice, and the room was very well appointed, we found the resort to be over priced and a bit run down. I had heard that they offer great excursions, and had wanted to do one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank endangered
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Endangered, Thank you for this review. It is great you share your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry your food experience did not meet your expectations. Our aim is to maintain and provide every guest with total satisfaction. Please give us the opportunity to correct and improved any shortcomings we may have. We are...

New London, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We only stayed at Black Orchid for one night, as a stop-over upon our arrival in Belize before heading to San Ignacio. They picked us up at the airport and it took about 15 minutes to get to the resort. It's a beautiful setting overlooking the Belize River. The room was spacious and clean, with a balcony overlooking the river....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather B
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Heather B, Thank you for this review. Thanks for sharing your experience and highlighting this beautiful tranquillity. We are, pleased your holiday was full of praises as our aim is to provide our customers with the best service in hospitality. Look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful resort. Regards, Black Orchid Resort Team.

Sharon Springs, New York
Reviewed 1 January 2017

After arriving in Belize late at night and never having been there before, getting to the Black Orchid Resort was comforting and relaxing. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with the best fruit ever. We had a great time and would recommend everyone to stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sallyjolauzon
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sallyjolauzon, Thank you for your review. Thanks for highlighting our staff who were very attentive. Thank you for your glorious comments, It is great you will return to us and look forward to making your next holiday an authentically memorable experience. Regards, Black Orchid Resort Team

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 December 2016

A few small touches here and there would tip the scales for me to 5 stars. Overall, our stay here for 3 days over Christmas was lovely and would recommend this as a great addition to round out any trip to Belize. It was quiet and slow while we were there which was nice, but we wouldn't have minded a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wkent17
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wkent17, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Black Orchid Resort, and we truly appreciate your compliments on our staff. It is always fantastic to see that a number of our staff members made an impression on your stay and were friendly and able to assist...

Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We had an outstanding experience at Black Orchid Resort. We stayed here for a night prior to heading to San Pedro. Resort was gorgeous and you felt like you were in middle of rain forest despite being a convenient twenty minutes from the airport. Douglas the owner was very friendly and treating us like family while here. He picked us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeI283BL
BlackOrchid_10, Guest Relations Manager at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mikel283BL, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your stay at Black Orchid Resort. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your getaway from the moment you walked in and meet with our owner Mr. Douglas. Our main goal is to provide guests with a relaxing holiday with outstanding service, and I believe it is safe to...

416 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
24.3 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
19.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
37.2 km away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
34.2 km away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
278 reviews
34.4 km away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Price Range: $188 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Orchid Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Black Orchid Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I didn't see much difference between rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethg426, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Theowensfam, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are similar; don't think there is a river view room but probably worth asking for.”
 of 5 bubbles ddbelize, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River front for balcony view.”
 of 5 bubbles 60larryf, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“nice quiet place but food over-priced”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffCarpentier, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5