We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Booking.comUS$69*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$69*
US$70*
US$69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Needs to be updated a little but has lots of character. Rooms a bit tired , however all the character is downstairs in the pub. The food is above average and so are prices. A good 3 course meal will cost around £20 to £25 each with a drink. Not bad price you may say , and food is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ray r
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

We’re really grateful for your comments, thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016

The hotel is located on a main road between Exeter and Exmouth. Our room was small but adequate and warm. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel if you fancy going to Exeter or Topsham. The staff is pleasant and welcoming. Had dinner there twice, the food was good. A continental breakfast is served ,with excellent croissants ,cereals,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophie g
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Ringmer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

This was the second family occasion for which we chose to stay at the St George and Dragon. We checked in, and our room (22) was just about OK, apart from the awful mattress on the bed with springs sticking up very near the surface. So we politely asked to change rooms, and it was almost as if the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheDashingDiner
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Second visit to this hotel and will be the last.First stay 1 year ago ,really enjoyed it so decided to Christmas shop in Exeter once again and stay in this hotel for second time .First room we were given was above what sounded like an air con unit just a loud humming noise.Asked if they had another room were then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We’re really sorry to hear you had a poor experience when you visited. Your feedback is really important to us and we’ll make sure the team sees your comments..

Reviewed 14 November 2015

We decided to stop here for lunch as Dart's Farm was very busy. Big mistake the place was also busy but the attitude of one of the bar staff was so rude and obnoxious that we left half of our drinks and left. So that was seven meals that were not eaten there all because we dared to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juju169
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

The wife and me have stayed here twice over the New Year this year - 2015 will be the third. When we travel down to Exeter we stay here as well. The people in this Inkeepers Lodge are so friendly and helpful. The food is exelent in thr bar, breakfast is well presented and plenty to set you up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigermoon2015
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your comments with us. Our guests’ feedback is really important to us and we read all our reviews.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We booked a three night stay to tour the area. From checking in to checking out the staff we very friendly and helpful especially Lisa. My husband isn't a morning person but she got smiles from him with her friendly bubbly nature. I didn't notice any dirty crockery or cutlery and the staff cleared the tables and wiped them when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Popped into the George to meet up with family while on business in the area. Great place to meet no hassle with a lovely ambiance just like I remembered it when I lived in the area many years ago. Well done the owners for keeping it traditional. PS: Although we arrived late and were not in for food the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas231
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We stayed at this establishment for 3 night's mid September 2015. If we hadn't have travelled by train we would have booked out and gone home, the room we were given initally was appalling. On our return I made a complaint to Mitchells and Butlers and have been waiting for a reply ever since even though I have contacted them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison A
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We picked this hotel as we have stopped at Innkeepers Lodges before and found them to be more individual than the other chains. I'm sorry but this misses the mark. Everywhere looks very tired. The staff are trying really hard with a building that's in need of an overhaul. The heating and hot water were problematic with the staff admitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margen100
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review

We’re sorry your last visit wasn’t what you expected. Guest feedback is really important to us as it helps us improve so thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
7.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
827 reviews
5.2 km away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
481 reviews
6.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
5.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
1.4 km away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Price Range: $109 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perfect location just off the M5”
richardlawrence2017, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check you are all in the same part of the hotel with the same access doors after 11pm”
N0t_D0ne_R0aming, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms our party had were small but clean and beds comfy did not see any other rooms”
Lily_Mae_11, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“fantastic, perfectlocation,breakfast”
laurafl00d, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms overlooking the car park - they are too small for 2 people. However, food is good!”
484shaund, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$69* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$70
TripAdvisorUS$69
Agoda.comUS$70
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates