We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 491: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited hotel in March 16 and ate in restaurant. My wife became ill with suspected food poisoning. On checking the FSA website I noted that the food hygiene rating for the restaurant was a very poor 2. We were not advised of this fact when booking as if we were we would have taken our business elsewhere. Have checked again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J146195
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited last January & returned as we have decided to make this an annual fixture. The standard was even better - if possible - with super-fresh scones, proper clotted cream and a huge variety of home-made cakes and pastries. We paid £15 each, for lovely seating, helpful waitresses and perfect food. We asked for fresh cups, hot water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HazelLamb
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, We are delighted that you returned to Ghyll Manor for your annual visit and that your afternoon tea was an enjoyable and memorable experience. Your comments regarding our standard of service are a pleasure to read, thank you for taking the time to review your visit and for the 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute booking for dinner, bed and breakfast with good friends made a good start to the New Year. All staff were friendly and helpful. Room in Hudsman Hall (?) was warm and comfortable and well equipped. However, In January, it was not fun to have to walk the fair distance outside from the room to main building for meals....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nwr2015
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit. I am really pleased that you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay with friends in the cold January month. Looking forward, I hope that you will be able to return in the summer and enjoy a different experience in order to explore our beautiful grounds. Kind Regards,...

hoddesdon, england
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

hotel staff, food , accommodation and grounds were faultless, unfortunately new year band not good , singer started about 10:30 singing slow jazz mainly , then went to a break at 11 and didn't return until 11:45 by this time some guests had left then played more appropriate music for the occasion then did new year count down after midnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allotmentman44
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you chose to stay with us at Ghyll Manor Hotel on our New Year’s Eve package . It is lovely to hear your kind comments regarding the accommodation, food and staff, and that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are however sorry to hear your comments regarding...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WE had an excellent 3 day break over Christmas. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good food and plenty of it. Good choices at breakfast, We appreciated the little unexpected extras. They even managed to get Father Christmas to leave a stocking. Room a good size. Will return again subject to family commitments

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poolebob
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 day break with us over Christmas . Thank you for your lovely comments, we pride ourselves in the detail that goes into our Christmas package and it is fantastic to have this reflected in the comments in your review. We hope to welcome you back this year. Kind regards, Nicola...

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we lived in Surrey 15 years ago we loved this hotel and used it regularly. We saw the travel zoo deal and couldn't resist a return visit. We upgraded to a superior room and it was delightful: full of character and charm with stunning views. Despite the fact the house is very old, our room was warm and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel51e
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mel, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ghyll Manor. We really appreciate your positive feedback and the detailed description of the Hotel and superior bed room. It is lovely to hear that your return visit was such an enjoyable experience for you both. We are delighted that you enjoyed...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended ghyll manor for a work Christmas event and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were like mini apartments with a cottage feel. Huge bathroom and big rooms. Breakfast was a traditional English breakfast with choice of cereals and or vegan breakfast and this was fantastic. Small portion but enough for you and the service was great as well. Unfortunately,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma h
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Ghyll Manor. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the size of the rooms, it is nice for guests to have a lounge area as well as the bedroom and as you have said they are very reminiscent of small apartments. We pride ourselves in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took advantage of a very good Travel Zoo offer for two nights half board and we're not disappointed. The room was spacious, amply furnished with a distinctive style and marvellous views of the extensive garden. The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and we had two excellent meals in the restaurants as well as good breakfasts. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42roberty
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Many thanks for taking the time to post your 5* review of Ghyll Manor. It is great to hear the service throughout your stay was attentive and made for a pleasurable stay, and am delighted you enjoyed your accommodation, food and overall surroundings. As a standard we usually have a couple of specials which run alongside our current...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good location, close to Gatwick airport but aircraft noise was not a problem. Very well equipped and tastefully decorated rooms, with very comfortable bed. My only problem was that the room was far to hot and was unable to adjust the radiator so had to open both windows. I stayed two nights, had a very nice evening meal on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin57
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Edwin, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding the standard of our bedrooms and food quality. We apologise that you unfortunately could not adjust your radiator in your room and I hope that this was rectified during your stay. We hope you choose to return to Ghyll Manor...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely setting, wonderful food and exceptional customer service. We didn't feel rushed at all and it was a truly fantastic afternoon. The sandwiches were perfect, the scones some of the best we have had and so much cake! Thank you to all of the staff working today.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Thank you for sharing your delightful review and awarding us 5 stars! We pride ourselves on our service and it is extremely satisfying to receive comments like this to know that the team are making your visit such an enjoyable and relaxing experience. It is lovely to hear that our afternoon tea has exceeded your expectations and I...

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (394)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Courtyard Cottage (45)
Viewed
Feature Room (35)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
12.1 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,458 reviews
10.3 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
319 reviews
16.0 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
11.1 km away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
5.5 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Price Range: $177 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms are soundproofed - important as near Gatwick. Rooms in Huntsman (?) are modern but long outside walk to restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles nwr2015, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We have only stayed in one of the bungalows and not in the hotel yet.”
 of 5 bubbles Y943YOchristinef, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are different”
 of 5 bubbles sofieuk, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The bungalow rooms are all at ground level”
 of 5 bubbles timbray, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“could not fault Ash cottage and honeysuckle which was beautiful views amazing”
 of 5 bubbles HAPPY48ENGLAND, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay