We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Regency Hotel Solihull

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Regency Hotel Solihull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Regency Hotel Solihull
See the most recent reviews
Showing 739: English reviews
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel had so much potential to be better. My room overlooked the back car park. Noisy in the morning over the back entrance e.g. Laundry, bottle clearance etc. First impression of the room was acceptable but realised the shower curtain had a particular odour. Just about acceptable for overnight stay. The food in the evening was good. Really enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dol123
Bradley S, Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
492 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I was hesitant whether to give an average score or higher. I would say the place is good but not very good. It is easy to find and, compared with other accommodation in the area in is very competativley priced, even by budget hotel standards and that is why we booked. The room was comfortable and clean enough. It did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
Bradley S, Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

From the outside this hotel looks like a great place to stay. Even entering through the large glass doors everything seems fine. But don't be fooled what lies in wait is quite easily one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in. Mold in the bathroom, what looked like blood on one of the fixtures and rusty towel rails.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank TheWineHunter
Phil_Brett, Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

Travellers are raving about these Shirley hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

the front desk systems were down so check in was a pain last night. The room is small but ok but given the price of £180 a Premier Inn is more inviting. The breakfast was poor, many trays of the cooked items were empty, tomatoes were cold and undercooked and the scrambled eggs just a leftover burnt offering. A cup... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andymilner66
Phil_Brett, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
876 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015

On a positive note there is plenty of parking. The staff are generally very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is ok with some reasonable cold choices and some fresh bread. The hot food is passable but the coffee and tea is shocking. However the rooms are the biggest issue. I have stayed here twice in summer and they are so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ANDY K
Phil_Brett, Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

Cringleford
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed for a leisure weekend while visiting family. My room was spacious, modern and clean. The facilties were good. Food was very nice and a good choice on the menu. Food and drink were very reasonably priced. I look forward to staying again.

Helpful?
Thank Ralph J
Phil_Brett, Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always reviewing the products and services we offer our guests and members and have made significant improvements throughout all departments of the hotel, I am... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Where do I start ! Paid £190 for 2 nights and possibly the worst hotel I've ever staid in! Staff rude! Rooms falling apart! Decor from the 1970s, food awful, bar un-maned, reception waited for 20 minutes to be checked in! Never again "simple" if I could give a zero score I would have!

Helpful?
3 Thank AndyJacks
Phil_Brett, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We booked three rooms as part of a Cadbury World package. After a super day out we arrived at The Regency. First impressions were good however one bed was missing in the family room. This was sorted out by the porter who was amazed we were in rooms which were over the function rooms where a wedding was taking place,... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Avis D
Phil_Brett, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015

The room and bathroom were clean, and bed was plenty comfy and once we'd asked reception to sort the missing remote control for the tv out, everything was fine. Good value for money too only negative was that the fire alarm went off for about a second or two twice in the night waking us up, but i can imagine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank b6paulf
Phil_Brett, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the standard of accommodation provided, However, I am very sorry to hear that your stay was effected due to noise. I have taken your points on board and... More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Booked hotel as part of a weekend away to celebrate my dads 60th Birthday. Upon arriving in room 107 with my wife and 2 children we found we only had 2 beds so we were a bed short for one of the kids. I went down to speak to reception. Upon returning to the room the disco's for 2 wedding... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank day802
Phil_Brett, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Regency Hotel Solihull. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the points you have raised within your review, Perhaps you could be so kind as to give me... More 

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
0.4 km away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 22 in Solihull
1,175 reviews
3.3 km away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
3.4 km away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 22 in Solihull
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 22 in Solihull
558 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Price Range: $77 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Regency Hotel Solihull staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
Taunton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Regency Hotel Solihull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first before booking and then choose.”
 of 5 bubbles 19bridge79, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bed with a new matress”
 of 5 bubbles 765peterr, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were of a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles Barmybrummie68, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms around the garden quadrangle have nice terraces to sit in.”
 of 5 bubbles Supastar147, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont get a road room”
 of 5 bubbles leedylan1998, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay