We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George at Nunney

Expedia.comUS$85*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The George at Nunney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George at Nunney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 452: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Can't understand the bad reviews , must have just been unlucky. What a beautiful place to stay , with our room overlooking the castle,super friendly staff and fantastic food. Would highly recommend anyone looking to book this hotel and what a bonus to be set in such a picturesque village. Posted a few photos on Facebook and all my friends...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donna F
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The George. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, and we look forward to welcoming you (and hopefully your friends too!) soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The George is set on the Main Street of this pretty small rural village, opposite the cable ruins. There is limited car parking available in the courtyard or on street. Whilst the pub restaurant is quaint, attractive and apparently serves good good (we didn't eat dinner), as a hotel it fails totally. The room (No 7) was right over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The George. We are pleased you liked the restaurant, but are sad to know that you did not like the bathroom in your room, and did not have the perfect breakfast experience. We do hope that fellow TripAdvisor members may realise that your experience is not the norm from our other reviews. The George...

London
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We were very disappointed with The George after reading all the good reviews on here.We had room number 7, which everyone should avoid. It became obvious that our room was above the kitchens because it was like an oven with the smell of roasting meat all night. The noise from from the kitchen extractor fans was very loud. However we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

Dear Jan, thank you for your review of The George, however it seems your husband Peter has already aired the problems you had with your stay in the above review, which we have addressed in our reply for which we are sorry. However we do question why you both needed to post almost duplicate reviews? As we stated in our...

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Wasn't asked if wanted a drink after checking in for meal for ages. Wasn't asked if we would like wine with meal so asked myself wine arrived with dessert. Nice food but was tepid. Had to ask where sauce was for our steaks. Garlic butter was given for my Rump steak so cold it wouldn't melt on the steak. Disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane A
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

A group of us booked a table here for Sunday lunch. Made to feel very welcome. Good, varied menu including a choice of 3 different meat roasts (or you can have all 3!) Fixed price for 1, 2 or 3 course Sunday lunch. You need to book! By the time it got to 1pm the place was heaving. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leigh C
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

'The George' has a stunning location overlooking a ruined castlle in a picture perfect Somerset village. The staff are very welcoming and even on a very busy Saturday night managed to set up a table for me although I had not booked in for dinner. The room was warm and comfortable and overlooked the already mentioned castle! A very positive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank juniperqueen
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

This fantastic old inn is a real find!! It was booked for me by my employers when I was due to attend a business ceremony at Longleat. I don't know the cost but it's safe to assume it was selected as in a sensible price range. I expected to find budget hotel standard facilities. What a lovely surprise! The location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda H
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We recently stayed a sunday and Monday night whilst visit Bath and Longleat. We stayed in the castle Suite which was a lovely spacious room with a huge smart TV (accessing bbciplayer etc), spacious bathroom. The only negatives to it was that the bedroom windows have been painted and nailed shut! there are some windows in the corridor by the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pippypotamus
Appleby Magna, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We stayed for three nights in a large comfortable room, The linen and towels were excellent. Breakfast was good but the restaurant was a disappointment. We have reviewed this seperately. The only downside was the appaling wi.fi connection which only seemed to work on the ground floor. We did ask about this on several occasions and were told that there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oneh
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Had booked for 1 night but was fortunate that the room was available for following night, sooooo pleased , our stay was brilliant. Friday evening was really busy but standards were still maintained 100%, food was lovely as always. The room was so comfy , bed linen and towels spotless. The breakfast was truly scrummy and what a choice !...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2barclaysylvester2

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
16.1 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
831 reviews
14.0 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
8.9 km away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
439 reviews
4.6 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Price Range: $121 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George at Nunney staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
london
2 months ago
llanon
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The George at Nunney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 could be noisy in summer months due to overlooking the garden”
travellerinsurrey, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“at a higher tariff, highly recommend the Castle suite”
188ann, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Each time I have come here, the rooms are very clean, spacious and offer a good quality rest”
jonbrowne1968, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 has a bathroom detached from the sleeping room. There are lots of steps for some rooms, so beware of that.”
  • Room 12
  • Room 12
  • Room 12
  • Room 13
kurtm577, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay, just came for a meal. But the village is lovely with an old castle.”
SamanthaR772, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$87
Hotels.comUS$85
Hotwire.comUS$85
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates