We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frangipani Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frangipani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Arrival; I took a local taxi, driven by Donovan from the Ferry Dock to the hotel. The trip took around 6 minutes and I would advise a taxi because if you have a suitcase the road is a bit steep in places. On arriving at the hotel I was met by Mrs Mitchell the owner. Mrs Mitchell is very warm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sometravelling2015
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We are plead that you had a wonderful visit to Bequia and that the Frangipani was an enjoyable experience. Our guests' needs are important to us. We value your feedback to ensure that we continue to provide excellent service and a comfortable stay.

Kingstown, St. Vincent
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The Franngipani Hotel is convenient for a stay at Port Elizabeth, Bequia. The staff is attentive, the service reliable. My room was nice, if you are accustomed to basic Caribbean Standards, and like traditional outfits, like wooden shutters instead of windows. The price for the room was kind of stiff, given the very basic condition of e.g. the bathroom facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tritopp
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Our stay was blighted by Mosquitos and midges and although the staff helped with coils and a mosquito net over the bed, we were still bitten really badly. We have been travelling around the Caribbean for several months and this was our worst experience by far. Free wifi was unreliable, but this may not be the fault of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet J
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for alerting us to the mosquito problem you encountered during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry that mosquitoes on the island hampered your vacation. We are doing everything we can to control the problem, including screening our windows. Our WIFI at the hotel remains a free service. An upgraded...

London
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We had breakfast a couple of times in the restaurant because it has a nice view and was close to where we moored our dinghy. The food was ok, but be prepared to wait for up to an hour, and if you want a refill of coffee be prepared to wait 20 mins for that, that is if you get...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank snowybennett
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review the Frangipani Hotel. We want you to know how much we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry your experience with us was not what you had hoped. We look forward to welcoming you once again, so that we may get a chance to offer the warm, Bequia welcome. We...

Brighton
Reviewed 20 December 2014

This place has one of the best views of the harbour and used to be one of the best hotels but it has been allowed to slip into terminal decay. There does not seem to be any management here any more and the place is staffed by a bored team waiting for customers. The outside area was shaded by some...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank thetravelleraaa
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Frangipani Hotel. Your feedback is important to us, giving us valuable insight into improving our product and service. The lovely new gazebo, which we have built, located right on the waterfront of beautiful Admiralty Bay is now the most popular area of our restaurant, and a lovely addition to our charming...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What to expect when arriving at the hotel you researched about? Do you expect to get what you read on their website? NOT FOR THIS ONE. How about a clean room, restaurant, bar, Thursday night buffet? NOT AT THIS ONE. Watch for the false advertising. It may apply during high season but they do NOT tell you that none of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gio S
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe King Fan Room ($205US) and we loved it. The room was spacious and clean with a TV and a massive deck. The view was what made the room for me personally. Every morning we would open the double doors and enjoy a coffee on our spacious deck (coffee machine in room huge plus!). The Frangipani...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicolas W
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review the Frangipani Hotel, and pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us last year. We wanted to let you know that we have started screening our windows, and this has been completed in the budget economy rooms. This should help with the mosquitoes, which is a problem we have...

Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed one night in low season. Charming building and room. Cosy restaurant and perfect beachfront location. Everything is walking distance. Very secure & safe and food in the adjacent restaurant was good. I felt a bit lonely though, being the only guest, but that certainly isn't the hotel's fault

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bengt H
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review the Frangipani Hotel. Your feedback is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you once again very soon.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel has a great range of room styles and prices. They offer rooms at the budget end for $65, midrange rooms for $145 and more expensive ones for $205 & $220, all in US Dollars. We stayed in the deluxe king room without a/c and loved it. The stone walls and dark wood roof were stunning and the tile...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DarieceSwift
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My boyfriend and I spent one night here. We paid extra for the air-conditioned room. the AC remote didn't work at first, but the management got it fixed right away. The room was clean and spacious. The best part of staying at frangipani was the location. It is right in the middle of all the excitement and there was even...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Guinevere B

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
2.8 km away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
171 reviews
1.9 km away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
235 reviews
0.6 km away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
14.6 km away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
295 reviews
0.0 km away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a home it began, and a home it still seems to the many Bequia lovers who return year after year to the Frangipani, the quintessential small hotel on a small island in the Caribbean. Built for his family by a Bequia sea captain almost a century ago, the shingle-sided, two-storey building has gracefully presided ever since over the nautical comings and goings of Admiralty Harbour. The property has been in the Mitchell family since 1898, first in boat building and now in hospitality. The hotel celebrated its 40th anniversary year in 2007. You can now savour the scene from the open-sided dining room, or the popular beach bar, or from the sundeck upstairs where you can still enjoy one of the original family rooms. The more luxurious garden rooms, which rise on a gentle slope behind, are hand-crafted of local stone and hardwoods, and each has a balcony facing westward over the yacht basin where the setting sun dips down behind the palms. Listed as one of the top 100 bars in the world, the Frangipani's waterfront open air bar is one of the Caribbean's famous watering holes. With an extensive cocktail menu, warm atmosphere and friendly bartenders, the "Frangi" bar maintains its reputation as the meeting place for locals and visitors alike. Try our famous Frangi Fever, Mango Potion or Passion Colada while seated in our love seats under the palms, watching the sun set on the horizon as the gentle breezes blow. Or find a spot at the beautiful purple- heart wooden bar with comfortable cushioned stools and you are likely to meet a fellow Bequia lover from across the planet. Whatever your fancy, you are sure to find good conversation, and a drink of choice at the Frangi; or the bartenders are happy to recommend one of their tropical specialties to while away the hours as you relax and unwind. Every Thursday night, the Frangi Barbecue and Jump Up with live music from the Elite Steel Orchestra maintains its unique attraction. Our superb buffet features a charcoal-grilled 8oz striploin steak or grilled fish, with a wide assortment of local dishes, seafood salads, freshly-baked bread, and fabulous desserts, including our famous Lime Pie, coffee or tea included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frangipani Hotel

Address: Belmont VC0284, Bequia
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Belmont
Price Range: $71 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Frangipani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Hotel Bequia/Belmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frangipani Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Frangipani Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper rooms have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 218ScottM, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view.”
 of 5 bubbles PerRiise, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No a/c in rooms”
 of 5 bubbles woodyr885, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 & Room 18 have excellent views. Please use the railings after rain on the steps as the steps may be slippy”
 of 5 bubbles sometravelling2015, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't believe what is in the website”
 of 5 bubbles gios91, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5