Alpine Resort

Alpine Resort

435 Islandview Dr Rice Lake, Roseneath, Ontario K0K 2X0 Canada
Traveller (22)
amazing sunsets
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 4 cottages in Roseneath
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
On the south shore of Rice Lake, near Cobourg and Peterborough Ontario, Alpine Resort offers 2, 3 and 4 bedroom housekeeping cottages on 1200' of shoreline. Cottages are well spaced, clean and family friendly. The resort has many amenities including a large playground, inground pool, docking, coin laundry, basketball, volleyball, horse shoes, etc. Rice Lake boasts the most fish per acre than any lake in Ontario. Alpine offers boat rentals, docking for your own boat and lots of room to fish off the dock. Canoes, kayaks and paddle boats are free for guests to use. There are fish cleaning huts and fish freezers for those who like to keep lots of bluegill, crappie or perch. Walleye (pickerel), bass and even the odd muskie are there for you to catch as well. During high season we offer a children's program including a fishing derby, waterskiing and tube rides, family bingo, turtle races and water balloon toss. Alpine Resort is perfect for a relaxing family vacation, a group of fishermen or a couple who needs to get away from it all.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
48Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 10
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rob S wrote a review Jul 2020
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
alpine resort was a very nice quiet resort. cottages are roomy inside and well spaced outside with individual fire pits for each. the resort has a swimming pool which is very refreshing. they have a small beach, good for kids 2 feet deep. they have plenty of dockage and their own boat launch. they also have a games room but due to covid we could not access it.. their store and office area was very clean and well stocked. Free wifi that had good range, depending on your provider. they had various play structures for kids, swings, teeter tooder, a play house with slides, basketball courts volleyball court...fishing was excellent. we caught atleast 30 bass over 2 lbs, and a few above 4 lbs. cottages have a tv with 4 channels for rainy weather.. all in all a very relaxing time. my only complaint would be that the store closes at 5pm and we want ice cream after 5pm... lol..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jodi DeJong, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again sometime. Next time try eating ice cream for lunch. It's better for you. LOL
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trevor j wrote a review May 2015
Caledonia, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tried others on same lake and was completely unhappy. A friend told us about Alpine, been going there for 8 years now and will continue for ever. First impression is this place is very clean, these owners care. Very family friendly, and relaxing. Views are second to none. The owners treat you like family, and care about their customers. They all the amenities you could ask for and run activities for the kids. Simply this place is awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded May 13, 2015
Thank you for your glowing review and for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We appreciate you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy C wrote a review Aug 2013
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in July. The only complaint we had was that it was way too hot!! But that was no fault of the resorts of course! The pool was a blessing to help stay cool! And it is a beautiful pool!
The cabins are not fancy but are very clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. You do have other cabins around you but you do have your own space for privacy. Each cabin comes with its own assigned dock so that you can keep your boat there for the entire stay and come and go on the lake day or night as you please! The fishing was good! It was very relaxing and tranquil and the sunsets are breathtaking! We will be sure to return and recommend this resort to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Aug 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry S wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The cottage was nice and clean. But the male owner is very rude to us, we are not happy and won’t go there again.

We have been more than 20 cottages in Ontario , this is the first time we felt being offended. I hope he can change his attitude and be nice to their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jodi DeJong, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Sep 5, 2020
I'm sorry you felt offended, but when you lie about how many people are in your cottage during a pandemic, you're going to get "attitude". Our policies are clear and you violated them on purpose. Banging on our private residence after hours claiming an "emergency" when all you wanted was a barbecue that you had previously stated you did not want, was extremely rude. So, it's possible that your behaviour was returned in kind. We provided for you exactly what we said we would and your group seemed to have a great time as I spoke to many of them personally and the kids certainly had a blast in the pool. Thanks for leaving the cottage in good condition. We appreciate that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nasim b wrote a review Sep 2015
Toronto, Canada44 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Fairly clean place
Very flexible for check out we where suppose to check out at 11am but they said that because nobody is waiting for the cottage as it was last day of long weekend we may stay till 4pm;))
Nice and relaxing
Not good for swimming;no sand beach
Only one paddle boat!
We did not catch good fish; only couple of small fishes that we didn't keep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Jun 8, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We don't advertise a sandy beach as it's Rice Lake, good for fishing BECAUSE it's not sandy. In September the weeds are at their worst. the beach area is very well use,d especially by young children, in the heat of the summer. The water is clean and we swim in it but many are put off by the weeds. Our in ground pool is great for those who don't like weeds. We never said we had more than 1 paddle boat. In fact, early in the year we had 3 but no longer advertise them as they're too often abused and not worth replacing. We have 2 canoes and 2 kayaks, free of of charge for all the guests to use. Sorry, we can't do anything about the fishing. :D Most of our guests are VERY pleased with the fishing! In fact, Rice Lake is famous for the prolific fishing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jitika K wrote a review Aug 2017
Toronto, Canada6 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband booked a 7-8 person cottage for the August long weekend from Glamping Hub website and the shot in the dark turned truly worthwhile. Here is my experience:

Pros:
- Great resort location on Rice Lake with awesome sunset viewing point.
- Nice, clean cottage with basic kitchen utilities.
- On-site swimming pool as there is no sandy beach on the resort for swimming.
- On-site swings, volleyball, and basketball play area.
- Basic grocery store - mainly for fishing supplies.
- Boat rentals can be made. The owner Fred gave a great overview of boating basics and also provided assistance in times of need.
- Helpful owners

Things that can be improved:
- Owners can work on their customer service. Although they were helpful we found them stoned faced.
- The price of a 1 page Rice lake map was $6 which was totally not worth it.
- The grocery store didn't carry many camp related items especially for BBQ so don't rely on the store. We had forgotten to pack BBQ oil brush and had a tough time BBQing.

Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Aug 11, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again someday.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goodtime4 wrote a review Oct 2016
Toronto, Canada109 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I randomly booked this resort just out of a simple purpose of spending sometime with my family by the water. Nevertheless, it turned out to be a memorable time that we will cherish for a long time for sure: Literally all of the cottages face the water. The owner Fred kindly advised us to kayak before it gets busy and do the sport according to the weather forecast. The little convenience store has merchandise that are reasonably priced and very useful for the visitors. The camp ground is well kept and spacious.

Our only wish is that the cost for using the grill is included in the rent itself, which a lot of resorts do. Last but not the least, when we left earlier than planned, Fred asked if we have any concerns, and we expressed our appreciation for the customer friendly service that he and his staff have provided to make our visit most enjoyable, and we left early simply due to unexpected scheduling issues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We enjoy the cottage on the mountaintop facing the lake rather than those right by the water.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Oct 24, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review our resort. We choose not to include the cost of a barbecue in our cottage rentals as many people don't need it since all of our cottages have full sized stoves and outdoor fire pits. We don't believe it's fair to ask everyone to pay for a service only required by a few. Included are many amenities other resorts don't supply like bed linens, kid's activities (high season) canoes, kayaks and the use of sports equipment. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again sometime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike v wrote a review Jul 2016
Cobourg, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Alpine resort for 1 week and enjoyed our time. The cottage was large enough for all 7 people to sleep, including our pet dog. The resort staff were friendly and the grounds well kept. Our family has returned to this resort many times in the past and still return because of the great memories.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Jul 21, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Alpine Resort! We enjoy being part of people's memories :D and look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
181757Linda wrote a review Aug 2015
Chatham, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First visit to Rice Lake and I'm glad we chose this resort! The owners take pride in the place and everything is very clean. We stayed in the Willow and loved it, very close to the boat launch, good shade and privacy. The men rented a small boat for the week and us ladies enjoyed the pool. Free use of canoes, paddle boats, water skiing was much appreciated. Nice and relaxing vacation. Already planning a return trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We very glad to hear you were happy with your vacation and look forward to your return visit. :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry H wrote a review May 2015
Brantford, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was looking for a relatively inexpensive boat rental to try my luck with the Walleye and Bass that populate Rice Lake. The owners made the rental experience damn near painless - which was appreciated after the 2.5 hour drive to get to their establishment. There was a small, unexpected charge, on the rental after I got off the water. But I felt that I still got great value for me money.
On my second trip, which was only a boat rental again, I was able to take their boat out before store hours, as long as I promised to keep the noise down. Which is a bonus for any fisherperson.
I look forward to renting a boat again...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort
Responded May 10, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of Alpine Resort. We hope to see you as a cottage guest someday :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Roseneath area.
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioRoseneath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Alpine Resort - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Alpine Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Alpine Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rice Lake (6.1 km), Patricia's Gift Shop (6.6 km), and Roseneath Agricultural Society Fairgrounds (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alpine Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Alpine Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Alpine Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alpine Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Muddy's Pit BBQ, Hearthside Dining Room, and Boathouse Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alpine Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Alpine Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Serpent Mounds Park (4.8 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars